We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting historical sight”

Necropoli di Cerveteri
Book In Advance
$698.33*
and up
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Cerveteri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Necropolis of Cerveteri A major centre of Etruscan civilisation that was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2004, the Necropolis stretches for more than two kilometres. This certainly makes it the most imposing in all Etruria and one of the most magnificent monuments of its kind anywhere in the Mediterranean basin. These monumental tombs are located inside tumuli, partly cut into the tufa rock and partly built over it. The purpose of theseedifices was to illustrate the desire of a handful of aristocratic families to make a statement about their wealth and to perpetuate a lifestyle of the highest quality also after death. This may explain the abundance of luxury goods found in these tombs, such as tableware made of precious metal, goldsmith’s work, illustrated vases, bronzes and pieces imported from Greece and the Near East, as well as weapons, belts, razors, buckles and jewellery. The interiors are eerily evocative, imitating the houses where their occupants spent their lives, with several rooms, shaped doors and windows, columns and pillars, beamed and coffered ceilings, furnishings, funerary beds and sometimes grave goods. It is also interesting to visit the tombs known locally as a dado(like dice), which describes how they line the streets of the necropolis in regular patterns, looking uncannily like a modern housing estate. Discover how the tombs come to life!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very interesting historical sight”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was a very interesting historical sight where you can enter the old Etruscan graves. In the area there are more than 1000 tombs from 9th to 3rd century bc. Some of the tombs are open to the public. We visited the place for only a little more than one hour on a shore-trip from Civitaveccia, but if you have more time I will recommend to spend a couple of hours looking around on this very special place, which also is declared a world heritage site by UNESCO.

Make sure to see the film about the Etruscans, which is partly in 3D. The film takes about 15 minutes and gives a good introduction to the Etruscans and the little we know about them.

The place looked nice and clean when we visited and there is a small cafe in the area.
Entrance fee 6 EUR (August 2012).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank heihenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Museo C, Responsabile reception at Necropoli di Cerveteri, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
Good morning,

We would like to thank you for the review and the visit.

Thanks again to Cerveteri-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    166
    32
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not open Mondays”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I was really looking forward to visiting this site at Cerveteri and checked information again before leaving Rome. Do not believe it when web sites say it is open daily - it is not. It is closed Mondays. Believe me, I travelled there today. Travelled there by train and had to wait over one and a half hours for a connecting bus (after just missing one). After a short visit around town returned direct to Rome by bus which was much easier and quicker overall.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank 07newt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Museo C, Responsabile reception at Necropoli di Cerveteri, responded to this review, May 2, 2017
Hello,

We are sorry that we could not visit, but in Italy all the museums and archaeological sites are closed on Monday.
We look forward to meeting you again in Cerveteri
Thanks, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
155 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Shady and secretive site”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We visited the site in spring and found it full of wild flowers. While there may not be the painted tombs of Tarquinia here, you will still have a lovely ramble, poking your nose into ancient tombs and enjoying the shady trees.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank louisageary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Museo C, Responsabile reception at Necropoli di Cerveteri, responded to this review, May 2, 2017
Hello,

We would like to thank you for your visit and review.
We are waiting for you again in Cerveteri.

Thanks, see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
482 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great diversion from Rome”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

What a perfect respite from the bustle and tourists of Rome. Stopped here on the drive out of the city and had a very relaxing time visiting such a wonderful and historic site. Be sure to catch the movie (they have it in English too) that gives you a nice overview of this place. Very much see this place if you have interest in archeology and history.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ozdess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Museo C, Responsabile reception at Necropoli di Cerveteri, responded to this review, May 2, 2017
Hello,

We would like to thank you for your visit and review.
We are waiting for you again in Cerveteri.

Thanks, see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful, interesting wander amongst ancient tombs”
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Necropolis of the Banditaccia in Cerveteri is an intriguing, peaceful and wholly interesting destination for travellers with even a small interest in history. The Etruscan necropolis sits on the edge of the ancient town of Cerveteri and is packed with mound and 'dice' tombs along two main paths with smaller curving paths off the main ways.

The gift shop/entrance is small but well stocked and the staff are friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. You are given a handy map with the most interesting and significant tombs shown on it, with your path clearly marked out both on the map and with red arrows along the route itself. Visitors are free to wander around and go into the tombs themselves. Each tomb is bare so don't expect to see treasures but the tombs are evocative and have a mysterious, peaceful feeling to them. You feel a bit like Indiana Jones when descending down the stone steps of a tomb and you're able to appreciate each one without having to deal with crowds. Take your time and enjoy the lovely, peaceful surroundings.

Take a packed lunch for a picnic under the trees and wear decent walking shoes with plenty of grip. And for any animal lovers out there, there were stray cats and a stray dog (all friendly!) near the entrance but the lady behind the counter assured me they are looked after.

We did a day trip from Rome catching a regional train from Termini station which took us to Ladispoli-Cerveteri train station in Ladispoli which, despite the train station's name, is not the same as the actual town of Cerveteri; Ladispoli is a small town close to Cerveteri. Two streets over from the train station on Via Gaeta is a bus stop where the local bus service will take you up the hill to Cerveteri. You will need to buy a ticket before getting on board. Once in Cerveteri, get off at Piazza Aldo Moro/Piazza dei Tarquini and either catch the shuttle or walk to the necropolis.

Alternatively, you can catch a CoTral bus to Cerveteri from Rome. The latter alternative is a much more straightforward travel plan as bus signs and timetables in this area are incredibly unclear.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Greenfairy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Museo C, Responsabile reception at Necropoli di Cerveteri, responded to this review, May 2, 2017
Hello,

We would like to thank you for your visit and review.
We are waiting for you again in Cerveteri.

Thanks, see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Necropoli di Cerveteri also viewed

Cerveteri, Province of Rome
Ostia Antica, Province of Rome
 
Canale Monterano, Province of Rome
 

Been to Necropoli di Cerveteri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing