We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Banos de la Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Banos de la Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is a truly lovely hotel where guests are made to feel special. The hotel is new and every small detail is taken care of to conserve a kind of zen ambience, which is greatly appreciated for those who wish relaxation, serenity, and quiet. The personnel is extremely helpful and willing to take time to explain the sights to see in the town. The hotel also offers Arabic baths with massages, which were even better than those that I had received in a stay in Istanbul. Each room in the hotel has a name. Ours was called "Vitality", which made us smile since we were celebrating our 41st wedding anniversary that weekend. The town is also very pleasant. Despite living in Granada, we had never been to Priego. However, we will certainly return here and especially to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emocionate, Propietario at Casa Banos de la Villa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you for you time, thank you for you kindness, and thank you for all these words towards us. We are very glad that your anniversary has been something very special for your, and of course, we will wating for you with open arms when you want to come back to visit us.

Kinds regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    60
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
128
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This little hotel nestled into a white village is a gem and in such a quiet little neighborhood in Priego de Cordoba. There are 8 rooms and 4 are surrounding a courtyard of sorts. We were assigned one of those but asked to be moved to a room facing the outside of the building as we felt cramped in the inner one. No problem. We had a functional room with a Juliet balcony. The rooms are small but well appointed. The baths are a treat and the massage service excellent. The small pool/patio area at the top of the building overlooking the church is simply charming.
We only stayed 2 nights rather than the scheduled 3 only because parking in the town is a problem and once we had a spot we weren't moving the car. Our original plan was to take day trips out of Priego but instead we roamed the town for 2 days and headed to the countryside.
It was not easy to find and we struggled with locating the hotel but once in and settled was just perfect. Staff so lovely and helpful and we had champagne by the pool compliments of the staff.
Highly recommend .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cordoba29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emocionate, Propietario at Casa Banos de la Villa, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Good Afternoon:

Thank you very much for you dedicated us your valuable time to comment your experiencie in our house. It was a pleasure, you visited us and you enjoyed in our house. We hope you will see you soon and you could doing the routes you have planned.

A big hug and thank you very much again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The perfect place to relax after a hot day in Grenada, Sevilla, or Cordoba. The staff is discrete and yet very friendly. The spa atmosphere is wonderful with the cold, warm, and hot bath, as well as the steam bath and of course the possibility for very low cost massages. Most people forget that there is a small open-air swimming pool on the outdoor roof-top terrace which is perfect for cocktail hour. One can purchase skin lotions and creams that are made in the neighboring villages directly at the hotel. We were welcomed our first night with a bottle of sparkling wine and rose petals delicately scattered on the bed, candles and candies to accompany this treat! A very delicate surprise. Thank you once again for our 3 night stay. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VHLJBOTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel S, Gerente at Casa Banos de la Villa, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for the time dedicated to your comment and for your words, which help us to continue working in order to your pleassure. We will be charmed with having you with us again. A strong embrace from Priego de Córdoba.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were greeted with a friendly smile & helpful information about the town. We stayed in the 'passion room' which was spotless & tastefully decorated. The Arab baths downstairs was included in the room & the massage is highly recommended. We were then surprised on returning to our room with complimentary cava!!! Priego is a lovely Andalucian town to discover perched up on the hillside with superb views of the surrounding countryside. We couldn't have asked for a nicer stay and hope we can return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahDunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this little place. We were greeted by the sweetest young man who was eager to practice English and patient with our Spanish. We had two teens with us, so had a family apartment with a balcony looking right over the cathedral; wow! Not only that, the beds were like at home, the AC worked perfectly, and it was immaculate. The kids really enjoyed the Arabic baths with us, and at night we ate nearby and strolled the old streets. The people in the village were incredibly friendly, especially compared to the bigger cities we had traveled. It was a bit pricey for Spain but not for North America, and was worth it, as a ninety minute bath was included for the four of us. Someone below complained about the breakfast, but we thought it was just fine! Also, the morning i checked out, there was a young woman at the desk, and she was also delightful. I felt like i got to know the local culture much more than in other towns, and I tasted some of the best olive oil ever, so make sure to buy some if you can!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

This little place is perfect. From the welcome at Reception, to the very comfy and spacious room, to its location in the Barrio of a lovely Andalusian hilltop town. Not to mention that the room price includes a 90 min. session in their own Arab baths - just get your dressing gown on and head downstairs! Each room is individually and tastefully decorated. We had a romantic red this time - will definitely be back to try the rest.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Route66UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

This is an old house in the old part of the nice town of Priego de Cordoba. The rooms are nicely fitted and decorated, and spotlessly clean. The staff are helpful. There is no restaurant, though several very nice nearby bar-restaurants. Breakfast is a very dismal experience - in this centre of orange production, foul cheap packet orange juice, a mean 'spread' and coffee from a machine (the lady in charge even denied us hot water to dilute the machine's coffee) is not good enough. The room rate includes one visit to the Arab Baths, which have been restored in a way that they look entirely modern - three small 'sitting pools' - perfectly pleasant but not an attractin in their own right. The rack rate quoted by 'phone was appreciably greater than we obtained from a booking agency. Access is a challenge for anything but a small car, and there is some car parking. If you drive anything like a Mondeo/BMW 5-series, I would wonder if you could get it through the narrow lanes into the car park. And get proper directions - one bad turn led us to have to manoeuvre through a 25-point turn helped by a kind man who lived nearby. Nice enough for a night. Not for a week. A shame because the town and the surrounding towns & villages are marvellous.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snapdecisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jotaemeger, Gerente at Casa Banos de la Villa, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Good evening:

First of all, thank you for all the published comments, that undoubtedly will make us improve in our service.

We would like to comment that we are located inside the Natural Geopark of the Sierras Subbéticas, in the Villa`s neighborhood of Priego of Cordova.

This neighborhood is of origin andalusí, of the moslem - medieval epoch during the Al-Andalus period. It emphasizes for it streets, which are sinuous, of minimun dimensions, white and adorned with flowers, sharing architecture with neighborhoods such as the Albayzín of Granada or the Jewry of Cordova. It was declared historical - artistic ensemble in the year 1972. On having walked along it streets and squares, we will transport ourselves to a world where you will live through unforgettable moments.

On the other hand, the original Arabic baths of the city have been found a few years ago in Santa Ana street, to approximately 200 mts. of our accommodation. Some parts of the facilities are in very well conditions of conservation and let's hope that soon they could be visitables.

Therefore, our Arabic Baths are not reformed, but of new construction, and what we claim is that they are a trip of the body and the soul following the philosophy of the former hammams, where you will be able to submerge in puddles of different temperatures and aromatized, to enjoy a massage, to feel the aromaterapia and even to savour the tastes of long ago. With this, we will manage to make eliminate the stress, appeasing pains, and promoting the welfare, the health and the beauty.

Regarding to the breakfast, we like to highlight that we are not a producing center of oranges, but we are proud to have the best oils of extra virgin olive of the world, since this way they are being recognized with different awards that are submitting to the oils of the region protected by the name of Origin Priego of Cordova Denomination.

Because of it, our basic breakfast is prepared by slices of bread, toasts, watered with our liquid gold, the extra virgin olive oil with the Origin Priego of Cordova Denomination, accompanied of a coffee newly ground, juice or infusion. Before the demand of the travelers we have extended it with cereals, yogurt, fruit, sausage and pastries.

Finally, we would like to indicate, that since we start walking, three years ago, in Casa Banos de la Villa, we have offered moments, experiences with which the traveler could live through his own history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Priego de Cordoba
3.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
#1 of 1 in Dona Mencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villa de Priego de Cordoba
Hotel Villa de Priego de Cordoba
#1 of 7 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hacienda Minerva
Hacienda Minerva
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hospederia San Francisco
Hotel Hospederia San Francisco
#2 of 12 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Banos de la Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Banos de la Villa

Property: Casa Banos de la Villa
Address: Calle Real 63, 14800 Priego de Cordoba, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Priego de Cordoba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Priego de Cordoba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Banos de la Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protected by walls, narrow streets filled with flowers, we found Casa Baños de la Villa, a place to rest the body and soul, where light, water, colors, smells, sounds and textures combine to create rooms with different environments, which together with its courtyards, terraces and Moorish baths create unique personal experiences, away from the crowds and standardization, and linked to the philosophy of sustainability and social responsibility.There are people who go through life looking for something, though not always know what it is. Looking for a story, a moment that remains indelible in his memory, moments that make them feel that they have lived.In Casa Baños de la Villa we offer this unforgettable combination of light, water, colors, smells and sounds to create a place of dreams where the stories are possible to create a place with soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Banos de la Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Banos De La Villa Spain/Province Of Cordoba - Priego De Cordoba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing