We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourism like in the 90's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Potamaki Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tourism like in the 90's”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for a week: 11-18 August 2013. The hotel is old and crowded and everywhere you go seems that there is not enough personnel to clean after all the guests.
Service: When we checked in we received a room at 1st floor, with a tree filling the balcony, with 2 beds instead of a double bed as we paid for.They changed it the next day cause the hotel was fully booked at that time. Breakfast is poor in variety and quality of food.
Locations: across the beach, divided by the local road that connects all the resort of the island
Rooms: the first room was crowded, with few space to walk between furniture. Bathroom small and with terrible lightning- a single bulb. The water has no pressure and it takes ages to wash- the water is cold or hot, never warm. Shower has a curtain that does not protect water from spilling the entire bathroom floor. The bathroom is so small that you can barely move in it, the door opens in the toilet seat. TV VERY SMALL, placed in the ceiling, with 5 or 6 Greek channels. AC is working.
room service: linens and towels changed every day- unfortunately they are thorn and used.
My advice is to look for another accommodation facility if you don't want to feel like in the Romanian hotels from the sea side in the 90's

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flavia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    71
    66
    20
    15
See reviews for
54
86
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and it really was everything we were looking for. A spacious room for the three of us, an ideal location just a couple of minutes from the centre of the village and across the road from the beach and a bus stop, plenty of choice at breakfast and efficent helpful staff on reception. The room was cleaned and bedding changed every day by friendly maids and unlike some hotels we have read about, the air conditioning and fridge in the room were included in the price. Both of those features were very welcome indeed as the temperature hit 35 degrees most days, as was the excellent pool area, which offered plenty of sunbeds and lifebelts and was a delight for all ages. Granted the TV was small but who goes on holiday to watch TV? Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Views might be great on the seaside front of the hotel, but entertainment often went on late, so tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wilko59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Breakfast is very poor, low quality food, slow service in the restaurant area at breakfast time, had to wait everyday for something. Wifi not easy to access and weak.
The Tv is small and the channels has verry poor signal.No light on balcony.
Floor filthy (wather from toilet basin drop on floor!!!); surfaces unhygenic (grub marks on remote control, light switches)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ottos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benitses hotels

Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Positive: the price was low, the central location of the hotel is good, we had a car rent and travelled a lot on the island, friendly staff members, nice lobby, great terrace and bar, the beach is across the road, picturesque panorama from pool side room, the dance nights were okay.

Negative: unfriendly manager (tall man). Old room. When we arrived I found a mat of hair on the floor near the bed :-S. Breakfast is very poor, low quality food, slow service in the restaurant area at breakfast time, had to wait everyday for something. Wifi not easy to access and weak, I joked and called it 'weak-fi'.

After breakfast when we went up to the room and we could hear the cleaning service from the corridor, very loud chatting with doors open and across the corridor - the room cleaning process sounded like a police investigation/room search in a detective film from behind our closed door.

All in all, I was hesitating between the 2/5 and 3/5 rates and as the hotel staff in general was kind, polite and helpful, more than what we experienced in other hotels, I decided to go for the Average rating, but I can understand those rating 1-s and 2-s who had a bad experience in the hotel.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view room and got a pool side room, with some view on to the sea. This afterall w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Róbert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here from the 15th July for two weeks, not the greatest hotel i ever stayed in, quite dated, breakfast was terrible but I suppose its what you are use to, caters more for the Eastern Europeans. The staff were lovely very friendly, the location was fantastic. The rooms were dated but spotlessly clean, were cleaned every day, the shower was great but very dangerous as the water spilt out all over the floor so a towel was needed to put down on the floor to stop you slipping. Overall though, I liked the hotel for its location and its very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liverpoolbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

beleive me ,it`s the best hotel with the best staff you will ever find !!! It is a familly bussines , and all of them are very very friendly,nice and kind ! I and my boyfriend ,everyday when we get out of the room and stay down with them,we feel like we are part of the familly as well. We are now very good friends with Giorgos and Viktoria from the bar ,we build one beautiful friendship that we hope will last forever ! No doubt,you could never find another hotel more nice than this one. The rooms are nice and clean,the pool it`s clean and lovely , the staff it`s great !!!!!! very happy to be there .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kehiaian_Cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I couldn't sleep more then 7am; much noise in the hallway.
The Tv is small and the channels has verry poor signal.
The internet connection works just near reception .. sometimes!
Food 2/5.
The staff were ok.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _CatalinV12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benitses
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
2.7 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Mirage Hotel
Le Mirage Hotel
#6 of 17 in Benitses
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Corfu Maris Benitses
Hotel Corfu Maris Benitses
#7 of 17 in Benitses
80 reviews
1.1 mi away
Corfu Maris Bellos Hotel
Corfu Maris Bellos Hotel
#14 of 17 in Benitses
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potamaki Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potamaki Beach Hotel

Property: Potamaki Beach Hotel
Address: Benitses Corfu, Benitses 490 84, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Benitses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Potamaki Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the most pictures hotels in Corfu, in the center of the village of Benitses an extraordinary combination of mountains and sea. This is a modern building with four floors, right on the seafront with spacious public areas, large terraces, swimming pool and spacious outdoor Areas. We are one of the hotels in Corfu with family atmosphere and care from generation to generation; Potamaki was founded in 1975 and was the first hotel in the area which played a very crucial role for development of tourism in the area of Benitses. Our long experience makes us to know how important these moments of pleasure and recreation are for our customers with our greatest priority is for them to have an unforgettable experience and enjoy the services of our hotel but also explore our beautiful island which is one of the greatest and greenest islands of Greece. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Potamaki Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potamaki Beach Hotel Corfu/Benitses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing