We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa Blu Hotel & Suites
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not 5 star”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Ditto all the last review but need to add that the beds are hard and hot water is limited. No hospitality trays so glad we brought our own kettle, the hotel is clean but even the pool has algae on the sides. The views are spectacular and the patio is perfect for late evening shaving a drink. Be aware that the gate form the hotel to walk to town is locked at approx 11pm, you then have to walk the long way round up a hill.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gurbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    17
    11
    9
See reviews for
18
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

i dont usually write reviews but feel like i need to warn anyone thinking of booking this hotel.
awful food i mean no food because as i do not eat meat i had no options but to walk away almost every night from the dinner and eat in the town. The breakfast wasn't any better: cheese, old eggs, bacon, old bread, even no real butter. I didn't really mind as i only drink coffee in the morning but once i heard some guy saying to the waitress: "this is my worst breakfast ever, ...and im 73 years old" lets this sentence say it all.
The hotel is understaffed, one waitress in the dinner, one receptionist which made you keep waiting and waiting every time you needed anything. I mean they are really nice people but 5* hotel cant be run by 1 receptionist which is never in the reception by the way.
Moving on: there is no wi-fi except for the small lobby area, really inconvenience if you want to get away for a week but keep an eye on your business back in UK
Old and small TV in the room with 14 channels and only 2 in english, leaking pipes, tiny shower, no minibar, and a safe which isnt really safe as the thief could take the whole thing with him as is not mounted to any wall. No gym, one small swimming pool with one CD playing the same songs all over again,
ohh and the beach itself, in the pictures it looks like its a beach hotel where in fact you need to cross a busy road to find a rocky, tiny coast with no a single sun bed - 5* i dont thinks so. Plenty of better options around and if you want a nice sandy beach, book a hotel on the other side of the Corfu- Pelekas, Glifadu etc. Stay away from this hotel if you expect 5*

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guest158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Benitses hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just returned from a really enjoyable 11 night stay. We read the reviews after we'd booked...and thought 'uh oh'. However we needn't have worried. Ours was a family holiday, 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Both rooms in our apartment lead onto balcony, two baths, fridge. Exceptionally clean - bed sheets and towels changed daily. Fabulous sea view. Quiet hotel and relaxing. No over crowding...no rowdy holiday makers. Plenty of sun beds around pool, bar always open, very friendly service.
We booked half board and enjoyed the much reviewed food. Perhaps the hotel have reacted to previous comments. Buffet style, with a Greek touch. Considering Greece isnt renowned for its food, it impressed my 'fussy eater' husband. Staff fabulous, especially the girls who look after you around the pool and restaurant.
Warning..Lots of steps.

Room Tip: Take one of the Ionian Cruises day trips. Boats leave from port 5 min walk from hotel. We did the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family and I (2 adults, two teenagers 17 and 13) have just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel. We stayed half board in a suite on the top floor. Two bedrooms (1 double, 1 twin), 2 bathrooms (spacious) and a large sitting area with balcony. Having travelled extensively across Greece and the islands, I can understand why it is rated 5* vs other eg 2, 3 or 4 star Greek properties. The challenge is when we compare it with what we expect from 5 star hotels across the rest of Europe and in that regard it falls down greatly.

Our very comfortable rooms were cleaned and towels replaced daily. Air conditioning worked brilliantly which resulted in some fantastic nights sleep.

Food was rather "samey". Breakfast pretty much the same everyday. Some rather unusual offerings at dinner (lasagne and Brussels sprouts perhaps the most peculiar combination!) - but tasted quite good. However, we ate out in the town (a short walk) a few times which helped break the monotony.

Plenty of sun beds around the pool - although the music was rather repetitive.

Lots of steps so not for the feint jearted!!

If you go expecting a 5 star hotel you will be disappointed. If you anticipate an upper market Greek hotel, you won't.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KazzaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Staff were nice enough. Rooms were basic, spacey and clean. Quite dated in appearance. Pool has great views of ocean, as do the upper 2 tiers of the rooms (remember that). Very relaxing vibe. Totally miss-represented by 5* claim. Food was sub- school dinner standard. Go to the local village (15 mins walk). Much better.

If it was marketed as a 2* the review would be positive. But don't claim to be something you are not!

Room Tip: Get a 2nd of 3rd level floor for more privacy and better views. Avoid ground floor. Dont pay extra f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Supposedly this is a 5 star hotel - which Last minute.com sold it as. It is not even 1 star, the whole experience was horrendous. The resort is virtually derelict, the hotel looks like a throwback to the 70's and is falling apart. The food was inedible, the so called 'suite' was a joke with no working air conditioning, the staff couldn't care less and the music around the very tired pool area was so loud you could not carry on a conversation with the person next to you. Do not under any circumstances book this hotel especially through Lastminute.com! We insisted on being moved after one night and had to pay more money to move to a 4 star hotel in a different resort, make sense of that?

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having booked before reading the reviews I thought it really couldn't be as bad as they indicated. It should be fantastic, five star, beautiful setting, but it was pretty bad. Food was worse. How can you ruin breakfast? Well try swimming the eggs in oil, running out of basics and only supplying hard 'plastic' bread for toasting. And in a country where the fruit is wonderful try serving unripe peaches and nectarines and tinned fruit salad to go with the Greek yogurt (which was good when available).
The staff were friendly and helpful but you kind of felt sorry for the whole set up. How could they only have about ten people staying with them when the rest of the town was buzzing?
The only thing I can add was that we were lucky, we were only there for a week another unlucky couple had booked in for ten days and had made the mistake of having an evening meal there!
If you think you'd like an empty pool you might go for this but when you're the only ones there the whole time it loses it's romance. Specially with minimal bar or snack service.

Room Tip: Go for either level three or one. We were level two, which meant going from 2 to 3 to go down to 1 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benitses
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kaiser Bridge & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Mare Hotel
Grande Mare Hotel
#16 of 17 in Benitses
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.1 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Potamaki Beach Hotel
Potamaki Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Benitses
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Blu Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Blu Hotel & Suites

Property: Costa Blu Hotel & Suites
Address: Benitses 49084, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Benitses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a perfect holiday with all the comforts choose your own suite in the most beautiful setting with magnificent sea views. The landscaped setting and feeling of privacy offers an atmosphere of relaxation that you can only find in "COSTA BLU." All our suites are spacious with their own verandas and sea view, over looking the gardens and facing the Greek Mainland. Besides the luxurious suites and wonderful sea view the Costa Blu Hotel offers plenty of facilities to make your holiday, one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Blu Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Blu Hotel Benitses
Costa Blu Hotel And Suites
Ionian Hotel Corfu
Costa Blu Hotel & Suites Corfu/Benitses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing