We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay for exploring the white villages near Cordoba and Granada”
Review of Casa Olea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Olea
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay for exploring the white villages near Cordoba and Granada”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Casa Olea is a wonderful place to stay if you are wanting to explore the ‘Old Andalucia’. The converted farmhouse is nestled in a valley between Granada and Cordoba and is surrounded by beautiful countryside. The birdlife is twichers paradise and from the location you can explore the lovely white villages – Zuheros, Luque and Priego de Cordoba.
Tim and Claire take infinite care to make your stay comfortable and relaxing and even lend you Ruby as a walking ‘guide’ and companion

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wahda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
293
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We took over Casa Olea for a 50th birthday party celebration with 6 couples and it could not have worked out better. Everyone in our party was completely blown away by the house, the rooms, the location and the fact that we felt like it was 'ours, all ours' - if only for a weekend! The house is the perfect size for a house party - spacious yet initimate with several areas for the whole group to hang out in - the lounge, bar and dining room, and of course round the pool. The bedrooms are all spacious, simply but evry tastefully decorated with quality en suite bathrooms. One friend was so impressed by the quality of the bed ("best nights sleep in a long time") they plan to order one.

Our hosts, Tim and Claire, could not have been more accommodating. Their travel industry background and the fact that they are British made the house party arrangements very easy indeed. They came up with lots of ideas and suggestions to make the weekend special and it literally only took a couple of emails to get everything in place exactly as we wanted it. Once we were there, they also effortlessly struck the perfect balance between friendliness and discretion - always 'in the wings' for advice, information, food or drink but also happy to let us have the run of the place.

The location is really the biggest selling point - in a stunning valley surrounded by olive groves you really feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. Yet, Cordoba and Grenada are easily accessible plus there's fabulous walking and some truly stunning white villages nearby. The weather is very reliable too - even travelling relatively late in the year we had 4 days of blue sky with warm sun during the day

Highly recommended for a relaxed house party to celebrate any special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_travelgurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic of California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

After traveling in Andalucia for one month, we ended our vacation at Casa Olea. We had planned out a nicely paced trip but as our vacation came to an end we felt we were ready for a vacation within our vacation. As decadent as it may sound, being on the go for 3 1/2 weeks can become tiring.

Casa Olea is located in a most stunning setting in the countryside. The ideal way to get to it would be with a car, however we were using public transportation. Tim and Claire, the owners, didn't let this stop us from staying at their wonderful B&B. Tim picked us up at the closest small town we could get to by bus and delivered us to Casa Olea, where before we were even in the door, his charming wife, Claire, was outside greeting us.

Although our time there was short, only 4 nights, we fully enjoyed Claire's incredible cooking, Tim's thorough knowledge of the area along with stories told with a great sense of humor.

Our room was divine with views of olive groves and mountains that went on forever. The bed was very comfortable and cozy....in fact it was difficult to get out of bed in the morning until you remembered Claire's breakfast was awaiting you downstairs in the dining room.

If you elect to have dinner at Casa Olea, which we did every night and I would highly recommend you do so, there are two options offered each evening for what you may order. Their house wine they offered was great, but other options were available.

Staying with Claire & Tim at Casa Olea was one of the highlights of our month long trip in Spain. I encourage anyone who has an opportunity to stay here to not hesitate to do so.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank useetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Nestling in stunning natural Andalucian countryside we found Casa Olea the perfect peaceful holiday location. We also visited some of the nearby quaint villages with their ornate churches, narrow streets and some have a castle, Zuheros being one of them.
On arrival, we were enthusiastically welcomed by Ruby (a playful dog, she has attached herself to them) and after breakfast - she took us for a walk! Tim & Claire are an excellent combination as proprietors, Tim's interesting, extensive knowledge of the local community etc., Claire's inventive good cooking (loved her yogurt,orange & pistachio nut cake!!). Both have a genuine aim to preserve and use the produce of the area which we admired.
Our January stay at Casa Olea had a warm ambience not just because of the underfloor heating and the glowing log fire in the lounge in the evenings. Just stepping into the tastfully refurbished interior which was in keeping with it's original features and the added decorative peices from their travels presented immediate relaxation for us after our busy Christmas.
We particularly enjoyed the tour of the Olive Mill, the olive oil tasting at Casa Olea and it was a pleasure to meet the other guests from around world. In all, even though a short stay, very enjoyably memorable. Joy & Colin , Quesada, Spain

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joycol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We feel very privileged to have stayed at Casa Olea as it was a true gem of a place to stay. Being our honeymoon there was a great deal of pressure for the hotel and area to live up to - both Casa Olea and the area smashed all expectations making it one of the best holidays we have ever had. Having such attentive and well informed hosts we had everything on hand including where and how to spot eagles to sampling a new rum and tonic aperitif! We love facts and learning about new places, at Casa Olea there really is so much to learn and see around the area, its a great base to explore from. Having returned home we have been non stop telling friends about this place - dropping hints so we can return next year! Thanks Tim , Clare and Ruby for giving us a great honeymoon xx

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nikilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I always say I can forgive many mistakes and oversights if the service is genuine, attentive and welcoming - whether in a restaurant or hotel. And Casa Olea definitely has that service. Tim was away in UK on a visit (naughty Tim) so Clare's lovely mum and dad were providing back up support for Clare. And as the other reviews state, nothing was too much trouble, including Clare lending me her own trainers to do some hill walking! She (and mum and dad) never seemed to tire of being there, round the clock, providing tasty treats, and suggesting diversions and things to do. (without for one moment being overbearing)

The first line of this review opens " I can forigve...... " but what I mean to say is that I could have forgiven her much because of the level of service IF there was anything to forgive! But there wasn't
Food fantastic - dinner served under the stars....... expertly prepared; lunch and snacks by the pool. Always a little local treat suggested, or insight into the origin of some local speciality or sourced ingredient.
Decor : simple, clean, tasteful.
Comfort : top notch (unless you are looking for overstated luxury)
Things to do: yes you could base yourself here and head to Grandada or Cordoba for buzz, and culture
but why? the over-riding benefit of this place is the peace, the utter stillness, the hammock by the pool, the library of books to browse through, time standing still. Its not ostentatious. Its does't set itself up as some mega-retreat and luxurious pamper-centre. It just is, naturally. Quiet. a real retreat.

we did enjoy some lovely hillwalks though, to stretch the body before....... more relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irelandlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Casa Olea is such a find, the place is simply fantastic, with loads to do if you're up for beautiful walks, through ancient olive groves, past Moorish watch towers, orchards and sparkling old towns gleaming white.

We based ourselves at Casa Olea for 5 days and did day trips to Granada, Cordoba and some beautiful hidden villages plus some fantastic walks mentioned above.

No review about Casa Olea would be complete without mentioning the hosts Tim, Claire and Ruby are a fantastic ensemble act.

Tim is so incredibly organised and had us out of GPS' crazy lady directions and back on way to Casa in a flash plus he has mapped out the fantastic walks and knows all of the easy access driving routes and parking spots in all the larger cities so you don't need to stress about those tiny Spanish city roads. Claire is the perfect host and created such tasty meals that we were sold the first night and made sure we were back each night to sample more of her wonderful cooking and the wine list is a treat if you like exploring regional well priced boutique Spanish wines.

Ruby NO review of Case Olea would be complete without mentioning Ruby, from the moment we were greeted at the front door to the moment we left she was our best mate, escorting us on our country walks and making sure we didn't get lost - she is such a brilliant mascot for Casa.

We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNomad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
5.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
109 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
8.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hospederia la Era
Hospederia la Era
#1 of 3 in Almedinilla
202 reviews
5.1 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
185 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hacienda Minerva
Hacienda Minerva
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Olea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Olea

Property: Casa Olea
Address: Carretera CO-7204 (Zamoranos to Fuente Alhama) | Parcelas 115 y 116, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halfway between Granada and Cordoba, ideal base for day trips to the Alhambra and Mezquita. Great for olive groves, mountains, walking, home cooking, relaxing, wildlife and nature. Charming Andalucian cortijo (farmhouse) with indulgent touches: under-floor heating, a/c, super-king beds, Egyptian cotton bedding, pool, bikes for hire. Home-cooked evening meals using locally-sourced, fresh, seasonal ingredients. Good selection of Spanish wines. Strong green credentials: 100% of heating/hot water from biomass boiler & solar panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Olea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Olea Hotel Priego De Cordoba
Casa Olea Spain/Province Of Cordoba - Priego De Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing