We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful bliss in country haven”
other travelers have booked this property
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Church Cottage Studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Breakfast can be served to you on your private dining deck
Church Cottage Studio
bespoke kitchenette
Its the one for you!
Luxurious King size bed
The perfect Cyber Detox Retreat
Sandymouth beach - a short drive away
View from the meadow
Dartmoor - a short drive away
Church Cottage Studio
The perfect Autumn/Winter  Retreat to two
Cosy nights by the woodburner
Sunset at Widemouth bay, Bude
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Holsworthy, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
langham9
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
“Peaceful bliss in country haven”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Church Cottage Studio was everything we had hoped it would be - a peaceful sanctuary from the busyness of life. Paula is the perfect host and has thought of everything to make your stay extra special - the quality of all the fittings is to the highest standard, from the 'pull out' kitchenette (brilliantly designed) to the walk-in rainforest shower to the luxury bed. We had the best night's sleep imaginable in plush linen bedding, waking to no human sound - just birds and the gentle rustling of leaves. The breakfast was stunningly good, served al fresco on the deck overlooking fields and woods, just like the picture. If you're looking for a touch of peaceful luxury, this is the place for you ...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Paul, thank you for such a fabulous thoughtful review, we are so glad that you said your stay was 'extra special' this is why we enjoy having lovely guests as yourselves come visit our little peaceful corner of Devon. We really appreciate your visit and look forward to your next when you need that relaxing break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter_Ed...
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage in a Beautiful Location”
Reviewed April 21, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Church Cottage Studio was ideal for a couple's get-away. The studio was clean and immaculately presented. The whole finish was definitely high-spec and luxurious, and the location was perfect.

The facilities in the studio were ideal for our 4-night stay. The bed was large and comfortable, there was a very clever kitchenette with cooking and tea/coffee making facilities, a fridge and a selection of utensils - not that we wanted to do any cooking, but it was nice to be able to make a sandwich.

Paula was an outstanding host; friendly and accommodating - always making sure we had everything we needed. The breakfast she served us was amazing too; quality, well-cooked food and plenty of it!

We'll certainly be visiting again and would highly recommend the Studio. Our only regret was that, as we were visiting family, we didn't get to explore the local area more, or spend more time just chilling out on the terrace, looking over the beautiful and relaxing grounds. Maybe next time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review of Church Cottage Studio. I am delighted that you have found somewhere to stay that is ideally situated for visiting family yet gives you the opportunity to relax and also spend some quiet time together. I look forward to your return later on in the year, when you come back to explore more in this wonderful part of Devon.
Kindest regards
Paula x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoe C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My partner and I arrived to a warm welcome from the lovely Paula, she welcomed us into church cottage studio with freshly made brownies and cream and showed us around and gave us lots of information on the local area. The cottage is amazing, had such a lovely time in front of the log burner with cheese and buicuits and a glass of red. The bed is so Comfy and we both slept so well. Double shower is also a luxury. Paula treated us to a amazing breakfast, we had honey fresh fruit etc then some yummy smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, set us up for the day. We cannot thank Paula enough for all the little extra special touches she puts in to making your holiday perfect, making our fire up for when we got home from a day out visiting family, also sending us on our journey home with some bite sized brownies :) we can't wait to come again in the new year and give breeze (the dog) another cuddle and stay at the wonderful cottage so many more places nearby to explore. Thankyou :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2016
Zoe and Sam, thank you so much for your kind words. I am delighted that you both enjoyed your Autumn break here at Church Cottage Studio with cosy nights by the Woodburner. You were such a lovely couple to host, I am looking forward to your return in March next year when you will have more time to explore this special part of Devon/Cornwall.
Kindest regards
Paula x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandamoo1...
Melton Mowbray
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“For the nature lover”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Excellent value for money. Exceeds expectation. Great service from booking to leaving. Made very welcome. Fabulous food in quality, taste and presentation.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Thank you for your kind review, it was a joy to meet you both and host you at Church Cottage Studio. I look forward to welcoming you back when you have time I your busy schedules to return and explore all that this lovely part of North Devon/Cornwall has to offer.
Kindest regards
Paula x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie P
2 reviews
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Everything about Church Cottage Studio is simply superb. The setting is stunning with beautiful views across the wild flower meadow and the woodland beyond. At night time star gazing from the decking was simply amazing together with the beautifully flood lit 300 year old oak tree made for a perfect evening. The attention to detail is second to none with very many thoughtful touches that make The Studio very special. The hosts, Paula and Kevin are perfect in every way - nothing is too much trouble. If you are the slightest bit interested in classic cars or cars in general then this is the place for you with some fantastic driving roads and Kevin will point you in the right direction along with his own classic cars. It was an absolute pleasure to spend time enjoying the beautiful surroundings and everything this special place has to offer. We are already planing our next trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Julie and Rodger, thank you for your lovely review of Church Cottage Studio. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your evenings stargazing on your private decking and the wonderful sight of the floodlit oak tree opposite. We are also pleased that, as fellow classic car enthusiasts, you discovered the joys of driving across the wonderful Dartmoor National Park and all that it has to offer in terms of breathing taking views and quaint Devon villages.
We are looking forward to your return trip in 2017, so have already started to plan some lovely driving routes for you along the amazing North Devon/Cornish coastline.
Kindest regards
Paula
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louy8773
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed August 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Which to praise first...? The perfect host? The glorious location? Or the stunning accommodation?
This was our second visit in a month and when you visit you'll understand why.
Paula and Kevin are impeccable hosts. The studio is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Having stayed in quality hotels such as The Savoy, I would rate this studio a higher class. Attention to detail is both impressive and overwhelming. Paula has taken great care in choosing furniture and finishing touches. Nothing beats sitting in the chaise longue, looking across the decking towards the meadow with a book in hand. The grounds ofChurch Cottage Studio holds a wonderful history and hearing how it has been restored makes it all the more special.

Location wise, it is a 15-20 minute drive to Widemouth Bay and its wonderful sandy beach. A short distance further and you can enjoy a traditional Cornish pasty in Boscastle. An hour and 20 minutes away is the Eden Project. So, it's a fantastic location to explore both Devon and Cornwall.

Breakfast is plentiful and is prepared to perfection. Nothing is too much trouble.

I simply cannot recommend Church Cottage Studio enough and I look forward to returning soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Wow, what can I say! Thank you so much for such a wonderful review X it was lovely to host you both again and to hear about your daily adventures as you explored this amazing region. I try to ensure that guests experience the very best hospitality, the kind that I expect to receive myself. So I am really delighted that you both appreciate everything that a stay in Church Cottage Studio offers in terms of atmosphere, location and that all important element of relaxation. I look forward to seeing you both again soon as you continue your journey of discovery around Devon and Cornwall.
Kindest regards,
Paula x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz A
1 review
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed July 21, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This place is amazing, within 30 seconds of getting out of the car we could feel all the stress of day to day life slipping away. Paula and Kevin are the most kind and thoughtful hosts we have ever met. The studio is luxurious and the attention to detail is out of this world. The breakfasts fit for royalty and the little touches throughout made us feel truly spoilt. We couldn't get enough of the stunning views and walking around the meadow, every time seeing something new, from dragonflies to deer. We had all good intentions to visit some of the many local attractions during the day but just couldn't bear to leave the place! This way surpassed our expectations and we cannot wait to return. Thank you Paula and Kevin for making our break just perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2016
Thank you for your great review. It was lovely to see you enjoying the views and simply watching the wildlife and walking around the meadow. Thank you also for your kind comments about the breakfasts and hospitality treats. Look forward to welcoming you back whenever you need to de-stress from day to day life.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing