We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
35
12
6
5
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
12
6
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews toilets showers pets corner on site busy bank holiday shower block fantastic site play area friendly campsite arrived friday nature trail dog friendly which is run around family holiday spent a week great holiday central heating devon cornwall
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 70 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

We won a break at hedley wood from a raffle prize and as my sister was visiting thought this would be a great opportunity to use it ( mum and I live in Bude)
We arrived Friday and the receptionist wer very friendly and helpful, our caravan was perfect, one double bedroom and 2 twin bedrooms, central heating, plus a gas fire in lounge, 2 toilets, a brilliant shower really spacious
The caravan was absolutely spotless the bedding looked brand new as did all the cooking utensils,pots pans etc
The site in all honesty doesn't have a great deal on it which suited us because we don't have children, because of the time of year the site seemed quiet which was brill for us, very peaceful,
Today in work IV been recommending hedley wood to our customers ( when they have come in to buy pasties)
Im hoping to definitely stay again when we have family down again
Thank you team

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 397garyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestservices169, Guest Relations Manager at Hedley Wood Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2018

Dear 397garyg,

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We're pleased to hear that you've had such an enjoyable stay with us! Thank you for passing on all your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,
The Hedley Wood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

We stayed with our two children in a three bedroom caravan, even though the weather was awful outside we were lovely and warm thanks to the double glazing and central heating. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestservices169, Guest Relations Manager at Hedley Wood Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2018

Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to review our park, we're pleased you've enjoyed your stay with us despite the horrid weather! Thank you for passing on your comments about our team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Hedley Wood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

We recently visited the Headley Wood site for a week’s holiday in one of the comfort caravans but unfortunately due to the inclement weather decided to come home early.

Although the site and caravan were lovely the fact that even though our booking was for the third week in September the Woodland bar area was closed 24/7 so no meals etc., available and wifi was practically non existent throughout the site. Plus reception closed at 5pm so if anyone wanted to use the pool table in the evening it was impossible to do so as a deposit had to be paid for use of the cues. So these factors also contributed to our early return home.

Also the site is rather isolated so to travel to the nearest resort which was Bude took 20 minutes and hours to other areas. If you are looking for a place to stay and do nothing, then this site would be fine but even though we are senior citizens and like to take things easy, I don’t think we would stay there again, but look for a different venue on the east coast.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knitandc2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestservices169, Guest Relations Manager at Hedley Wood Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Dear Knitandc2018,

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. Thank you for passing on your comments about our park, we're sorry to hear that you had some bad experiences during your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

The Hedley Wood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We stayed in one of the safari tents. It was lovely not to have to put our own tent up. However, it wasn’t as pictured on the website. That picture had the tent pitched flat on the grass. The two at Hedley Wood were either up a fair few steps or up a steep slope. There was no mention of this on the website. I have multiple sclerosis and so would have appreciated knowing this before coming as I found it hard constantly going up and down. There was a wooden fence on the edge of the deck outside the tent, but I would have been terrified if I had a toddler/young child as they could have easily fallen through the gaps.

The tent was cosy and a fun alternative to normal camping. The bedding was really clean and warm.
The tent had plates/bowls etc but only one very small saucepan and a small frying pan so not easy to cook much. Apart from knives/forks/spoons there was no kitchen knives or scissors which would have been helpful.
Although we had bought washing up liquid, tea towel etc, I hadn’t even thought we may need to bring washing up bowl so we were caught short there, but reception really helpful and found a soft bucket we could borrow which was great.

The nearest toilets were up a very steep slope. Again, with MS this was really hard for me, and the other block was a long walk away (not great for MS either). The toilets were clean. There was toilet roll on the floor but that’s not the fault of the cleaners. We were reluctant to use the showers after previous comments about the cold water.

The shops was small. There were lots of toys but no basics like cartons of fruit juice for the mornings.

The site has potential but isn’t there yet. It is tired looking in places. It is evident there is lots of expansion going on but it’s a bit like a building site in places. The grass was very long so I was glad we weren’t in our normal tent. I’m not sure I would bring it here. It makes a huge difference having short cut grass, particularly when it’s wet.

Our puppy was very happy and enjoyed being given a bed to sleep in and dog food given on arrival which was a nice touch.

Overall, it’s a nice place for a short break, but I would like to see the place tidied up and looked like it was ‘loved’ if we were to return.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank Katherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestservices169, Guest Relations Manager at Hedley Wood Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Dear Katherine,

Thank you for taking the time to review our park and passing on your comments. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will take these suggestions on board. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
The Hedley Wood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Just arrived back after spending 4 nights at this camp site with our touring caravan. We were surprised at their park anywhere policy as other campsites we have visited are very specific about parking a caravan due to fire regulations. The toilets were disgusting and WERE only cleaned once a day, in fact on one day they were cleaned much later than the published time, and this was on a busy Bank Holiday. Toilets wouldn’t flush, taps were either not working or not able to shut off and a lot of the time no hot water. Water and toilet paper everywhere. The toilet facilities were inadequate for the size of site. Also we couldn’t believe where the chemical waste facility was located, right in front of reception and bar which involved walking all the way through the campsite to reach and it was uphill. The dog wash was a good idea but only cold water and nowhere to tie a dog to. The only good thing was the dish washing facility. Will definitely not recommend to our caravanning friends and will strike off our must visit again list.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank jackiepenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestservices169, Guest Relations Manager at Hedley Wood Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear Jackiepenfold,

Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We're sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable experience with us, thank you for passing on your comments, we will look into this situation further.

Kind regards,
The Hedley Wood team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews