We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacocks on window ledge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Ranked #1 of 14 Holsworthy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for to short two night stays in a different unit each time. Both were spacious, well-furnished and clean. The leisure centre was great, with squash/racketball, table tennis, a small but well-equipped gym, and a swimming pool. Staff were very frienfly and helpful.

In-house restaurant (The Coach House) was rather disappointing (reviewed separately).

The location is quite isolated and a car is essential but there are good walks within 30 minutes drive, including Tarka Trail (cycle hire also an option), SW Coast Path and others.

The units are on a steep hillside so you need to be able to get up and down or use your car.

Oh, and there are peacocks, one of which sat stubbornly on our kitchen window ledge one morning tapping for attention - presumably some guests feed them.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

767 - 773 of 910 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for my mother in laws birthday. we had three, two bed two bathroom cottages for our extended family. As we came over feb half term it was busy, but that was to be expected. The leisure facilities were fine, the kids liked the pool, I liked the steam room. The cottages however are the reason we all want to come back. It was freezing cold in Devon and the cottages were toasty warm. We had a recently refurbished cottage T53, the beds were comfy with nice duvets and everywhere was immaculately clean. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking utensils and even the washing machine had a drying cycle. Over all a great location with plenty to do and a nice clean, warm, well thought out cottage. Down sides if any? Bring your own pillows if you like firm ones, and your own sharp knives for cooking. Other then that they provide dish washer tablets for the dish washer and kitchen roll, bin liners and even washing up liquid!

Room Tip: T53,54 and 55 have all been refurbed, but are up a hill from the leisure centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahwarrilow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Woodford this weekend 22nd Feb for three nights with friends, we had one couple in an apartment and a 2 bedroom Tree tops lodge. The accomodation was very good and comfortable and ensured we had a relaxing time, the kitchen had all the facilities you would require for self catering. Our dissapointment was with the restuarant and bar facilities as we experienced two evenings where the food was sub standard and particularly on the first night when many other guests were also complaining, this I believe stopped some people from eating their for the remainder of the weekend. Although the evening meal on the Saturday was of the required quality and standard by Sunday we again were dissapointed with what we ordered. It was quite obvious that there was a shortage of staff and we and other guests had to wait to be served both in the restuarant and at the bar although the few staff that were on duty were pleasant and tried their hardest to cope. The Spa treatments were not available due to only having one person in attendance who was busy with a client so this needs to be taken into consideration should this be a treat you were looking forward too. Overall the accomodation was very good and the site itself was very relaxing and had all facilities been open then we would have had a much better experience. On reflection the self catering option would have been a better choice, I hope that the franchised bar and restuarant side of this resort improves to allow you to fully enjoy what Woodford Bridge has to offer. We also visited Bude and Westwood Ho and the fishing village of Clovelly whilst in Devon. I would definately visit this Country Club again but would need to be convinced that the food and service were to the required standard.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank playuppompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We regret to read that you experienced some disappointment with regards to the quality of meals and service at our onsite restaurant. These concerns will be addressed and handled internally
We would like to advise, however, that January/February are usually a quieter period for us and therefore it is the time when some of our team members decide to take their annual leave, leaving us with skeleton staff - we have experienced unusually high occupancy levels this year which may have created an impression of there not being enough staff. We apologise if this has caused you any inconvenience. If you are willing to give us another chance, we are extremely confident that your next stay with us will be much more enjoyable and even exceed your expectations.
It appears, nevertheless, that the rest of your stay here at Woodford Bridge Country Club was spent in a pleasant atmosphere - we sincerely hope to see you again!

Bridget Jenkins
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom Treetops lodges, up on the hillside away from the main hotel. The accommodation was reasonably spacious and very well equipped with everything you need for a self catering vacation. My only gripe with the lodge was the squeaky floor boards in the main bedroom, you couldn't creep to the en suite in the night without making a lot of noise ! - apart from that no real grumbles. The hillside is steep - if you don't like a steep climb back from the pool ask for one of the lower units. The pool is a good size, with steam and sauna and open from early to late - a small shop on site stocks most essentials and is linked to a local farm and team room stocking some of the farm produce. Great location for days out to Bude, Cornwall etc.... The peacocks and pea hens roaming the site is a nice touch, would be nice in the summer to sit on the terrace and watch the goings on. Overall a nice place to stay for a few days

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Woodford Bridge. On arrival we were greeted by pleasant staff who couldn't be more helpful. Our suite was beautiful, clean and very comfortable and the entertainment was a nice change in the evenings.
We were very much expecting a small appartment as a place to sleep but were pleasantly surprised by the facilities and entertainment offered. There was a variety of entertainment offered each night and staff were lovely and very helpful.
We received a courtesy call within an hour of being in the suite to check if everything was ok and each day after to check we were happy.
We couldn't have been more impressed with our stay and are hoping to return later in the year with a group of friends.
Perfect for families, but also amazing for couples who want a short get away in beautiful accomodation.
Fantastic trip.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

After the funeral of my Dad we decided to go for a long weekend to Woodford Bridge. It wasn't the best time of year to go (Feb) but we had such a relaxing time it was just fabulous! We arrived Thursday night and had a lovely meal in the bar. I'd brought groceries with me to do cooked breakfasts and evening meals (and extra goodies to nibble on!!). The apartment provided everything we needed. We stayed in 'Wren' and it was a lovely upside down apartment that was wonderfully fitted out, the open plan kitvhen/dining room/lounge was great as I could still watch TV and chat to my husband while I was cooking, then when I was on the settee drinking my wine he could still watch TV and chat to me while he was clearing up!!! The pool complex is just lovely! The jacuzzi is the best one I've come across (even better than St Davids in Cardiff!) nd the steam room was nice and hot!!. The pool is always at a constant temp of 30 degrees and often we had it to ourselves. If you have a chance go out of season = relaxation (aaahhhhh!!!!).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

We are really glad to read that we were able to offer you a relaxing break you so much needed. We are pleased that you have found everything you required in your apartment and had an opportunity to enjoy the facilities available on site. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you and your husband at Woodford Bridge again in the future!

Bridget Jenkins
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 4-day stay at Woodford Bridge staying in 'Heron' one of the 2 bedroom lodges. The accommodation was FANTASTIC - nicely decorated, spacious, spotlessly clean and had a sunny balcony and a covered patio area. All the staff were welcoming and friendly. The swimming pool was a huge hit with us all. I could not recommend the facilities highly enough. Thank you for a wonderful break!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend 'Heron' - detached, but within easy walking distance of pool and le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for this lovely review! We’re delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Woodford Bridge, and we hope we’ll see you again!

Kind regards
Bridget Jenkins
Resort manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holsworthy
16.8 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
593 reviews
16.0 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,795 reviews
23.1 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
409 reviews
16.6 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
5.4 mi away
The Bickford Arms
The Bickford Arms
#6 of 14 in Holsworthy
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Bridge Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Bridge Country Club

Address: Milton Damerel, Holsworthy EX22 7LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Holsworthy
Price Range: $34 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodford Bridge Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an old coaching inn from the 15th century, Woodford Bridge Country Club provided food and shelter for weary travelers, yet, while a warm welcome is still guaranteed, the standards and exclusivity of the Country Club have changed somewhat over the centuries. The thatched inn, the focal point of Woodford Bridge, still provides sustenance for guests in search of a superb meal in the friendly surroundings of the bistro. The suites and lodges, which surround the inn, are a home away from home that help to ensure you have a remarkable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Hotwire so you can book your Woodford Bridge Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Bridge Country Club Hotel Holsworthy
Woodford Bridge Country Club Holsworthy, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing