We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food but expensive”

Jadoo Restaurant & Takeaway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Jadoo warmly welcomes you to experience and enjoy the authentic culinary art of Indian cuisine.Our aim is to provide you with a mouthwatering adventure like no other. At Jadoo we are inspired to redefine Indian cooking excellence, set in atmospheric plush surroundings with a naturally relaxing ambience.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing food but expensive”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Probably the best Indian food I've ever had! The waiter was incredibly friendly, accommodating and helpful, and made you feel very valued as a customer and paid attention to detail. The poppadoms and pickles are really nice, and so are the curries! The waiter explained that all of the fish that was served was fresh and you could tell. The only negative was that it's very expensive (some dishes were around £14) and a meal for four of us came to around £85... Every time we drive past there is hardly anyone in so I'm guessing this is the reason since the food is great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuckie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    45
    16
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Responsive and tasty”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very good service and excellent food which was extremely well presented.....presented in the style of a good resturaunt rather than the way we have experienced in many Indians eg hot plates and food attractively presented on serving, rather than burners on the table etc. We like both ways but this was a bit different and good for the difference.Excellent responsive service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank andyoSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh food, something different”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We had a great meal here this week. Fish was seasonal & fresh and it showed. Starters we were recommended were really different and good. Friendly staff and good drinks. It was not a cheap meal but I would reccommend and I will go back. My only real gripe is that though they accommodated my vegetarianism I would have liked to see more vegie choices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NEview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marske-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ya-ba-da-ba-Jadoo!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Brilliant from the moment we walked in. Restaurant was clean and airy, not packed out but a decent dining atmosphere. The staff were friendly and were good hosts during our meal - it actually felt like they were hosting us rather than at some restaurants where there is an awkwardness between the staff and customers. They seemed to genuinely care about the food they were serving and that gives you extra confidence as a customer that what you are getting is going to be good!

The menu was interesting with a mix of familiar and more adventurous dishes - refreshingly there were only about 8 choices rather than the hundreds you often find at other Indian's. If there is one slight criticism it is that they did not have the vegetarian options written on the menu, but after we asked they were more than happy to make any dish as a vegetarian option.

Pickle tray was delicious, fresh and I particularly liked that there was chick pea in with the onion. I like chick peas.

A varied selection of drinks, some indian beers i'd not heard of, some local IPA's as well as the usual Cobra type beers. They also had what looked like an interesting selection of spirits, indian wines etc. Maybe go back when it's not a school night!

The main courses were delicious, it tasted like some time and effort had gone into finding the right blend of spices. The chicken I had was second to none, beautifully cooked with a nice flame flavour to it and all succulent. Really, the best i've ever had. The vegetarian dish too was delicious. The portion sizes were very generous and nice touches such as fresh coriander and fresh lemon added to the meal.

Cost wise I was happy enough, the mains were around £11 each which might be a bit more expensive than some curry houses in the area, but only marginally so and the quality of the cooking more than made up for this for me.

Overall this is one of the best curries i've had and certainly up there with the very best in the area, Magic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Eatyourselffitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The curry house of choice in the area”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Jadoo has always been the best curry house in Saltburn, even before its revamp and change on menu recently. The food is fantastic, a real cut above a standard curry and feels much classier. The staff are always great, very welcoming and enthusiastic about the food and the recent changes.
Are there cheaper options nearby? Probably yes, but none that come close to this quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LotharSaltburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jadoo Restaurant & Takeaway also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Jadoo Restaurant & Takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing