We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding,beautiful and must stay location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn @ Southcombe Farm The lovely lounge in The Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
The Barn @ Southcombe Farm
The lovely lounge in The Barn
The lovely lounge complete with log burner
The master bedroom complete with lovely king size double
The spacious twin bedroom suitable for children and adults
The twin bedroom
The downstairs hallway
The kitchen with everything you would expect from a five star property
The bathroom is fully tiled
Free tractor ride for families with children
In the wildlife hide
The tyre swing
River Walking
Spot wildlife
Great beaches and surf nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Lewis W
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding,beautiful and must stay location”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We arrived last Saturday around 5pm and my partner went to the main house to meet Paul. He showed us the way to the Barn conversion. We entered the Barn and it was absolutely beautiful. Paul is one of the nicest people you could ever meet. He is so friendly and showed us around the Barn. He told us that every morning we could get up at 8am to feed the ducks,chickens and horse. We only did it a few times as we was that tired we didn't get up all the time. The morning animal feed was done by jim(Paul's dad). He again is a nice bloke who always spoke to the girls and asked if they want to get the animal feed ready. Eileen (Paul's mum) we only met a few times but she did leave some handmade cake in the fridge for us when we arrived as well as eggs from the farm and milk. The Barn is a lovely place to spend a week. There are plenty of fields to walk round and there are some sheep that will let you stroke them. Paul even put on a tractor ride for the 4 of us. We sat on hay bails on the back of a trailer. The kids loved it and we enjoyed it too. This Barn is only about 15 minute drive from Bude which is a lovely coastal town. Southcombe farm is defiantly a place we will return. Paul is such a nice person and makes the stay so easy and pleasant. We would like to thank Paul, Jim and Eileen for a wonderful holiday. There is not one negative thing to say about this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Barn.
We are really pleased you all enjoyed yourselves on the farm and the surrounding area.
Thank you again and it would be great to see you all another time in the future :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
007Marshm...
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely barn in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely, relaxing break in The Barn in the middle of the school summer holidays. The first thing we noticed when we arrived was the wonderful peace and quiet, something that we were really hoping for.

The accommodation was great with everything we needed to prepare and serve meals, as well as put our feet up. The sofas were perfect for stretching out on. Wifi was available too, in case you're wondering :) Beds were comfy (even for those of us with dodgy backs!) and bedding was cosy and warm.

On the first morning of our stay we got up early to take part in the animal feeding. Our boys (8 and 4) loved it and went on to feed the animals nearly every day. They also had a fab time on the tractor ride, where Paul taught us all about the nature around the farm. I have to admit that we weren't looking forward to an early start every day (8am start for the animal feeding) but it had unexpected benefits, such as finding a parking space by a brilliant beach in the middle of the school summer holidays!

The boys had a fab time just playing outside, they loved trying to play with the cats, who seemed to enjoy their company too. We explored the farm on foot, discovered the rope swing which was fun. The play houses would be good for younger children too. We walked down to the stream which looked lovely.

A definite highlight of the trip was a canoe experience, ran by Paul. We spent the morning on a beautiful lake paddling around. For some of this time we had the whole lake to ourselves, it was amazing. (We'll be reviewing that separately!)

Paul and the rest of the family were really friendly and helpful throughout our stay. They answered all of our questions and helped us to make the most of our holiday. The cake we received when we arrived was delicious - I just realised we never thanked them for it, so here's a belated thank you!

Nearby days out we'd recommend include Lydford Gorge (National Trust), Bude (Widemouth Bay in particular), The Big Sheep and, of course, the Bude Canoe Experience.

The weather was pretty miserable for at least half of our holiday but we still had a great time. We also got our security deposit back very quickly. We'd highly recommend Southcombe Farm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2015
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in the Barn.
I'm really glad you all had a great time relaxing in the Barn, enjoying the farm and surrounding area.
It's also great to get good feedback about the animal feeding and tractor ride :-)
Thank you for staying with us and I hope you decide to stay with us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“peaceful, relaxing and very comfortable accomodation.”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My 11 year old son and I stayed last week for a week, the property is really lovely and has been refurbished to an extremely high standard throughout. The king size bed was great and was very comfy. good location too for all the activities we wanted to do. The owners were very helpful and friendly and would definitely stay again if we were down in this area.
Richard and George.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
Thank you Richard and George for reviewing your stay in the Barn @ Southcombe Farm.
I'm really glad you enjoyed the Barn and the surrounding area. It was also great that you tried out some of the local outdoor activities (Surfing, horse riding, archery and canoeing). It is a lovely area for the outdoors and hopefully you will take away some great memories!
Thank you again for staying with us and it would be great to see you again in the future :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yvonne F
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome with a freshly baked cake waiting for us in the kitchen. The accommodation was spotless clean and spacious for the 2 of us that were staying. Upon chatting to Paul, we mentioned we would not mind having a BBQ the following day and by the time we returned from our excursion, one had been cleaned and placed outside for us.
Paul & his father made our stay, they treated us like friends and gave tips on good places to eat & visit.
I will definitely be returning to Southcombe Farm. Thank you for such a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 18, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Homestead it is much appreciated.
I'm really glad you both had a good time and enjoyed Eileens homemade cake!!
The cats also missed all the attention you gave them while you were here!!
Thank you again and it would be great to see you again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen_j...
Ware, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Immaculate accommodation in great setting with friendly and thoughtful owners”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Perfect service from initial enquiry to end of stay. This was one of the most immaculately maintained and presented holiday houses we have ever stayed in, with all the facilities you are likely to need. The easily accessible rural location was ideal for us, with the unexpected bonus of having a Waitrose supermarket only a few minutes drive away. We really enjoyed exploring the nature trail around the farm. We have no hesitation in recommending this property to friends and family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of accommodation and setting of location
Liked least: Minor point: wi-fi router needed a daily reboot by owner
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Barn @ Southcombe Farm.
We are all really pleased you had great holiday and enjoyed staying in The Barn :-)
Thank you again for staying at Southcombe Farm and we hope to see you again in the future. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaynor c
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent holiday”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

had a really good time. loved staying at the homestead. beautiful home. would highly recommend it to everyone. paul Eileen and jim the owners are very friendly and very helpful people. loved feeding the animals. had a brill week. didn't want to go home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved staying on the farm
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Homestead @ Southcombe Farm. I'm really glad you all had a great holiday and enjoyed the farm and the surrounding area. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you again.
Note to readers! This review is for the Homestead @ Southcombe Farm property id 274894. We have two lovely holiday lets at Southcombe Farm, both in separate areas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abdullah...
1 review
“Great family getaway”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A beautiful barn conversion very clean and fully equipped with all necessities for a comfortable break. Very friendly and helpful owners. Our little boy enjoyed feeding the animals every morning and roaming freely in the farm. Plenty to see and do around the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2014
Thank you for reviewing The Barn @ Southcombe Farm. It is much appreciated. We are really glad you had a great holiday and enjoyed the farm and surrounding area. As for animal feeding, we love having helpers! Thank you again and hope to see you again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing