We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One barrel or two?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa Blu Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having booked before reading the reviews I thought it really couldn't be as bad as they indicated. It should be fantastic, five star, beautiful setting, but it was pretty bad. Food was worse. How can you ruin breakfast? Well try swimming the eggs in oil, running out of basics and only supplying hard 'plastic' bread for toasting. And in a country where the fruit is wonderful try serving unripe peaches and nectarines and tinned fruit salad to go with the Greek yogurt (which was good when available).
The staff were friendly and helpful but you kind of felt sorry for the whole set up. How could they only have about ten people staying with them when the rest of the town was buzzing?
The only thing I can add was that we were lucky, we were only there for a week another unlucky couple had booked in for ten days and had made the mistake of having an evening meal there!
If you think you'd like an empty pool you might go for this but when you're the only ones there the whole time it loses it's romance. Specially with minimal bar or snack service.

Room Tip: Go for either level three or one. We were level two, which meant going from 2 to 3 to go down to 1 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We got this on a 'secret hotel' from Last minute, and will never do it again! At best it's a 2star hotel.

Positive points: great views, large apartment, clean, good pool, friendly staff, air con.

Bad points: only the lobby/reception area is kept up to date, rooms are very dated, no minibar in rooms, cracked tiles, muddy seals round bath, towels had holes in them, we had 2showers in our suite, but to stand up in the shower you need to hold the shower head in one hand, no fixing brackets at head height?!! No wifi in rooms. We went half board, stayed for one meal in the eve and ate out for the rest of our 10 day stay. Eve meals are basic, we were put off by the tasteless fish, tinned vegetables. There is no choice in food, you arrive and get given what they've decided to cook. Hardly " a la carte" as advertised. We were asked the next day if we were eating there again, but they couldn't even tell us what was going to be for dinner. Breakfast is similarly poor, sometimes fresh bread, sometimes not, same with yoghurt. To start with we were given freshly cooked eggs, then when there were more people, we were left with rubberised eggs that were a few hours old and heated up. Very poor selection of breakfast food, squash, not juice, warm coffee etc... No evening entertainment, poolside drink were 5euros each, and awful English music playing whenever we went out, which they would not turn off, when we asked. The beds in the rooms have rock solid mattresses, which was good for my back, but bad for everything else that got pins and needles

If you have the misfortune of already having booked this hotel and you can't get your money back (like us) I suggest walking into Benitses and dining at Paxinos restaurant instead.

Everyone in Benitses knows Costa Blu is a rubbish hotel, having asked around, but the star system is self-governed so they've awarded themselves 5stars. Somehow. If we were going again, we'd book a bed and breakfast self-catering and eat out every night, and save about £500. Good luck!

Room Tip: Get one on 2nd level for a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jasonic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having travelled extensively throughout Europe and beyond, we are able to say with some confidence that the Costa Blu is the worst hotel in which we have ever stayed. Those who gave the hotel a grading of 5 star must share some of the responsibility for the disappointment which .all guests experienced during our stay. The large balcony and view is not sufficient to give a hotel a 5 star rating. Our room was only cleaned once during our two week stay, non of the advertised facilities were available, not even a bar or lounge in which to sit during the evening.
The food offered was appalling, cold, poor choice, no variation, badly presented with very few staff to cater for our needs. The cost of our holiday was increased as we had to eat out in local restaurants which were excellent, they indicated that their business benefited greatly from the many disappointed Costa Blu guests who chose to eat out.
Holiday companies should remove this hotel from their sites.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dearest1096421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked a week in this " 5 star " hotel but luckily managed to get transferred after one day ! The rooms are bearable but nothing else is , the food ( or lack of ) is absolutely shocking . The hotel is missing everything including - staff , entertainment and a bar that is stocked with drinks and opens the required hours. Basically it is nowhere near what you would expect from a 5 star. The only highlight of our stay there was a couple we met who unfortunately had to stay till there holiday was over.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonnieClyde503982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from Costa Blu and this is not a 5* hotel. We can't really add much more than the other reviews but to say Benitses is a lovely village and the people are very friendly. The hotel should be 3* just doing breakfast or room only.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lakesx2Cumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The suite was fine very clean and spacious, it had a great balcony looking out to the sea and the Greek mainland beyond, a 10 minute walk to Benitses, plenty of eating and drinking places there,
Like most people we only ate one breakfast and one dinner during the week we visited, we ate out in Benitses, this is a quiet area of Corfu which suited us, there is a small well run shingle beach just below the hotel which is accessed under the road, there is a great cafe and good sunbeds and shades for 5 Euros for 2, crystal clear water with safe bathing, Top tip take beach shoes, The Costa Blu is what it is you get what you pay for,

Room Tip: Levels 2 and 3 look over the trees for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms were very clean and very spacious.
Sheets and towels changed everyday, although some of the towels had holes in them and there were no slippers and dressing gowns as advertised.
Staff were very nice, but not enough of them.

Now to the big Gripe. I have travelled extensively and have never encountered such awful food. Not only was there a lack of choice, but there was usually only one vegetable which was boiled to death. The food was also lukewarm/cold. Dessert everyday was Melon & Jelly - enough said.
I made a point of going to the 'restaurant' everyday to see what was on offer. Needless to say we ate out everynight.

Would I stay here again ?
Yes if i could have Room Only

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessie211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benitses
3.1 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kaiser Bridge & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Grande Mare Hotel
Grande Mare Hotel
#15 of 17 in Benitses
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.3 mi away
Le Mirage Hotel
Le Mirage Hotel
#4 of 17 in Benitses
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
Potamaki Beach Hotel
Potamaki Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Benitses
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Blu Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Blu Hotel & Suites

Address: Benitses 49084, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Benitses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Price Range: $120 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a perfect holiday with all the comforts choose your own suite in the most beautiful setting with magnificent sea views. The landscaped setting and feeling of privacy offers an atmosphere of relaxation that you can only find in "COSTA BLU." All our suites are spacious with their own verandas and sea view, over looking the gardens and facing the Greek Mainland. Besides the luxurious suites and wonderful sea view the Costa Blu Hotel offers plenty of facilities to make your holiday, one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com so you can book your Costa Blu Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Blu Hotel Benitses
Costa Blu Hotel And Suites
Ionian Hotel Corfu
Costa Blu Hotel & Suites Corfu/Benitses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing