We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just a Golfers Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just stayed at Hunley Hotel for two nights with my husband. Booked through Booking.Com and got an excellent deal. The hotel is very comfortable for a 3 star. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with plenty of storage. The menu in the restaurant was full of choice for both breakfast and dinner and the food was delicious. All of the staff we met went out of their way to be friendly and helpful and they were all very efficient. The hotel is set in a stunning location and even if you are not a golfer there are some lovely walks through the couse.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 459 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in December on a good rate and were very pleased, so had no hesitation at booking to stay there again, even though the rate reflected the season. On checking in at 8.30 p.m. we were shown to our room and it was not made up. The bed had been slept in and towels were all over the place. You can imagine our disgust. They were very apologetic, but it did not make up for our anger and upset. The hotel was full and they were unable to offer an alternative room. We had to wait in the bar whilst they cleaned up the room. Frankly I did not want to stay there, but at that time of night there was no choice.

Our stay was ruined over this and to say that the breakfast was also disorganised, with items missing and the tables not set properly was an understatement. What a shame when we were very pleased with this hotel on our first visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziq39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hunleyhotel, Manager at Hunley Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I sincerely apologise for our oversight on your arrival. As you will know from your previous stay, this was an exceptional departure from the usual high levels of service we strive for at Hunley. Thank you for your patience at the time while we quickly rectified the situation and I hope and expect that your experience next time will be significantly more enjoyable should you choose to stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Karen Green
Hotel Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

Pleasently surprised by the room, even though the decor was rather dated. The room was clean, spacious and the doublebed was 'huge' & extremely comfortable. The bathroom was tidy clean and enough towels for two.

The view from the window of the sea was just glorious, and the tea & coffee facilities with the room was a welcome addition.

We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was number 7, with the nicest view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forbiddenwhispers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed one night on golf trip booked on golf breaks. Superb hotel and golf courses. Excellent food. Would recommend. Got lucky with the weather. stunning views. Only thing is walls are a bit thin. Got kept awake in the early hours by a noisy group in room above.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheekychops79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for two nights for a wedding near by and I'm so pleased we chose this over the Premier Inn. The rooms were an excellent size, very comfy mattress and lovely en suite bathroom. I had been a bit worried about the noise after reading some reviews about it on here but we never had a problem with it. The breakfasts were very tasty and freshly prepared, my boyfriend even ended up pinching some of my veggie sausages as they were the nicest ones I've had in a long time. Gorgeous views from the restuarant and I'm just sorry we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherinesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We took a very last-minute golf break here and were amazed at the value. Great food and service, friendly staff in the hotel and golf club, and a really beautiful course with superb views. And a barman who knew how to prepare an irish coffee HOT! Well recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GirlGaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed on the Sunday times perfect sundays offer,which made for superb value.Restaurant served good quality food and service was friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotty087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
1.7 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
550 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
241 reviews
4.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
4.6 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunley Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunley Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Hunley Hotel & Golf Club Ings Lane | Brotton, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 2FT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range: $75 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunley Hotel and Golf Club 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Middlesbrough, Stockton and Whitby, Hunley has stunning views of the North Yorkshire Coast. It offers a championship golf course, locally sourced food, friendly service and free Wi-Fi. Each room has a flat-screen TV with digital Freeview channels. Hunley also benefits from a self catering property that sleeps upto 6 guests in 3 en-suite rooms. The golf course has 29 holes. The club has a driving range, buggies, coaching and a shop. Hunley Hotel is a short drive from the North York Moors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hunley Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunley Hall Hotel
Hunley Hotel And Golf Club Saltburn-By-The-Sea, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing