We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waited over 45 minutes until order was taken!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jolly Sailor

Jolly Sailor
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a large moorland Country Pub that offers dining in the pub or in the restaurant. Excellent menu and wine list, warm and friendly welcome. Four of us ate 3 delicious courses here on a midweek evening 2 bottles of wine and beer £130 staggering value for money as the food was both delicious and well presented....a very pleasant suprise indeed and deserving to be represented on TripAdvisor.
Warton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Waited over 45 minutes until order was taken!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Despite asking a few times to give our order, it took staff over 45 minutes to come and ask what we wanted.
They should have told us there would be such a wait when we arrived.
Spent 6 hours the next day with extreme vomiting and diarrhoea
It's such a shame as my friend's parents used to own the Jolly in the early 80's and it was a great country pub.
Won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank P1555ED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    58
    27
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad value for money! No vegetarian option”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had Sunday lunch here today. Service was good. We were however disappointed with the lack of vegetarian option. When our food arrived it came with meat gravy and some of the vegetables were black. We were then charged full price for our 'vegetarian' Sunday lunch which was a traditional Sunday lunch minus the meat. Why this pub thinks it is acceptable to charge £10 for a plate of vegetables and an Aunt Bessie's Yorkshire pudding is beyond me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food but expensive!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Went here for a meal a few sundays ago. For a starter, main and one drink each, we paid over £65 for two of us! Food was nice (I had beef wellington and partner had beef bourginion) but I felt it was very overpriced for what we had!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank moomooCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always good food....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We go here everytime for a treat and the food and service is always excellent.....cant understand why the FSA have only awarded them a 1* rating for food hygeine

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank petecoates73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
1 review
“Mums Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

First time I took Mum to Jolly sailors and we weren't disappointed food was sublime as usual and there was mountains of it. In my opinion the best steaks around, despite setting the fire alarm off with the sizzling grill!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Sailor also viewed

Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Jolly Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing