We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Ranked #1 of 14 Holsworthy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We admittedly had a great deal which meant that value for money was brilliant, but even at full price we'd have been pretty impressed.
We had a one bedroomed apartment which was very clean, spacious enough and very well equipped. The staff we met couldn't have been more helpful, in the bar and reception.
Would agree with some other comments, the food in the bar was OK and the approach to the apartment did smell a bit sanitary - but far better than smelling dirty and the smell wasn't in the apartment at all. Not sure why breakfast started at 10, but I was impressed that 'seasonal vegetables' meant just that -carrots, parsnips, cauliflower, broccoli and cabbage.
Didn't have time to try the facilities (which looked good) due to having to cut our visit short.
Overall very impressed indeed and look forward to returning, it's really convenient for visiting relatives on the north and south coasts.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for your review!
We are pleased that the standard of our resort has met, if not exceeded, your expectations and we are happy that you have found your apartment well appointed and the resort conveniently located. We believe that that it is the team as well as the standard of accommodations that makes the resort and we are very pleased to read that you have found our staff welcoming and helpful. We hope we will have an opportunity to be of service to you again in the future!

Kind regards
Bridget Jenkins
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 943 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just booked a one night stay here and will definitely becoming back, the staff, food and accommodation were excellent. If I had pick fault, and I am really picking here! We had to pay for towels as we weren't members. I find these little things slightly annoying, the country club goes out of it way to provide the best possible experience and then charge a small fee for something so trivial. That said I did not really mind as this place is just excellent, the food, sirloin steak was cooked to our perfection and they really looked after our children as well. A pepper sauce would have been nice but it was not a show stopper. The accommodation was big, clean, light and warm.
Finally the staff make this place, they were friendly and professional in both reception and bar/restaurant. In all this made a special break for our family celebrating my wife's birthday.

See you guys again, loved the whole experience, thank you

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here with my partner in an appartment, clean and modern decor with kitchen facilities, proper bathroom, spare linen, TV and IPOD docking station.

Not a typical b&b as its time share but an absolute gem. Facilities on site are good especially pool and sauna.

Cant wait for the next visit.

Room Tip: half board option in the restaurant is a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bessiebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

We’re delighted that you chose to stay at Woodford Bridge Country Club, and that you enjoyed your break here! We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return for another visit – we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Bridget Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Relatives were staying here so we booked a two roomed apartment for £54. The apartment was decorated well with comfortable bed, nice kitchen. Spoiled by the approach to it, the corridor was not very clean and a bit smelly. They has a super pool and leisure centre with Jacuzzi, wet and dry sauna and gym.
The breakfast was good and well cooked. The evening meal food was pub food lots of it and not well cooked.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have stayed here on two occasions, in Sep, 2009 & Apr. 2012, and have enjoyed immensely on both occasions.

The holiday cottages we stayed in were not the refurbished ones, on both occasions - I wonder if these are reserved for Diamond holiday owners? - but they were nonetheless clean, cosy & well equipped, if a little dated. The setting was lovely, with peacocks roaming the grounds, views of the hills & a river near the hotel. It was very remote but that was probably it's main charm - the downside being that choices for eating out in the surrounding area is limited, unless you wish to drive for miles...which means you're unable to have a drink (I wouldn't chance even 1, when navigating those dark, winding country roads!)

It's a good job then, that the hotel's bar & restaurant is great - the food is of a good standard, reasonably priced & the service was sweet & friendly. It had been refurbished since my last visit & seemed much improved generally - only problem is that it's not open very late but you just need to plan around that.

The facilities were good - used the pool etc but I don't understand why they still charge for Wi-Fi which is standard in most establishments these days - and the telephone reception was very poor.

Other than these few minor issues we enjoyed our stay & thought this was a very comfortable & convenient base for exploring the local area & would definitely return if in that part of the country again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonDebbieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your review – we’re really glad to read that you enjoyed the time you’ve spent at Woodford Bridge! The resort is undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment, and we hope that you’ll return here again in the future to see the changes.

We’re sorry to read your concerns about the Wi-Fi service, however. As you’re aware, Woodford Bridge is primarily a holiday ownership property, and as such we’re unfortunately not currently able to offer free Wi-Fi to guests. Most businesses can incorporate the cost of Wi-Fi provision into their pricing and so appear to provide a free service, but in order to do the same within a timeshare resort, these costs would have to be incorporated by increasing maintenance fees and rental costs accordingly, which would also charge those guests who didn’t use the internet.

We hope this issue didn’t mar your stay here last year, and we’re glad to read that you’d like to return to Woodford Bridge. We hope we’ll see you again!

Resort Manager
Bridget Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked Woodford Bridge on a last minute whim and I am so glad that I did. I work in Newcastle and by the time I finished, I did not arrive at the hotel until 22.50 and was both tired and in need of refreshment. I was met by a warm and friendly receptionist, who noticing the time and my tired look, booked me in with no fuss and directed me to the bar. The bar was most welcoming, a lovely setting with a huge roaring fire and excellently priced beers. The apartment I was in was quite lovely and comfortably suited my son and I. We had breakfast in the main restraunt the next morning and it was delicious, local produce and at a low cost that surprised me. We then did a tour of the hotel and were amazed by the facilities fishing, gym, pool, shop, boutique, function room with nightly entertainment. Over the weekend we did pretty much everything the hotel had to offer and had a great time. The bar was always warm and welcoming, the standard of food I the restraunt superb. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly and absolutely make sure you feel welcome. Overall we had a relaxing and entertaining time and most definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your review! We’re really pleased to read that our team helped make your stay at Woodford Bridge a memorable and relaxing one, and we’re delighted that you’d like to return here. We look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Bridget Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

i stayed in one of the self catering lodges just before christmas, and it was lovely.
Accomodation was to the point and good size kitchen, only issue would have been lights in kitchen could have been a brighter and I ran out of dishwasher tablets!!

Well equipped kitchen, lovely living room, always tidy. Had small issue with bathroom and rang housekeepign and it was sorted later that day.

Electrical charge acceptable - expected even!! No phone signal, awesome for what i wanted!

Ideally located to go out and about into Cornwall or Devon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshgwen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

We’re really glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at Woodford Bridge! We make every effort to resolve issues raised by our guests as quickly as possible, and we’re pleased that the bathroom in your allocated lodge was sorted out to your satisfaction.

We hope that you’ll come back here for another visit, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Resort Manager
Bridget Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holsworthy
6.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
424 reviews
9.4 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
4.4 mi away
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 14 in Holsworthy
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#6 of 14 in Holsworthy
13 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Hollies Farm Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Holsworthy
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Bridge Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Bridge Country Club

Address: Milton Damerel, Holsworthy EX22 7LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Holsworthy
Price Range: $25 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodford Bridge Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an old coaching inn from the 15th century, Woodford Bridge Country Club provided food and shelter for weary travelers, yet, while a warm welcome is still guaranteed, the standards and exclusivity of the Country Club have changed somewhat over the centuries. The thatched inn, the focal point of Woodford Bridge, still provides sustenance for guests in search of a superb meal in the friendly surroundings of the bistro. The suites and lodges, which surround the inn, are a home away from home that help to ensure you have a remarkable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodford Bridge Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Bridge Country Club Hotel Holsworthy
Woodford Bridge Country Club Holsworthy, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing