We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do yourself a favour...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lido Corfu Sun Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Please do not stay here! I have just returned from the worst welcome I have received in 30 years of travelling. First the hotel is more isolated than any review gives a sense of; a full 30 - 35 minute walk to first shop/taverna in Benitses. There was no obvious nearby beach and in either case the road is pavement -less, lightl-less and busy. More, I was shown to a tiny, dark small room with no seating, no balcony and a sea view only if you stood up to look out. I had to wait four hours to speak to manager who only shrugged that since I was a single traveller this was it! Maybe - just maybe - they could do something the next day.... I have never before changed hotel on holiday and advise you not to use here and avoid the stress of that first 36 hours!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
12  Thank jim2049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

A very well presented hotel, room was comfortable with a lovely balcony to enjoy the views over the sea, although there is a road in front of the hotel it really didn't bother us, that would depend on how noise sensitive you are.
The hotel is on the outskirts of the village, but only 3 euro to take the bus that is regular and reliable.
hotel staff are helpful and respectful and in typical Greek style - leave you alone to get on with your break.
breakfast was very basic, hope you like eggs. evening meals we enjoyed and a good selection of Greek meals, try the stuffed peppers. bonus was the fridge in the room.
husband and I travelled without our children for a weeks relaxation - perfect

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've just come back from a week at this hotel - it was excellent value for money, our room had marble floors, a vast marble balcony, and it was clean and fresh. Rooms have en suite shower rooms, and a fridge and air con. It was quiet at night, and we slept well. The breakfast is basic, but perfectly acceptable (good bread, real butter, sliced cheese, jam, eggs, cereal and fruit were available).
It is a small - medium sized hotel (about 30 rooms) and is not in a huge, faceless resort, but is in Tsaki, just out of Benitses, it is situated beside a road, which, like most roads in corfu, probably is not ideal for walking along if you have small children, but for two adults it was not a problem!
There is a bus stop about twenty metres from the hotel, where you can catch the no. 6 bus into Corfu town. (There are also buses which go to the south of the island from the other side of the road, to Mouratika etc) The bus to Corfu town costs E2 per person, and once in the town, you can catch buses which will take you all over the island. (They run till 10pm) Corfu town itself is beautiful, it feels like a continental city, with a lovely mixture of greek and french architecture... lots of nice shops, and lovely places to go for food or coffee!
Next to the hotel there is the Arokoria Taverna, which has a well kept outdoor seating area, the rabbit stifado here was delicious, as was the seafood salad. The owner is very hospitable, and it is a pleasant place to eat, sitting under a grape vine, surrounded by beautiful flowers and fruit trees!
About 3km down the road in Benitses itself, there are lots of Tavernas overlooking the sea. We ate in many of these, and never had dissapointing food! The local corfu specialities of Sofrito and Pastitsada are delicious, as is the fresh seafood. Benitses was once a popular destination for 18-30s, but has now reverted to being quieter.There is a small supermarket there, and car hire etc, although we found the buses an easy and relaxing way to travel.
The hotel has a nice outdoor pool, and a poolside bar, but this was mainly used for serving coffees and cold drinks - although it was not always open, staff were happy to come out and make coffees etc as required, but as it was not open late at night, there was no noise from late night revellers, which we appreciated! Overall, this is a great, comfortable base from which to explore Corfu, it feels very safe, was great value for money, and I would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SW1973_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel had clean, basic rooms with air conditioning and a fridge. The shower head did not fit into the overhead fixture in the bathroom so we had to 'hose ourselves down' in the shower. We had a small balcony with beautiful sea views. The pool was clean but the poolside bar was only occasionally open, probably because there were few other guests. The staff were friendly and the food at the restaurant was very good but the restaurant closed after our first night as it was near the end of the season. Although the hotel is only about 2 km away from Benitses this is down a very busy, dangerous road with no footpaths and lots of tight corners, described by a local taxi driver as "the worst road in Corfu". I would recommend getting the bus. The beach is very close to the hotel, it is a pebble beach and the sea is very clear and quite warm. The Arokaria Taverner next to the hotel served good food but had a limited menu due to it being nearly end of season. This hotel is fine as a quiet place to relax and enjoy the views and sunshine but is perhaps a bit too isolated if you want to explore more of Corfu.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ToonAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

the staff and the manager were very friendly and helpful, our room was clean but basic needed a kettle, the sea view was fantastic! the pool was great, on the downside this hotel does not cater for english breakfast, its the usual spam etc,also the hotel is further than suggested from benitses to far to walk and on a very busy/dangerous road, also the beach entrance is not so close as stated and still involves a walk on the busy road (15 mins) would recommend hiring a car or motorcycle, the akorkari taverner was excellent and very friendly

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank beller078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This is a lovely hotel, its location is a 25 minute walk into the centre of Benites, or you can catch a bus opposite the Akorkari Taverner, the hotel was very quiet as are most of the resorts on the island due to the economic probs, the breakfast was basic, but that was ok, all rooms have air con which is free , they have fridges in the rooms, but could have done with a kettle to make a drink, there is no bar in the hotel, except the poolside bar which serves drinks 10am-6pm, would be better if they did snacks, no food at all.
Peter the Manager is a really nice guy, very pleasant.
Also the couple who run the Akorkari Taverner further up from the hotel on the same side, are lovely, the food is excellent, all home made cakes, (try the orange cake) the Taverner has a lovely homely feel, and is spotlessly clean,and you will get a great welcome from Alexa the dog.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lesley_ashcroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2004

Lido Corfu Sun is located 2 km out of Benitses village and 15 km north of Corfu town. If you don’t have a car – a must if you want to enjoy your stay in Corfu - there is a bus stop very close to hotel. The hotel has large and very clean rooms with air-conditioning, TV and fridge. Ask for a room with sea-view. The hotel also has a big swimming pool, a bar and a restaurant. Breakfast is excellent with coffee, milk, juices, eggs, cheese, ham, bread, cakes etc. Staff is very friendly. For the price we paid (30 € per room, per night with breakfast in September) it is really a bargain. Highly recommended to everyone looking for a comfortable and quite place for relaxation and Corfu sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank manasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benitses
1.3 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,476 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.5 mi away
Karina Hotel
Karina Hotel
#13 of 17 in Benitses
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Corfu Maris Benitses
Hotel Corfu Maris Benitses
#5 of 17 in Benitses
87 reviews
14.8 mi away
Corfu Sea Gardens
Corfu Sea Gardens
#11 of 14 in Kavos
453 reviews
1.4 mi away
Potamaki Beach Hotel
Potamaki Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Benitses
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Corfu Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Corfu Sun Hotel

Address: Tsaki, Benitses 490 84, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Benitses
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Benitses
Hotel Class:3 star — Lido Corfu Sun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lido Corfu Sun is a 3-star hotel situated in the popular resort of Benitses. The hotel is only 31 m from the beach, but also offers a nice pool area with sunny terrace. The hotel has 52 simply decorated but comfortable guest rooms. Each room has private bathrooms, air conditioning and a balcony, many of which have sea views. A buffet breakfast is included in the room rate and during the summer this is served on the terrace. The restaurant is also open during the day and night and serves a good selection of Mediterranean dishes including many local specialties. The Lido Corfu Sun enjoys a great position in Benitses; there are many tavernas, bars and shops within walking distance. The hotel is also close to a bus stop, ideal for exploring the island of Corfu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lido Corfu Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Corfu Sun Hotel Benitses

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing