We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever!! - Wonderful staff and beautiful area”
Review of Almyra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Almyra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fiscardo
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!! - Wonderful staff and beautiful area”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at the Almyra between 19th June and 2nd July. We stayed in room 112, which had the most spectacular views, definitely a must to have a sea view room. This was the first time we had ever been to Kefalonia, and I would say that Fiskardo is definitely the most beautiful place to stay on the island. The hotel staff...what can I say, they are the most friendly, caring, kind and helpful people you could ever wish to meet. Elina, the hotel manager, who's lovely two children came to the pool every afternoon. Elini, who drives the minibus into town every evening, and Elena who waitresses at lunch time and by the pool bar. Even the maids/breakfast staff recognised us in the town, waved and said hello. These people really made us feel welcome into their hotel, it was more like being part of a family. There are only 25 rooms in this hotel, however you are not a number at this hotel. Seriously, on leaving here Elina came and gave us a hug and kiss, we really felt at home here.
If you do not want to use the minibus service (which is really good), it only takes about 15-20 minutes MAX to get into town (not as long as some people make it out to be)...we even managed to beat the minibus!
We booked a hire car for two days through Elina, at the hotel. Which by coincidence the company which it was booked with was one that our friend Maria (Roula's Grill) worked at. We felt that two days was enough to visit the attractions that appealed to us. On our first day we visited the Melissani Lake and Drogarati Caves. You must must do this, they are both so truly beautiful and amazing. It was 7euro each for the lake and 5euro for the caves. They are both stunning and a must see visit on this island!!! On recommendation from Elina, we carried on to Sami for a spot of lunch, on to Antisamos beach...wow. This beach is so beautiful, with its crystal clear water and pure white pebbles. There is a beach restaurant and cafe, with free sunbeds..but you must get there early. However we found it comfortable enough lying on the pebbles, once you get a good groove :).....i also brought a beach mat from the first supermarket as you walk into Fiskardo for 3.50euro, which was a great buy.
You must also visit Myrtos Beach, stop at the pull in above the beach for breathtaking views. The beach is lovely, however the sea can be quite choppy and cloudly on this side of the island, which was not good anyone wanting to snorkel. On coming to Myrtos you must have lunch at the Alexander restaurant(in the little village of Divarata, which is on your right as you turn to go down the track to the beach. It is family run, with cheap but amazing food. We had spaghetti bolognese (5euro) and Spaghetti with tomato sauce (3.50 euro) abosulte bargain, and delicious!! Great home cooked food!
We stuck to 4 resturants during our stay.. Tassia, Roula's Grill House, Apagio and Irida's. All of which are amazing in their own way. I don't understand why people have said that the food is expensive in Fiskardo, as we found it to be very reasonable.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room.....waking up to such beautiful views are a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    38
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
50
158
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Ferriby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at the Almyra for two weeks from the middle of june. Had a wonderful stay in a sea view room ( worth the extra) with views out to sea and Ithica. Having been to Kefalonia about 10 years ago we found this to be the best part of the island, quiet and relaxing just what we wanted. Fiskardo is a 15 minute walk down to the harbour from the hotel and 20 minute back, although as previously mentioned the hotel run a mini bus service down and back. The harbour is a wonderful place to relax and watch the world go by, plenty of good places to eat and drink at reasonable prices. Nothing seems to much trouble for the locals.
The hotel offers a good selection at breakfast of fruit,yoghurt,cereal,bread and cooked breakfast. Again nothing was to much trouble for the staff who made our holiday very enjoyable,and I would just like to thank them for that.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a quiet relaxing holiday but probably not suitable for young families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil1076955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Reading other reviews here and looking at the hotel website gives the impression this is a nice boutique style hotel which is recently refurbished. In reality it probably hasn't been refurbished in 20yrs or so. The room was clean but spartan, as was the breakfast (bread, jam, cereals and greek yogurt). Let's just say the photos on their site paint it in the very best possible light. 60-70euros a night would have been the fair price, we paid around 100.

By the way, the hotel is not in Fiscardo. Fiscardo village is a 20-25min walk (not 10min as it says on their website-unless you run) along an unlit road which doesn't have a footpath. I wouldn't recommend walking. It's also steep downhill so on the way back would take quite a bit longer. We had a car so it was ok. The hotel does operate a minibus a few times a day there and back but if you don't have a car keep this in mind.

Overall I think you can do better than this in the area

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gordongecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at The Almyra for two weeks at the start of June. We loved the hotel and Fiscardo and are determined to return. This is by far the most beautiful part of the island. We spent our first 10 days exploring the local area on foot, plenty of good walks to do and it is the best way to find the smaller hidden beaches. We covered the rest of the island by car and, although lovely elsewhere, Fiscardo remains our firm favourite. The sea in this part of Kefalonia provided the clearest snorkeling conditions I have seen anywhere and there is an abundance of marine life to explore. Despite being a small village there is plenty of choice around the harbour for eating and drinking and something for all budgets.
The staff at the hotel could not be more helpful and if they didn't know an answer to your question you can be sure they would find one.
The walk back and forth from the hotel to Fiscardo provides a good chance to work off some of the wine drunk at the harbour side but if that's not your cup of tea then the hotel mini bus is for you and from what we saw this is a popular service! It is quite steep on the way back up.
Probably not the best hotel to take children to though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just back from the Almyra. We stayed there four years ago and it is still as good. We stayed in a superior room with amazing views. The service at the hotel from Elina and her staff is excellent- nothing was too much trouble- one of her team even made several phone calls late in the evening to try to identify a bird we kept hearing!!
Minibus into Fiscardo is great for coming back after dinner and rooms are spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. Plenty of sunbeds around the pool as a lot of guests seem to go off exploring- we just chilled!!
Worth contacting the hotel directly for a good room rate.
Would highly recommend if you would like to stay in a friendly, family run hotel with a lovely pool in a great location.

Room Tip: Better to pay a bit extra for the fantastic sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susieg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a lovely hotel - not a lot of room so very peaceful - we went out of term time tho - welcome drink was complimentary - not just a bland "cocktail2 but whatever you wanted
We had a superior room which was worth the extra - full sun for a big part of the day and very large balcony Beds a little firm but thats Europe!
Breakfast was simple but all ingredients on the cold buffet were of good quality - lovely pasties excellent OJ and stunning greek yoghurt - just a couple of hot options but I personally dont like a cooked breakfast in a hot climate
Very clean and tidy
There is a short walk 10 mins down to Fiskardo about 15 mins back - its a hill not Mt Everest so don't panic!
Staff very friendly but not instrusive or pushy

Room Tip: Book direct via the website - was cheaper for me than going via a portal Sunvil holidays have a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kulevet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel is charming, very clean, with very good atmosphere, food ( in the hotel and also in Tassia restaurant ) and such a beautiful view ! Thanks to Elena and all the staff of Almyra Hotel: they all looked after us and always had a lot of attentions : we had a wonderful, relaxing and happy holiday, better than we could ever expect. We fell in love with Fiscardo and with Almyra Hotel...we'll go back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiscardo
0.5 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fiscardo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dafnoudi Hotel
Dafnoudi Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
15.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
22.3 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almyra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almyra Hotel

Property: Almyra Hotel
Address: Fiscardo, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Fiscardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Fiscardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Almyra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Almyra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almyra Hotel Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing