We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Bliss at the coB!”
Review of Venn Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holsworthy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Venn Farm
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at the coB with our nearly two year old daughter for Christmas 2013. It was absolutely perfect. The house is finished to an extremely high standard - fantastic kitchen, living room, lovely bathrooms, and bedrooms. All very clean and well cared for and toddler friendly. Conrad and Karen were very welcoming hosts - readily available to help or give advice when needed, but never invading your space. The house is truly spectacular - everything I would have in my own dream house. The care and attention to detail was great - the Christmas tree was set up and decorated for us when we arrived, some goodies for our daughter, and really thoughtful touches like Christmas cookie cutters tucked away in the cupboards so we could bake.

The weather the week we were there was pretty dreadful, heavy rain and wind almost every day (not that we were expected much different in December), but that didn't bother us in the least. The spaces inside and out were fantastic and my daughter was fully entertained with all the open spaces inside the house and the gardens outside. Karen and Conrad offered plenty of tips on places to visit, and a fantastic map of the area so we could venture out. They go the extra mile to make sure everything is perfect for their guests. For example, I sent Conrad a message as we were heading out late one morning that I couldn't get the DVD player to work, before we make it back to the house that afternoon the problem was solved with a new DVD player - to be honest if he could not have resolved the issue, it would have been fine, especially given it was just a day before Christmas, but we were impressed at how hard they work to make sure everything is perfect for their guests.

The whole property is perfect for kids and very toddler friendly (a relief after hearing some nightmare stories from friends who had rented other properties with toddlers). Stair gates and cot were provided as well as a few toys - the whole set up is just right for kids who want to roam around and explore inside and out. The kitchen set up with a big open space was perfect for when my husband and I were cooking and preparing meals as my daughter had plenty of space to play right there with us.

Overall, we had a blissfully relaxing week at the coB and I cannot wait to visit again!

Room Tip: All the rooms here are great - the kids room with the built in bunk beds would no doubt be a big hit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKButz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent a week at the Red Barn with our children and had a really wonderful time. We felt completely relaxed and loved the huge garden with secret trails and a hidden hut in the woods.

Conrad and Karen were incredibly welcoming and really looked after us. We've stayed in some beautiful places in Cornwall but Venn Farm has to be the best! We can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful week here. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. It is like spending a week in your dream home in the perfect setting. The kitchen is a pleasure to cook in and every room is stunning. Karen and Conrad's tips on where to go were excellent. We borrowed the body-boards and wet suits and spent long, lovely days on gorgeous beaches away from crowds. Hiring bikes and cycling the Camel Trail from Wadebridge to Padstow for fish and chips was brilliant (and it was a great tip to do that early evening rather than daytime as it meant it wasn't too busy). We didn't want to come back to London and can't wait to go again. Double thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed for a week at The Red Barn in early July, for our first proper break alone with our young toddler. The farm is in a fantastic location; a short drive to the supermarket, shops and facilities of nearby Bude and Holsworthy, but offering complete tranquility, a large garden and freshly laid eggs !
The attention to detail is second to none - the two bedrooms and bathroom are very comfortable and immaculately presented, whilst the full length living area and kitchen offer a lovely warm and light environment. The deck is the perfect place for that relaxing glass of wine as the sun sets...
All in all impossible to fault - a fantastic base for exploring all that this part of the world has to offer, with friendly and welcoming hosts who have plenty of good local recommendations..... we're already planning our return trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We spent our first week at The Red Barn this July and have already booked to return, for longer, next summer! We spent a wonderful week here with our 2 children, 2 and 5 years old. The area is perfect for all types of activities. Inland into Devon, cycling part of the Tarka Trail, RHS Rosemoor, visiting Dartington, glass painting on a gloomy day, farm shops with animals to see and delicious steaks to be bought. Into Cornwall and to the stunning beaches, rock pools, fresh fish for BBQ's in the garden. The Red Barn is a perfect place to come be 'at' and come 'home' to at the end of a busy day, extremely comfortable, stylish, well equipped. Easy to relax and enjoy the peace of the surroundings. Conrad's recommendations are spot on. Which beaches to go to, where to eat the best cream tea, where to buy the best fish. The place is a true gem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I do not know where to start my praise! Karen and Conrad the perfect hosts, Conrad having a great sense of humor dropped in for a G&T and we had some nice chats he gave good advice on what to do and where to swim and shop. All he suggested turned out to be off the beaten track and fabulous you can blindly rely on him . When we arrived quite late and searched for a place to have dinner that very evening he was in Spain for a short break and he arranged from there that we were fed in a great Pub that normally would already have stopped serving food (it was after 10pm) this goes far beyond his duties as a host!! The place itself is incredibly stylish - attention given to details - stunning art, great views through each window (from the shower we could see the "green jungle" as we named the single track lane overgrown with greenery and shrubbery forming a kind of tunnel to drive through) wild flower bouquets in each room on our arrival, a kitchen that is state of the art . We cooked dinner each evening which was a very social affair - we had a chef (me) a sous-chef and a sous- sous chef, a beverage manager and a cleaning crew!
We wer a company of 8 friends and Waitrose ran out of our favorite red wine after a couple of days - they still had Gin so .....it was with an aching heart we left - the Cob lived up to our highest expectations and we do hope to return
Marlis Ritter (26.7.-2.8.2013)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank base2stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent a week in The Cob and just loved it. Beautifully and thoughtfully designed, managing to be both airy and cosy. Rare to find a place so baby-friendly that also has the wow-factor. And even rarer to find ourselves having a properly relaxing holiday with a toddler! Conrad and Karen were warm and considerate hosts, lending us wetsuits and body-boards so we could go and frolic in the surf like teenagers from Home & Away (a must). It's a lovely and unspoilt corner of the country and we had a brilliant time exploring with some very good tips from Conrad and Karen re places to visit and eat. Highlights: Margaret's cream tea caravan, the aforementioned bodyboarding, sunset beers in the Old Smithy, drinking cold prosecco in the back garden every evening, and just the house and farm itself. Delightful. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Holsworthy hotels
0.0 mi away
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Woodford Bridge Country Club
#1 of 14 in Holsworthy
922 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#6 of 14 in Holsworthy
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 14 in Holsworthy
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hollies Farm Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Lew Barn Bed & Breakfast
Lew Barn Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 14 in Holsworthy
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Court Barn Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venn Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venn Farm

Address: Pancrasweek | Near Bude, Holsworthy EX22 7JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Holsworthy
Price Range: $119 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venn Farm is a beautiful and tranquil seven acre small holding four miles from Bude and the stunning north Cornwall beaches. It is nestled between two nature reserves and has an abundance of wildlife including roe deer, buzzards, woodpeckers and barn owls.We have converted two barns that we rent for holidays. The red Barn is a contemporary yet family-friendly conversion. It has a sun-flooded open-plan living space upstairs overlooking a leafy, grassy meadow. Below are two pretty bedrooms and a bathroom. It sleeps 4 plus a cot.The coB is a stunning conversion designed by award winning architects Feilden Fowles. It sleeps 9 plus cots. It overlooks open countryside, has two private patio's and a garden. These stunning contemporary yet family-friendly conversions of a former barn & milking shed are picture-perfect both inside and out. Its setting is idyllic, being on seven acre small holding just a few miles from the the coast at Bude and nestled between two nature reserves with abundant wildlife. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Venn Farm Holsworthy, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing