We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

The Seaview Restaurant
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Ilkeston
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited Saltburn by the sea today and what a great day we had.

We had fish and chips on the balcony with a fantastic sea view and fantastic food with friendly atmosphere.

We will call again.

Best make it early has the cue was about 50 yards long when we came out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    407
    144
    59
    31
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent fish & chips marred by appalling service”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a fairly busy Sunday (waited about 10 minutes to get a table) and ordered 2 haddock and chips and something for our son. The small restaurant was fairly full, but seemed to be heading for a lull as people finished and left, was relatively well decorated in a modern style. I was a little ttroubled as to what we'd get when the waitress didn't bother writing our order down, merely bustling away as quickly as she could. A couple who we seated a little while after us received their cod and chips while we were waiting; thought nothing of it, other than our drinks hadn't been served yet. Then a larger group near us received their order and we still had nothing. A quick chat to the waitress revealed that our order "hadn't gone through" and it would be out "right away", but "what was it again?" Our son's came out quickly after, shortly followed by our drinks, but he's nearly finished by the time ours came out.
We were repeatedly told we hadn't been charged for his or our drinks, but we won't be risking another visit...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CurdledBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips I ever tasted!!!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Had a wonderful night with wonderful friends (only spoiled by a very rude customer who begrudged us having fun!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vonpieles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tideswell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is not to be missed”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Whilst on your holiday on the north Yorks coast you must visit this restaurant for the best fish and chips, great price and good portions plus the service was second to none.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midldlesbrough, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Senior waitress/owner? needs some people skills!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very disappointing visit. Had pensioners' special, the fish was quite grey at the tail end. Chips were very white. The senior waitress was very unpleasant, terrible attitude to customers. Meal was overpriced for what we had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seaview Restaurant also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Seaview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing