We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a favourite haunt”
Review of Saltburn Pier

Saltburn Pier
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a favourite haunt”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great views and nice to feel close to the waves. Every visit to Saltburn includes a walk along the pier, breathing in the sea air and feeling the wind on your skin.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    203
    47
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level 6 Contributor
611 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Haven-ly”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love the feel of disappearing into the past; watching the ships passing by is a timeless process. Saltburn is proportionate and right, there are some 'amusements' but not too many; you can still make your own fun. The pier has a defiant elegance that captures the spirit of the town.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Filipino trip”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I spent many a happy time as a kid in Saltburn nearly 50 years ago and in 2011 around end of September I took my Family for a day trip there, all from the Philippines and they loved it.
We joined the line to eat inside the fish and chips at the small place near the pier and could smell my childhood memos coming from it.
During this time a elder Woman collapsed outside and I gave Her First Aid as others seem to think She may be Drunk but that was not the case.
She was taken away ny paramedics.
My place in the line was respected and then we had a great meal.
I had the large Cod, bread and butter and Tes.
WOW well worth the hassle.
This is a popular place with locals so be warned a time waiting for stable may be frustrating.
The staff are great though, top marks to them all to keep such a small place running at ease and provide great service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank shawly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fresh air.”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Good to blow the cobwebs away. A nice walk whatever time of year. God when the Yarn bombers have been and decorated the pier with their knitting, they are very clever people. The usual amusement arcade at the start of the pier.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Idacardie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Delightful old fashioned seaside resort and wonderful fish and chips”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Loved this little place on first sight- wondered why we have never visited before. Found it by default after driving too far north on the A1 when should have been heading for Whitby and did a detour by taking the B roads via Yarm.Delightful old fashioned seaside resort, spotlessly clean,free parking but vertical lifts not operating in winter months to take you up into the town.Surfers out despite the cold and choppy waves. Definately prefer the East Coast in winter to avaoid the crowds but this was busier than Whitby between Xmas and New Year despite the lousy weather. Pier has been restored in recent years and deserves its best preserved pier rating as its maintained its fishing facility alongside some amusement machines at the pier entrance

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TitchMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltburn Pier also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Saltburn Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing