We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Bed and Breakfast”
Review of Thorne Park

Thorne Park
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thorne Park
Ranked #9 of 14 Holsworthy B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had breakfast on the first morning in the Conservatory with the Autumn sun shining through very clean windows. The breakfast was at least three course with plenty of toast and tea. It was a relaxing 2 hours before we left to enjoy the day. On our evening return there was a very cosy lounge with wood burner in which to enjoy more warm drinks.

This set the model for an extremely relaxed 4 days. If you can remember the days when you as a child you were taken on holiday to a working farm and enjoyed the freedom of the countryside then you will do no better than spend some here.

Room Tip: There is a self contained groundfloor ensuite bedroom with it's own front door if stairs are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_B186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 25 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

A must for family and friends to get together place good will go back lots to see and do in area animals friendly and hosts nice rooms large garden and games room good, and hot tub lovely so relaxing didnt want to leave had such a good holiday

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy mcevoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just returned from our 2012 family holiday at Thorne Park Farm near Bude. Eleven of us fitted brilliantly into the large house. What a fantastic place to rent for a great family holiday! The house was perfect for large parties, with plenty of rooms and breakdown of beds for space. It was clean and Marlene and Dave the perfect hosts. Nearby if you needed anything at all, dealing with any little things we asked and finding out bits of information for us. But also kept their distance so we didn't feel overlooked. The farm was very peaceful and we got to bottle feed the gorgeous Will (calf) every morning and the 2 lambs. We also got to feed the sheep their pellets every morning, the kids loved it. There was a great play area in the garden that children and adults enjoyed, a play barn with table tennis and skittles. The highlights had to be the hot tub in a very secluded part of the garden and the snooker/pool table in the dining room. The kids didn't have time to get bored as there was so much to do at the house. We also enjoyed a scrummy cream tea when we arrived supplied by Marlene. The weather wasn't brilliant but the house with amenities made up for that. We didn't have enough time within the week to fit everything in on the farm alone. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and wish Marlene and Dave a successful and full future of bookings for the fabulous accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laineybelle07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very welcoming,
Brilliant Food
Nice rooms, comfortable beds and pillows
Great bathrooms and supplied towels and nice soaps
Quiet rural location very nice welcoming cup of tea when we arrived and even cooked us a excellent dinner
Overall excellent B&B

Room Tip: No problems with any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had never stayed in farm accommodation before and this was absolute heavenly.
Lovely on-suite room fantastic breakfast really nice attentive hosts in Marlen & Dave.
We would recommend Thorne Park Farm as a great location to visit North Devon and Cornwall and a great place to relax and chill out.

Jan & Mick Hatch
Wivenhoe
Essex

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike190735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holsworthy hotels
5.1 mi away
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Woodford Bridge Country Club
#1 of 14 in Holsworthy
910 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#7 of 14 in Holsworthy
12 reviews
4.2 mi away
Court Barn Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Hollies Farm Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 14 in Holsworthy
67 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lew Barn Bed & Breakfast
Lew Barn Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 14 in Holsworthy
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorne Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorne Park

Address: Chilsworthy, Holsworthy EX22 7BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Holsworthy
Price Range: $41 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorne Park 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based within our family farmhouse we can offer you Bed & Breakfast with the option of evening meal. Marlene and David offer you a very warm welcome. You can enjoy a full English breakfast or various cooked options including fresh eggs and produce Home from home and a very warm welcome awaits all. MAIN POINTS:• Two bedrooms available.• One double / twin en-suite with colour TV and tea making facilities.• One ground floor double / family en-suite room, colour TV and tea making facilities.• Sitting room with TV/DVD & WIFI.• Conservatory – breakfast / dining room overlooking garden.• Traditional Farmhouse Breakfast with option of Evening Meal.• Visit Britain – Four Star Rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thorne Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorne Park Holsworthy, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing