We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to relax” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Next to Priego di Cordoba a lovely small place where we can spend a lovely day. Be sure to do around on the city tour in a small bus with a friendly guide that is willing to explain us most of the attractions and stories about the place.Then go for a walk around the place and feel the peacefull atmosphere. Lovely churches mostly barroco. Afterwards go back to the hotel,(its a little far away you musr hava a car or a bike) and relax at the pool or the jakusi. We had dinner at town at Noria next to the castle and it was delicious. We came back for lunch the next day. Choose two dishes to share, they help you to choose.

Room Tip: the scotish lady will help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtemaximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    50
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
47
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our nights at he Heulta de Las Palomas. It is located a few kilometers from Priego de Cordoba, in the country in a very quiet environment.

The whole place is newish and has a definite Spanish feel to it. The exterior is most pleasant, and amenities include a pool and nice gardens.

Walking inside you will be delighted. Clean and attractive, the interior is most welcoming, something that is reflected in the staff. Everyone from Joyce at the front desk to Antonio in the dining room did everything they could to make our visit enjoyable. Joyce, a Scottish ex-pat, deserved extra credit, as she was full of ideas to make our side trips interesting.

Rooms on the first and second floors (floors 2 & 3 to Americans) overlook a center atrium. The rooms are pleasant and inviting, and everything worked.

I strongly recommend this establishment, both for lodging and dining.

Priego de Cordoba has some interesting things to see, especially Baroque churches.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brugge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

The hotel is situated in a wonderful landscape amongst the olive trees. There are a lot of facilities (swimming pool, jacuzzi, garden...) but it seemed the hotel was open for 20-30 years while it was only open for 6 years.
The same problem with the room: a little outdated and the bathroom was certainly not up to the 4star standard.
But the sun was there, the people were friendly, and the kitchen was very good. Price quality we have got the best dinners in this hotel of our 2 week Spain trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarGoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for just the one night in January 2010. My father lives nearby and frequents this hotel for dinner and recommends it to out-of-town visitors. It is unique due to its rather odd location, outside the town of Priego de Cordoba. You wouldn't expect to see a hotel like this there, and it's quite an oasis. It is too far to walk into town so you'll need a car.

Things I liked about the hotel include its decor, furnishings and large, airy common areas. There are sofas and chairs situated in the lobby area downstairs and also on the first floor. Our room was large and spacious, and I would imagine that all of the rooms are a similar size. The room was warm and comfortable. There was a small balcony with quite a nice view. The floors and bathroom had traditional Mediterranean-style tiles. There were the usual amenities in the bathroom, which also had a nice bath tub and separate walk-in shower. The shower, however, overflowed very quickly onto the bathroom floor so you have to either have a really quick shower, or turn the water off and wait a couple of minutes for it to drain. I don't know if all the showers are like that, or just the one in our room. It was quite disappointing.

The restaurant area was quite nice. It was very quiet, probably due to the time of year and atrocious weather. The menu was a bit limited but the food was nicely prepared and portions were generous. The wine selection was not great and I was disappointed they did not have a good choice of fine Spanish wines. The bar area was spacious but I did not like the fact that it allows smoking - well, it is Spain, after all, and you have to expect that in some places. The restaurant had a faint, unpleasant odour. Perhaps due to all the rain and recent flooding in the area?

The staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly and very efficient.

It is unfortunate that this part of Spain had experienced so much rain, which was unusual for that time of year. Although I was there to see family, we wanted to do some sightseeing but that didn't work out. We did walk around the town of Priego de Cordoba for a couple of hours one morning when the sun decided to show itself, and it's a lovely little town. I'd like to spend more time there.

I would visit the hotel again but in the summertime, when I think the ambience will be much nicer - with warm weather and windows thrown open. It has a swimming pool which I believe has a retractable roof.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Limeyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alentejo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

Huerta de las Palomas is a very nice hotel 3 kms from Priego de Cordova and this is his only problem: once you are there you stay there, if you want to dinner out you have to drive. And notice that the tapas and restaurant is not so cheap as someone posted before me. In did, it is a bit expensive. Everything else in the hotel is perfect: the rooms, the cleaness, the charming architecture.

  • Liked — everything but...
  • Disliked — far away from other restaurants
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando É
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

We stayed one night at the Huerta Las Palmas in September 2008. The hotel is situated close to a busy road, but the surrounding trees keep things peaceful inside the hotel grounds. We used this hotel as a stopover between Granada and Cordoba, and found it a good place to chill out and relax.

The swimming pool and jacuzzi are both unheated, but the pool area was well maintained and was a pleasant place to hang out. The room was large and comfortable, and the bathroom had a powerful shower.

We ate at the excellent on-site barbeque restaurant in the evening, but the town of Prago is only a couple of miles away if you want more choice. Breakfast was reasonable, standard Andalucian fare but nothing out of the ordinary.

Overall, for €95 including taxes, this hotel offers excellent value for money, and suited our requirements as a stopover hotel very well.

  • Liked — great value
  • Disliked — felt quite empty and deserted during off-peak times
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank andyconda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2008

We stayed at this hotel last Oct, while we were looking for a property in Spain, obviously we did not know what to expect , as we were not told. What a surprise. We booked in, found the staff extreamly friendly and helpful, they went out of their way to help. We needed a plug adaptor so I could charge my phone and miracle of miracles they managed to get one for us. It is a small hotel but what comes in small packages! The food was good, breakfast you had plenty of choice. We took our 4 year old with us and our 15 year old, they both had fun in the swimming pool, they had one each. (we were blessed with lovely weather). The gardens were lovely. The rooms were beautifully done. Very clean, and cleaned every day. What else can I say, we are visiting again in feb.

  • Liked — Spacious, Airy, Clean.
  • Disliked — No Coffee /Tea things in room, maybe spanish thing, you can get coffee from the bar, but if you like one 1st or last thing you can't have one without going down to the bar or breakfast room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
2.7 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
#1 of 1 in Dona Mencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
MS Fuente las Piedras
3.2 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Villa de Priego de Cordoba
Hotel Villa de Priego de Cordoba
#1 of 7 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas

Property: Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Address: Ctra. Priego-Zagrilla, Km 3,5, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Huerta De Las Palomas Spain/Province Of Cordoba - Priego De Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing