We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Spa Hotel, Saltburn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spa Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Spa Hotel, Saltburn!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in a beautiful large family room (for 6) at The Spa Hotel on Christmas Day. The Christmas dinner was delicious & the service was absolutely spot on! All 4 kids loved it there ~ we were only 5 mins for the beach so went for a walk on the pier. Can't wait to get back there again in half term. What a lovely, friendly place!

Room Tip: The hotel is getting renovated room by room ~ but even the ones which haven't yet been finished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clearasabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. Our 1st Christmas here was a busy and good one and we're so glad that you enjoyed it too. Our family rooms are currently the rooms we're focusing on as Saltburn in the summer is a great place to be with kids. Our books and games room is decorated now and being filled with toys and fishing nets every week in preparation for the warmer weather!

We really appreciate our customers taking the time to review us. It gives us a good indicator of where we should be heading and the different areas that people really value when away from home.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    164
    60
    20
    10
See reviews for
122
186
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

When I left the north east back in the 1970s The Spa was a dance hall. It's perched atop Saltburn Bank with views across the bay to Huntcliff. As a hotel it works well and at £45 a night brilliantly. My room was large, clean and with a real bath. It was even possible to park directly outside and access via a french door. Staff are clearly local people with little training in hotel management and all the better for it. The only issue I would raise relate to the quality of finish of the building work leading to a shabby exterior and things like jamming doors. Would I stay again - certainly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review; we really appreciate it and is good to hear that we are heading in the right direction. Please visit us again as we will be working hard to keep improving.

Best wishes,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We called in here for lunch during a day out to Saltburn. Initially I was hesitant as the hotel does look 'tired' from the outside. However I am really pleased that we gave it a try as I could not fault the food or the service. We ordered a hot beef baguette and chips, the chips were 'proper chips' and the nicest I have tasted for a long time. The beef was lovely with lashings of gravy but we were also provided with an extra gravy jug just in case we wanted more.

The young man who served us was fab! Very friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we enjoyed our lunch.
I would definitely return to the Spa Hotel for food, I couldn't comment on the rooms as we didn't stay over but it does look like there is a big refurbishment program in place and the bar area was certainly clean, comfortable and welcoming!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynw33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is lovely to read your comments as our new Chef and his team have been in place for the last 2 months and the feedback we are getting is brilliant. As you said, the refurbishment programme is well under way and we totally agree that the outside looks tired and is high up on the priority list!

We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just had two nights with my husband and grandaughter, and we really enjoyed our stay despite a few minor problems which were speedily resolved. The owners and staff here are all SO friendly and welcoming. I know there's a lot of updating still to be done in lots of the rooms, but it's very clean, and when you see what's been done already,I can see this place been a really top notch place to stay.We enjoyed our breakfast, and the chef made our grandaughter a pizza which was delicious,we didn't try a meal, but were told they were lovely.We shall return next year,and would like to thank the owners for all they did for us. We wish you all the luck in the world! Thank you. xx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATHANDPETE10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review-we really enjoyed having you! We're decorating again next week and am sure that when you come back you will see the change...We're also adding toys to the kids toys/games box all the time and the fishing nets, buckets and spades will be ready for summers on the beach.

Please do come again, your feedback was really helpful and we're definitely acting on all the ideas!

Kindest regards,

Cathy Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

The room we stayed in was a family room for three adults. Nicely decorated and clean and the beds were comfortable, with new pillows and duvets. There was refurbishment work going on and the corridors to the rooms had all been freshly painted. Had food on the first night which was very tasty and we didn't have to wait long at all. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast on both days was very good and freshly cooked.

The only downside, and it wasn't really a problem for us - we were in room 17 which is a family room. This looked out onto the car park at the back of the building. On the Friday night there was entertainment in the main room and there was a lot of noise when the band were packing their equipment away. It didn't bother us at all, but could be a problem for anyone with young children as the noise could wake them.

Apart from this, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are staying with young children, room 17 may not be the best if there is entertainment in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anniemac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is really good to hear that you enjoyed our new Chef's menu as this is a change which we have recently put into place and our customers have given us very positive feedback.

The room which you stayed in (number 17) is currently used as a triple room but is one of 7 due to become twin rooms next week.

The point you make regarding noise is one which we have also noted and, as part of our plan to increase our number of larger family rooms, has been one of the deciding factors in which rooms will be turned into family rooms etc. We agree that good sleep for all is essential; good sleep for children from an earlier hour can make or break a family night away!

It is really good to know that we are on the right track which makes customer feedback invaluable. Thank you for taking the time to send your review-your comments are really appreciated.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at The Spa Hotel Saturday 27th & were initially a bit worried after reading earlier reviews, however we stayed in a pleasantly decorated clean room with beautiful bedding & new duvet. & pillows, breakfast was nice & the staff very obliging, the hotel is being decorated so you need to be a bit tolerant, but it was priced accordingly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harriet622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is really good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your patience during what is an exciting period of refurbishment for the hotel. We hope to see you again when you should notice even more changes!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had not stopped at the spa for a couple of years,we always used to try for a break every couple of months.Stopped Saturday for our daughters thirteenth birthday . staff as always friendly, room no complaints, full English breakfast spot on!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottersleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa47, Owner at The Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and your daughter had a good birthday weekend- Saltburn is a great place to visit. Please visit us again in the future when our refurbishment plans should make your stay even more enjoyable! We appreciate your comments- thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saltburn-by-the-Sea
0.2 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
4.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
9.4 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spa Hotel

Property: The Spa Hotel
Address: The Spa Saltburn Bank, Saltburn-by-the-Sea TS12 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Victorian town of Saltburn by the sea, the Spa Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Hunt Cliff, the North Sea and the beautiful surrounding countryside of North Yorkshire. With 27 comfortable hotel rooms; each with its own en-suite facilities including bathtub and overhead shower, you are sure to have relaxing stay at the spa hotel. Take in the atmosphere of Saltburn with a refreshing drink from our fine selection of Wine and Real Ales, menus are also available both lunchtime and evenings. Enjoy the magnificent views while you dine from our bright conservatory restaurant. With outstanding natural beauty on our doorstep, you are sure to follow the path from our hotel directly into the valley of some 90-acres of woodland to the rear of the hotel. Take in the award winning Italian gardens as you stroll by the natural stream running through the wooded valley, or catch Saltburn's miniature railway from the beach throughout the Valley Gardens. The Victorian resort of Saltburn-by-the-sea still lives on today, with Britain's oldest water-based cliff lift still in operation. The Saltburn cliff lift transports passengers up and down the 120ft embankment to the sea front, Saltburn's famous Victorian Pier and town centre. Saltburn retains all of the charm and elegance of its heyday as a thriving Victorian Resort. The Smugglers Heritage Centre details the history of the once prospering smuggler trade along this beautiful coastline. August sees the annual International Folk Festival welcoming visitors from around the world to celebrate in music, dance and song. "If you are considering visiting at this time of year please book early to avoid disappointment". The Spa Hotel situated within the historic county of North Yorkshire allows for easy exploration of everything the north of England has to offer. A short drive takes you into the peace and tranquility of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park; famous for its beautiful scenery, wildlife and ambient walks. The North Yorkshire Moors has much to offer and can be enjoyed on foot or through a nostalgic steam train journey from Grosmont to Pickering through unspoiled countryside. "Most recently made famous for the well known television series "Heartbeat"." To the East of the hotel lies the historic towns of Staithes and Whitby, notorious for their Captain Cook connections, both within 20 miles drive. Visit the Captain Cook birthplace museum in the Industrial revolutions heartland of Middlesbrough. To the west of the hotel lies the coastal fishing town of Redcar, home to the world's oldest lifeboat, Enjoy an exciting day at the horse races at Redcar's Racecourse or stroll along the beachfront promenade recently the setting of the Oscar winning "Atonement film" starring Keira Knightley. Further afield from the hotel, Just outside Middlesbrough, Teesside Retail and Leisure Complex boasts a multi screen cinema, bowling arena, casino, bars, nightclubs and eateries. There is all this and so much more within close proximity to the hotel; our friendly staff are always on hand to help recommend the best sites no matter what your taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea
The Spa Hotel Saltburn-By-The-Sea, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing