We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very friendly alas accommodation disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodford Bridge Country Club
Ranked #1 of 14 Holsworthy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked with my parents who are silver members for my 50th birthday 13 months in advance. My parents have stayed here several times and until this stay it was their favourite resort. Our property was Treetops, very tired and in need of renovation. The manager listened to the disappointment but was unable to upgrade due to full capacity. I would be very wary of staying again as recently when I enquired we were told they could not guarantee the type of accommodation. Due to this we booked elsewhere, pity as the surroundings and other accommodation looked lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We’re really sorry that you were disappointed with the apartment you stayed in at the Woodford Bridge Country Club. The resort is currently undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment, which will bring all the accommodation back to the standard that you have every right to expect from a Diamond Resorts property.

We want all our members and guests to be happy with their accommodation, and we’re very sorry that this doesn’t appear to have been the case on this occasion. Our front desk team will make every effort to provide an alternative apartment if our guests request one, although this will unfortunately depend on occupancy levels at the resort, and as you’re aware, the resort was fully occupied at the time of your stay.

Please be advised that accommodation at our resorts is only allocated two weeks before arrival, irrespective of when the booking was made. While we will do everything we can to fulfil accommodation requests made by our guests and members, this will also depend on occupancy levels at the time of you checking in.

We really regret that you didn’t have a more enjoyable stay on this occasion, and we sincerely hope that you’ll give us another try. We feel sure that if you do return to Woodford Bridge, you’ll appreciate the difference!

Resort Manager
Bridget Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 942 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We went to Woodford Bridge for a week and took my 82 year old mother. We had been before and knew that it was on a hill and so we had asked the resort to put us near the reception. Unfortunately, we were put half way up the hill in a unit with only one bathroom,(web site stated that 2 bed lodges had bath and shower room). This created problems for my mother as she was not happy at using the over the bath shower in case she fell. The resort did try to help by supplying a shower stool, which made her life easier, but it wasn't what we had asked for. The web site has since been amended, so this doesn't happen in the future. There were external steps up to our unit, which have no hand rails, so again getting up there was quite scary for her as she had to hold on to the wall, (not very pleasant after it had been raining) This lack of hand rails also extended to the steps leading down to the leisure centre. Ok on the way down , but not nice on the way up holding onto the wet walls.
We went to the restaurant on the first day, and discovered the light illuminating the steps outside the unit was not working. It was reported and by the time we had finished our meal, it was working again. However, this was the only time it did work for the rest of the holiday.
We had a decent meal in the restaurant, but my husband ordered a steak. On the menu, it was either a large or small steak with no weight stated. When it arrived, although he had ordered the large, it was very small. On enquring, apparently the small is 6oz, and the large is 8oz. Had this been written on the menu, he would not have ordered it. The flavour was very good though. The other meals were very good, especially the pork chop. It was fairly quiet in there with little ambience.
The leisure centre has recently been refurbished and is now very nice indeed. It had been painted white and grey. The sauna and steam room are both great. The spa bath has a strange layout of seats and could benefit from being a little warmer. The swimming pool was also quite warm. All in all a very good place to spend time.
Wooford Bridge is well placed to visit North Devon quite easily. A car is a necessity, and the small roads around are fun to drive down. We went to Ilfracombe, Clovelly, Bude, Lynton/ Lynmouth in our day trips.
The staff were all very friendly both in the reception area and in the leisure centre.
I would recommend staying here at Woodford Bridge, but just mind the steps!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clemi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We regret to learn that there seem to have been some issues with your recent stay at Woodford Bridge. We need to advise that Woodford Bridge is located on an uneven terrain, however we do have adapted accommodation for the disposal of our guests with limited mobility. Availability allowing, if we are notified at the time of booking, we will strive to provide our guest with these apartments. Our Special Requirements team can be also contacted telephonically on 08453590009 and should any of our guests feel they may require an adapted accommodation, ground floor location or auxiliary aids they will do their best in order to assist.
At this stage we can only apologise that on this occasion it appears that your mother’s requirements have not been met. We have of course referred the issues mentioned by you to our Maintenance manager and we believe that the Resort Manager has since been in touch with you.

We are pleased to learn that you have had an otherwise pleasurable stay and would recommend our resort. We have passed your kind comments to our Restaurant and Customer Service teams. We do hope that we will have a chance to welcome you again to our resort in the future.

Kind regards

Bridget Jenkins
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Woodford Bridge is a wonderful setting, and the staff are really helpful. The fully fitted kitchen allows one to self-cater, and relax as though being at home. However some of the implements in the drawers were broken, scissors with a detachable handle are awkward to use! But this is not the fault of the resort, rather it is due to the ignorance of the previous occupier. Of course it was rectified immediately, as was the shower when it ceased heating. Just bad luck I reckon, but remedied straight away.
This is a great location as a base to explore Devon and north Cornwall, with great facilities and a good on-site restaurant. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N-B-KingsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for this lovely review – we’re really glad that you enjoyed your stay at Woodford Bridge!

We’re sorry to read that you had some issues with the kitchen implements and shower in the apartment you occupied, however. We strive to provide an excellent standard of service to all our guests, and we’re delighted that our staff were able to assist you with these issues.

We’re pleased to read that you’re intending to return to Woodford Bridge, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Resort Manager
Bridget Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here Saturday 6th October. The room was quite hot on arrival but we managed to cool it down before sleep time, The bathroom was lovely! Great bath to soak in and very good shower. The room was quite light though not so great curtains other than that a nice place to stay for a good price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My partner and I booked last minute (3am to check in that day!). We had a lovely time here. The photos and their website just don't do this place justice. We had a peaceful, restful 4 night break and were really sad to leave. Receptionist was really lovely, (I think her name was Laura) and all staff were very friendly. Nice pool, sauna and steam room (first hour and last hour of the day are adults only), gym, restaurant and small shop which is ran by a local shop owner (lovely cakes and jams). Shop open 9-12 and 5-7 which is perfect for odd bits when you feel peckish. We stayed in an apartment, so had a fully functional kitchen (with washer/dryer) and this meant we could grab some shopping from the local Waitrose (in Holsworthy which is a 10 minute drive down one road - very easy) and cook dinner if we didn't want to go to the restaurant on-site. Clovelly and Bude Beach are 25/30 minute drive away and both are lovely days out. I'd say you'd definitely need a car to stay here, but highly recommend, even in the rain! Beware of the very friendly Peacocks that roam freely! All in all, a little gem - we plan to pop back at least once a year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HeatherBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We are Diamond members and have been visiting this resort over the last 10 years. We really enjoy coming to this resort, and find it a good base for the North Devon/North Cornwall coast. We have visited twice this year March and September, and have enjoyed both visits. You do need transport and there are no places to eat within a short radius, in our early days of visiting we used to go out in the evening to restaurants, but they all entailed quite a drive. We now take all our food to the resort and cook each evening, the kitchens are well equipped and all the cottages have dishwashers. There is of course the on site restaurant and bar which we do not usually visit we did on this last visit and we enjoyed the meal, the menu should cater for all tastes.
Over the years the resort has been constantly refurbished and as Diamond members we always ask for a refurbished unit, and would be annoyed if this request was not met as I have seen the resort advertised on hotel booking sites at reduced rates, below the costs of Diamond membership fees.
The hotel pool area has all been refurbished and this looks really good. The grounds are always well kept no matter what time of year you visit, and the resort is a quite and tranquil place.
The staff are excellent and they will always assist wherever possible, the units are usually cleaned a few times during the stay changing towels and bedlinens. We have never had a problem with cleanliness, the units have always been well kept, we have only once been allocated a unit that I would not stay in and we given a different unit, we do appreciate that at busy times we may not be able to change units, but we tend to visit outside the main summer season.
The resort also has a small number of disabled units these look to be good well placed units, on the flat area of the resort as the resort generally is set on a hillside, so you would need to request one of these units if you have mobility problems.
A resort to which we will keep returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenmoredevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This will be our second visit to Woodford Bridge and to be honest probably the last, even though we love the location and tranquility of the place. The grounds are beautiful and so well maintained. Sadly this doesn't apply to the 'houses'. Our last but one visit was 2 years ago when we felt the property we stayed in was well appointed with everything in it that we needed, although the furnishings etc were looking a bit tired. This time our accommodation was sadly lacking! The kitchen inventory bore no resemblence to what the kitchen actually contained in terms of utensils etc. Also the few items that were there were filthy. The lounge furniture was badly stained in some places and because I had my small grandchildren with me I spent the first day trying to clean the marks off one of the settee's before I wanted them to sit on it - although the cushions had been turned over so the sticky bits were underneath. On making my granddaughters bed one morning I pulled the bed away from the wall to tuck the sheets in and found to my horror a spiders 'nest' in the corner! I spent the next 2 hours hoovering. I realise that it must be very difficult to maintain a large number of properties and know how difficult it is for the housekeeping staff to keep everything 'up to scratch' as they are constantly working against the clock on change-over day, but if these properties were refurbished and updated they would be so much easier to keep clean and maintain. On a positive note the bed linen was beautifully clean and the beds are very comfortable. Also the leasure facilities were excellent and all the staff that we had occasion to speak to were very helpful, polite and professional.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sadgrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Owner at Woodford Bridge Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We’re really sorry to read that your recent stay at Woodford Bridge Country Club didn’t meet with your expectations. We’re really pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and found the staff helpful, however.

There’s no excuse for poor housekeeping, and we’re extremely sorry for the impression that this has given you. We expect all apartments at our resorts (whether refurbished or unrefurbished) to be cleaned and maintained to a consistently high standard – please be assured that your comments have been brought to the attention of the resort’s housekeeping staff.

We’re concerned to read your comments about the kitchen utensils in your apartment – the kitchen inventory is standardised across all our European resorts, and we’re sorry for any accidental omissions. Please be advised that our reception staff will be happy to provide additional kitchen equipment or utensils if our guests request them.

We’re sorry for the disappointment that you experienced on this occasion, and we really hope that you’ll decide to give us another try! We have a constant programme of improvement at Woodford Bridge, and we feel sure that if you do choose to return, you’ll appreciate the difference!

Resort Manager
Bridget Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holsworthy
6.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
424 reviews
9.4 mi away
Pentire Haven Holiday Park
4.4 mi away
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
Headdons Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 14 in Holsworthy
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#6 of 14 in Holsworthy
13 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Hollies Farm Bed and Breakfast
7.8 mi away
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
Barton Gate Farm Guesthouse
#3 of 14 in Holsworthy
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford Bridge Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford Bridge Country Club

Address: Milton Damerel, Holsworthy EX22 7LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Holsworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Holsworthy
Price Range: $26 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodford Bridge Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an old coaching inn from the 15th century, Woodford Bridge Country Club provided food and shelter for weary travelers, yet, while a warm welcome is still guaranteed, the standards and exclusivity of the Country Club have changed somewhat over the centuries. The thatched inn, the focal point of Woodford Bridge, still provides sustenance for guests in search of a superb meal in the friendly surroundings of the bistro. The suites and lodges, which surround the inn, are a home away from home that help to ensure you have a remarkable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Woodford Bridge Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Bridge Country Club Hotel Holsworthy
Woodford Bridge Country Club Holsworthy, Devon, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing