We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“made our holiday”
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fiscardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the almyra in july. We holiday in Greece every Year but this was our first time to fiscardo. We can't wait to return possibly next year and will definitely book the Almyra again.
The hotel is in a beautiful location as not in the town centre and so very relaxing and peaceful. It took us 10 to 15 minutes leisurely walk to fiscardo and I am not a fast Walker.
Elina and her staff are the best hosts, they make you feel like it is your home. We had one of the delux seaview rooms which had a wonderful balcony and great views.
I think whichever room choice you make you're onto a winner as you are so well looked after and the terraces, pool, lounges and breakfast area are immaculately kept.
Thank you Elina and everyone there for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helenHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Almyra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The owners are wonderful. Fab location. Beautifully decorated. Simple breakfast, but lovely. It's like a home away from home. Would definately stay again. Fiscardo is fab, cosmopolitan and classy. It reminds me of Italy but with Feta :). Tassia restaurant was also our favourite place to eat. And the beaches...WOW!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber1970 HP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Greetings to all trip advisor's readers! I am a Greek doctor who has spent several years in Houston, TX, USA and has travelled all over the world for business and pleasure purposes. I first visited the island and stayed at almyra hotel almost a year ago. I was captivated!!! It was a memorable experience. The hotel and its amenities are simply thumbs up. The location is breathtaking! The personnel will try to satisfy all your needs and will always carry a smile on their faces . But above all , the key to this wonderful hotel's success is it's owners, Chronis and Elina who runs the establishment.She is a lovely young businesswoman who has really invested her soul on her hotel. Spend some time with her and she will capture your heart. Ever since my first stay i have revisited the hotel three times and i intend to keep on doing it . Take my word for it ... It is really worth visiting the island and staying at almyra. It will be an experience you won't forget. And remember.. The family runs Tassia's restaurant in Fiscardo which is simply the best restaurant on the island and one of the most prominent in Greece. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikolaos t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed for 1 week at the end of June. As others say it's a 10 minute walk to Fiscardo where there are plenty of bars and restaurants - it reminded us of St Tropez. The hotel does a shuttle as it's an uphill walk although only takes about 15 minutes.
Owner Elena extremely friendly and Tassia's her sister in laws restaurant by far the nicest in Fiscardo.
The hotel is very clean and all staff are lovely and helpful - air con is very welcome too in the rooms as are the fridges where you can buy your own things to keep cool.

Alcohol price is good, wine and local beer not too bad cocktails, spirits a little more expensive. The weekly BBQ is very good but so much food so be prepared! Recommend doing a boat hire trip around the beaches and bays, and the ferry trip to the islands both good value and allow you to see a little of the area.

Would recommend the hotel highly and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: We had a side room which still had a lovely sea view and was quiet think it was 210. If you opt for...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsMelissaHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just got back from a 7 day trip to kefalonia and spent our first 4 night's at the almyra . Would definitely recommend. The sea view from the rooms are amazing as is the location for breakfast The staff could not have been more helpful The location was perfect for us as is a short walk into fiscardo and to the beach whilst affording amazing views This is the first time i have written a review as was so impressed

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rebecca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at the Almyra between 19th June and 2nd July. We stayed in room 112, which had the most spectacular views, definitely a must to have a sea view room. This was the first time we had ever been to Kefalonia, and I would say that Fiskardo is definitely the most beautiful place to stay on the island. The hotel staff...what can I say, they are the most friendly, caring, kind and helpful people you could ever wish to meet. Elina, the hotel manager, who's lovely two children came to the pool every afternoon. Elini, who drives the minibus into town every evening, and Elena who waitresses at lunch time and by the pool bar. Even the maids/breakfast staff recognised us in the town, waved and said hello. These people really made us feel welcome into their hotel, it was more like being part of a family. There are only 25 rooms in this hotel, however you are not a number at this hotel. Seriously, on leaving here Elina came and gave us a hug and kiss, we really felt at home here.
If you do not want to use the minibus service (which is really good), it only takes about 15-20 minutes MAX to get into town (not as long as some people make it out to be)...we even managed to beat the minibus!
We booked a hire car for two days through Elina, at the hotel. Which by coincidence the company which it was booked with was one that our friend Maria (Roula's Grill) worked at. We felt that two days was enough to visit the attractions that appealed to us. On our first day we visited the Melissani Lake and Drogarati Caves. You must must do this, they are both so truly beautiful and amazing. It was 7euro each for the lake and 5euro for the caves. They are both stunning and a must see visit on this island!!! On recommendation from Elina, we carried on to Sami for a spot of lunch, on to Antisamos beach...wow. This beach is so beautiful, with its crystal clear water and pure white pebbles. There is a beach restaurant and cafe, with free sunbeds..but you must get there early. However we found it comfortable enough lying on the pebbles, once you get a good groove :).....i also brought a beach mat from the first supermarket as you walk into Fiskardo for 3.50euro, which was a great buy.
You must also visit Myrtos Beach, stop at the pull in above the beach for breathtaking views. The beach is lovely, however the sea can be quite choppy and cloudly on this side of the island, which was not good anyone wanting to snorkel. On coming to Myrtos you must have lunch at the Alexander restaurant(in the little village of Divarata, which is on your right as you turn to go down the track to the beach. It is family run, with cheap but amazing food. We had spaghetti bolognese (5euro) and Spaghetti with tomato sauce (3.50 euro) abosulte bargain, and delicious!! Great home cooked food!
We stuck to 4 resturants during our stay.. Tassia, Roula's Grill House, Apagio and Irida's. All of which are amazing in their own way. I don't understand why people have said that the food is expensive in Fiskardo, as we found it to be very reasonable.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room.....waking up to such beautiful views are a must!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at the Almyra for two weeks from the middle of june. Had a wonderful stay in a sea view room ( worth the extra) with views out to sea and Ithica. Having been to Kefalonia about 10 years ago we found this to be the best part of the island, quiet and relaxing just what we wanted. Fiskardo is a 15 minute walk down to the harbour from the hotel and 20 minute back, although as previously mentioned the hotel run a mini bus service down and back. The harbour is a wonderful place to relax and watch the world go by, plenty of good places to eat and drink at reasonable prices. Nothing seems to much trouble for the locals.
The hotel offers a good selection at breakfast of fruit,yoghurt,cereal,bread and cooked breakfast. Again nothing was to much trouble for the staff who made our holiday very enjoyable,and I would just like to thank them for that.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a quiet relaxing holiday but probably not suitable for young families.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil1076955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiscardo
0.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
509 reviews
11.0 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
300 reviews
24.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fiscardo
189 reviews
28.0 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Address: Fiscardo, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Fiscardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fiscardo
Price Range: $154 - $1,057 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Almyra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing