We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Ranked #1 of 14 Holsworthy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My partner booked this as a birthday weekend getaway treat and all I can say is it's the best stay we have ever had anywhere to date! We were in a country suite in the main building, which looks like an old thatched pub. Very traditional looking on the outside with all the cosy feeling inside, complete with tasteful Christmas decorations! Our room had a small fridge and plates, cups, glasses, etc which we found very useful! The bathroom was huge with bath and separate shower and heated towel rail. We didn't use the bar or restaurant but they looked very inviting and were advised to book a table if we needed one, there is a leisure complex just behind the main building, free to guests, which we took full advantage of by using the indoor pool, jacuzzi and facilities several times. Opening times from 8.30am til 9pm. Great staff too. Nothing was too much trouble and we plan a return visit, there are bargains to be had on some websites. We can't wait to return for another relaxing stay! (Our mobiles didn't always work due to poor signal which added to the peace and quiet! ). There is a car park at the top and you have to walk down a very steep slope or you can park down the bottom, which is closer (but limited spaces due to owners parking). Reception rang on our arrival and the night before we left to check that all was ok and if we needed any assistance with bags in the morning. Bideford is a 15 minute drive away, Barnstaple is a 20 minute drive away. This is a great, get away from it all place to chill out and recharge your batteries!

Room Tip: Some suites have a balcony, you may have to ask if you would prefer one. We were at the front and co...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

We are delighted that you and your partner chose to stay at Woodford Bridge Country Club, and that you had a lovely time here! We’re pleased that you are planning to come back here for a return visit – we hope we’ll see you again soon!

Andrew Johnstone
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
There are newer reviews for Woodford Bridge Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 894 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Arranged to visit family in West Devon and stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom lodge accommodation. The property was excellent, clean and offered superb facilities. Would thoroughly recommend and look forward to next stay. As family were based in Tavistock we didn't get opportunity to sample restaurant as spending time with them. Staff on arrival and during our all to brief stay were extremely friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very happy to read that our staff were welcoming and friendly during your stay. We will look forward to seeing you again soon.
Andrew Johnstone
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I were on holiday from Oz. The advertising looked great and pleased to say it turned out to be the same In reality. We found the front desk, at all times was staffed by very helpful and kind people. We found nothing was to much trouble and in fact they did more than expected of them. We stayed in both an apartment (1 week) and one night in an hotel room. Both were decorated with style and for comfort. The room was serviced twice during the week. Ate at the restaurant one night . Enjoyed our food and thought we had value for money. It was pub food but it was good food. Again the staff always trying to please.
Yes, it is a little out of the way but that is what makes it quiet and peaceful. Less than 10 minutes to Holsworthy where you can get supplies or wine and dine. The small shop carried enough for late comers to be able to put breakfast on their table the next morning. We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad to read that our resort team went out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable.
We are happy to learn that you found our onsite facilities useful during your stay and also made the most of the local amenities. We will pass on your comments to the food and beverage manager to share with the restaurant and kitchen staff.
We hope you consider Woodford Bridge Country Club again in the future!

Andrew Johnstone
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We needed a break away on a budget and came across this place on tripadvisor. what a great place. It is so peaceful, the apartments are so well decorated and clean and had just aout everything that you need. We stayed 4 nights and still had a cleaner come in mid-way through - I thought she would just change the towels but she did a thorough clean. There is a restaurant on site but we did self-catering. There is a little shop to get some essentials but I would recommend bringing your own or going to a supermarket in a nearby town. The flat had a brochure which listed the local supermarkets, petrol stations and restaurants etc. There was entertainment each night which we didnt attend. The leisure centre had a brilliant swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna with good opening hours so I could relax after a long day out. You did have to take your own towels from the room though or pay £1 (which I wish I had).
Be aware that this place is in the middle of nowhere which is great for exploring both devon and cornwall. but the surrounding roads are fast and dark so you have to be confident. I'm not sure that there is anything within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We are really glad to know that you have found your apartment comfortable and that you enjoyed a relaxing stay - many thanks for your lovely comments! We are looking forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon!

Andrew Johnston
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My partner and I were really pleased with the Woodford Bridge Country Club for a recent short stay. We found the individual apartments superbly appointed with very high standards of decor and cleanliness. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the facilities, including the spa, were to a very high standard.
I would certainly stay there again with family or friends.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you had a lovely time at the Woodford Bridge Country Club. We really hope that you’ll get the opportunity to come back here for another visit – we would love to see you again!

Andrew Johnston
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here as a family in mid-October. We stayed here 18 months ago and had a great time, lovely apartment, great facilities and good food. However, this visit we left after only one night despite booking for three nights. We were telephoned the day before our visit to advise that the roads around the resort were being re-surfaced. Despite this, we decided to continue with our trip. When we arrived late on the Friday evening, we were told that we should book a table in the restaurant if we wanted to eat there. as it got very busy This we did. When we got into the restaurant there were around four tables taken. We placed our order - one item was off - it was only 7.45 - and as I said, the restaurant wasn't fiull. When the food arrived my husband and children couldn't eat theirs. I had a safe option of scampi and chips which wass't great but at least it was edible. We asked to see the dessert list - this arrived written on a compliment slip. We decided to leave before ordering.
The next dayl, after having spent a lovely day in Bude and Port Isaac, we returned to the resort feeling very tired. When I suggested we eat at the restaurant the family all agreed that we wouldn't be going there again. This meant a trip into Holsworthy to find a restaurant. The resort is in the middle of nowhere - which is not a problem if you have everything you need on site. We couldn't face a drive in the dark through country lanes to Holsworthy to find a restaurant only to then have to leave our car iin the main car park because of the road re- surfacing, which was going to start at 9 a.m. the following morning. We decided to drive home that night - by this time we were feeling totally fed up of all the inconvenience with parking and trying to find somewhere to eat. This should have been a relaxing break at the start of half term but felt more like an endurance test!
We wrote to Diamond Resorts to tell them about our experience. Unfortunately the resort manager couldn't be bothered to reply. My advice - don't bother to go!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patandpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

We are really sorry to read that your recent stay at Woodford Bridge Country Club was marred by your experiences at our on-site restaurant. Although the restaurant is operated through a franchise, we do hold it to the same high standards of service as all other aspects of the resort, and we were extremely concerned to read your comments in this regard. Please be assured that your concerns have been referred to the restaurant’s management team.

In addition to the on-site restaurant, our 1- and 2-bedroom accommodation is equipped for self-catering, and the resort will be happy to provide information about local restaurants and takeaway services if this is requested.

We don’t appear to have received the email you sent, and are extremely sorry that you’ve been given the impression that we had neglected to respond. If you do decide to resend it to either the resort or our customer services team, we will of course be more than happy to fully investigate your concerns and respond to you.

We really regret that you didn’t have a more enjoyable stay on this occasion, and we sincerely hope that you will give Woodford Bridge another chance in the future. We feel sure that if you do choose to return here, your experiences will more than exceed your expectations!

Andrew Johnstone
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed lodge and had a fantastic time. The lodge facilities were great the only slight problem was that the jacuzzi bath was broken. The accommodation was very clean and the weekly clean was really good. The spa facilities are excellent and the staff super, helpful and friendly. They all work hard but Alistair goes the extra mile making the activities for the kids fun, entertaining and inclusive. We will be back and others should try this fantastic venue.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

We are delighted that you had a lovely time at Woodford Bridge Country Club – thank you for your review! We’re sorry to read that you had problems with the Jacuzzi in your lodge, though: we encourage guests to let us know if they have any concerns about the accommodation facilities, as we’ll be happy to send a member of the maintenance team to investigate and assist. We are really pleased that this didn’t detract from an otherwise enjoyable stay, and that you’re planning to return here – we can’t wait to see you again!

Andrew Johnstone
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holsworthy
16.0 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
16.8 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
585 reviews
23.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,561 reviews
16.6 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
8.4 mi away
Leworthy Farmhouse
Leworthy Farmhouse
#2 of 14 in Holsworthy
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Bridge Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Bridge Country Club

Address: Milton Damerel, Holsworthy EX22 7LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Holsworthy
Price Range: $54 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodford Bridge Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an old coaching inn from the 15th century, Woodford Bridge Country Club provided food and shelter for weary travelers, yet, while a warm welcome is still guaranteed, the standards and exclusivity of the Country Club have changed somewhat over the centuries. The thatched inn, the focal point of Woodford Bridge, still provides sustenance for guests in search of a superb meal in the friendly surroundings of the bistro. The suites and lodges, which surround the inn, are a home away from home that help to ensure you have a remarkable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodford Bridge Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Bridge Country Club Hotel Holsworthy
Woodford Bridge Country Club Holsworthy, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing