We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome. Overpassed our high expectations”
Review of Hotel Chez Charles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chez Charles
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lumio
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome. Overpassed our high expectations”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the end of April. The hotel is incredible. Very clean, new and awesome service. Clearly deserves 5 star. We didnt go at a peak time so we got a very decent rate plus were upgraded to a superior room. Its 10 mins driving from Calvi where you have a great choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juju072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    114
    28
    10
    2
See reviews for
58
331
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We opened the shutters to find a stunning view of Calvi Bay spread before us in glorious sunshine with snow-capped mountains in the distance. Our room was on the road side of the hotel but good double glazing meant that we weren't disturbed by traffic noise - our air-conditioning was very good and posed no problems (see other review) The room itself was large, with a very comfortable bed as well as a leather sofa in a sitting area. The bathroom was smart with quality toiletries. Everything was immaculate in both our private rooms and the public areas of the hotel. The restaurant has a chef with a Michelin star, so as one would expect, this is not an inexpensive place to dine - but the menu degustation is worth every euro and an ideal way to celebrate my Birthday! The reception staff were particularly helpful and, if we were to be in Calvi in future, we wouldn't wish to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
116 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed 4 days during our fly-drive to Corsica. Lovely room with balcony and spectacular views of Calvi Bay. All very smart and ultra-modern. Bed sheets and towels changed every day. Michelin-starred restaurant with very expensive menus. We dined in on two nights. The service throughout is absolutely impeccable with a very high staffing ratio. Free parking and WiFi.
Should you require a less expensive meal option, there are several excellent restaurants in Algajola, just five minutes drive down the road, serving local cuisine.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for our honeymoon and were upgraded to a spacious room upon arrival. Amazing view of the bay and encircling mountains from the sit-out balcony. The bed was big and comfortable. Housekeeping was good, the rooms were clean. good quality toiletries. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Two things which bothered me were that the bath had a handheld shower only, and the air conditioning didnt work properly - which I found quite annoying. Fortunately, leaving the balcony door open brought down the temperature in the room sufficiently although it left us waking up to the sound of traffic.
The pool was lovely and has a sit out area as well which was very nice. There is also parking at the back of the hotel if the parking spaces outside are full.
Unfortunately, I expected a lot more from the Michelin starred restaurant. Ambiance, presentation and service was top notch. While my main was superb, my entree left a lot to be desired in terms of taste. Wine selection was good and dessert was fair.
The staff were very gracious and eager to please. When there was a problem with the hot water in the hotel [bank holiday and they couldn't find a workman to fix it], they offered us free breakfast the next day.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hksince2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited Corsica last year (2012) and stayed at the Chez Charles hotel it Lumio. Loved this place so much, the staff was great, the food was incredible and the room was a nice view onto the Calvi marina cost line. The only down side of this hotel was unfortunately, the bar in the hotel. It was always empty, no music and our waiter/bar person was cold and unfriendly, seeming like she wanted us to leave. We had one drink (15 euro for one drink) and drank it quickly to head back to our room. The advantage of staying here was definitely the pool and the restaurant, as well as Occi, the old ruins that used the be a small village. The path the see this wonderful place is right behind the hotel and this was a big selling point for us to stay at the hotel. We also had a bit of an issue with the transportation since we visited a lot of places along the cost, such as Calvi, Pigna (up in the mountains) and St Antonino. We didn't really have any choice but to pay for taxi rides wherever we went, but we did know of other ways to get around, such as biking (if you are the athletic type which we are not) or renting a car but I have had bad experiences with that as a traveler, especially because of the size of the roads in Corsica, they are very windy and narrow on cliff sides. But in all we loved the hotel and would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Ten minutes from Calvi airport, with a Michelin-starred restaurant and a free "honeymoon' upgrade to a 'Privilege' sea-facing room, Chez Charles ticks all the boxes.

Starting with the room, which is low-key attractive (wall-mounted TV, decent bathroom, high-end toiletries) and the view, which is full-on glorious. On the left, from the large balcony, snow-topped mountains behind the village of Lumio, across the still-green plain towards the Bay of Calvi and the sea. Very grateful for the upgrade, as the mountain side doesn't compare.

The service, from the owner Joseph Fondacci down, is quietly professional and comes, I think, from the standards set by the restaurant. We booked from the UK but were probably too buzzing from the wedding and flight to fully appreciate the €69 'Menu Fraicheur'. It's proper fine dining and goes up to €95 tasting menu.

The massive benefit staying where there's such a top-quality restaurant is that the breakfasts are spectacular. Don't be fooled by 'continental': this is home-made or locally sourced produce, served with elegance and attention. Yoghurt, fruit salad, cake, jams: all home made. Exquisite honey, great charcuterie and cheeses, delicious pastries, cakes and croissants: they even give you a cute timer to keep an eye on the boiled eggs you can lower into a 'bain' yourself! And truly great value at €19 as we happily skipped lunch twice.

We spent a long morning by the cool (and heated) overflow pool which, in high season, must be very popular. For us, in April, it felt like it was our own. There's a spa, too, which we didn't use.

In short, we couldn't have wished for classier, more welcoming start to our honeymoon. HIghly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea-facing definitely worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajqmarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent one week at the lovely Chez Charkes last July. The owner made us feel really welcome from the minute we stepped into the hotel. We stayed in a prestigious room ( you have to request walk-in shower if you want one) which was lovely and big with sea view and had a huge bathroom. The room was cleaned to a very high standard on a daily basis.

The breakfast was superb- we really enjoyed the homemade Yoghurts, the local jams and honey, the great selection of fruit, fresh breads and cakes.

The meal we had at the Michelin star restaurant was also a real treat!

I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a modern, relaxing hotel from where you can explore the Balagne region.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissyLUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumio
4.7 mi away
La Villa
La Villa
#1 of 30 in Calvi
410 reviews
3.9 mi away
La Signoria
La Signoria
#4 of 30 in Calvi
237 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Corsica
Hotel Corsica
#6 of 30 in Calvi
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
417 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Erasme
4.1 mi away
Calvi Hotel
Calvi Hotel
#7 of 30 in Calvi
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chez Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chez Charles

Property: Hotel Chez Charles
Address: Lieu dit tragone, 20260 Lumio, Calvi, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Calvi > Lumio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lumio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chez Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idéalement situé dans le pittoresque village de Lumio, entre Calvi et Ile Rousse. A 3 km de la plage du Matahari et 15 mn en voiture de l'aéroport de Calvi.Hôtel: de 29 chambres. Restaurant gastronomique L'Oggi (1 macaron au guide Michelin) et snack Le Salvi au bord de la piscine. 2 bars. Parking privé (gratuit).Restauration: petit déjeuner servi en chambre ou sous forme de buffet sur la terrasse du restaurant. Pour les clients en demi-pension, repas du soir servi au restaurant L'Oggi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Chez Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chez Charles Corsica/Lumio, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing