We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emelisse Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emelisse Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Fiscardo
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

Having read the many reviews of this hotel on tripadvisor, I was a bit concerned that my expectations wouldn't be realised, however I was impressed. It helped that we received an upgrade to a maisonette with sea view/shared pool (the benefit of booking when the kiddies have gone back to school perhaps?) but overall my husband and I were really impressed.

The hotel has a very distinct style without being too much of a theme, it is cool, it is very 'boutique' and certainly not a place I would bring children too, crikey no way. The views are breath taking and it does command one of the best positions on the island.

Our accommodation was great and we really appreciated the level of maid and turn down service, little touches like providing ice and lemon every night, washing the floors every morning all done with a smile.

Fiscardo is a sweet place, catering purely for the tourist. The restaurants, and there are many, served pretty much all the same menu to similar standards and after a while it got a bit too the same.

A word of warning though, Fiscardo has no pharmacy and if like us you didn't hire a car, the nearest one is 10k away. The owner (who seems to have narked a lot of you) was very helpful and arranged for a member of staff to go and buy what it was we needed - free of charge.

The hotel food was good, fresh and tasty and if you didn't go mad worked out the same price as a meal in Fiscardo.

Overall although far from cheap the Emelisse delivers.

  • Liked — Quality, presentation and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALSLLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    103
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
99
294
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

Hotel ambiance is very pleasing, very "boutique" however have to agree with fellow reviewers who found hotel owner to be very uninterested in his guests. We felt we were intruding in his home, and whilst his staff were very polite and friendly their service was most definitely not 5 star and did not match the style of the the hotel. This we felt was mostly due to them being thoroughly overworked. The same few staff on morning , lunch and dinner. Around the pool area once you had their attention there was no hanging around you had to get your order in quick before they turned their back on you. The hotel lacks a really nice Aperitif area in the evening. The only place there seemed to be was by the main reception but we always had to go a find someone to serve us. The availability of the hotel shuttle was always excellent and we were always made to feel we could use it at any time. The rooms are good, though the mini bar was not always replenished, and EVERY time you open the balcony door or front door the air conditioning goes off and you have to physicaly reset it. In all this is a lovely location if you are already sailing into Fiskado, maybe island hopping, and not really a family hotel.

  • Liked — Boutique feel
  • Disliked — Air conditioning in rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LizzieWindsor_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

Almost perfect - has quite spoilt me for other hotels. I was here for a week with my husband and teenage daughter. We had one night in 2 standard rooms which were small but perfect followed by 6 nights in a family suite with 2 bedrooms,2 bathrooms,2 balconies and a kitchen/living room. The suite was situated in a small villa type block with about 5 others. The block had its' own pool which was fab. The suite would be a better option for a longer stay. The views from this hotel (particularly the main pool area) defy description.
If you are looking for a genuine Greek experience then this is probably not for you - this is a trendy luxury hotel which, when you are cocooned inside, feels like it could be located anywhere. Don't be put off by this though - we were able to find the 'real Greece' in the surrounding villages. There are a number of good tavernas practically on the doorstep - we found these preferable to the hotels' restaurants which were, as you would expect, pricey. Overall, a wonderful relaxing experience. If you appreciate aesthetics then this is the place for you,

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buenasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2007

My husband and I booked this holiday for our anniversary, when we arrived we were met by friendly & efficient service, there is a feeling of calm & tranquility around the hotel. We were escorted straight to our room by the owner of the hotel - who was extremely attentive & had great attention to detail which is noticeable throughout the hotel.
We loved our room it felt very spacious, the bed was very comfortable, we had a ground floor junior suite with shared pool - worth it if you can afford it.
The location of Emelisse is fantastic.
We found the staff to be very polite, they all worked very hard to provide excellent service to the guests, we never had to wait long for anything.
The breakfast was wonderful - homemade carrot cake to die for.
Lunch in the restaurant was great - we didn't think it was expensive for a 5 star hotel.
We ate most nights in Fiskardo - the resort is charming and feels exclusive - you can spend an evening just people watching, if you want good tables by the water best to book the day before.
We tried Irada's, Tassia, the Thai & Votos - all were good.
Hotel operate a great bus service into Fiskardo.
If you are looking for peace & relaxation in a fantastic location - you couldn't beat this place.
Another point worth mentioning is that everyone we spoke to at the hotel raved about this place and in fact most people were returning customers or were planning to return next year - like us.....

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TracyN44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

My wife and I stayed here at the start of August. Everything was first class, the service, the rooms and the Greek restaurant. We booked Bed and Breakfast, ate three nights in the Greek restaurant and one night in the large restaurant-which we didn't enjoy as much. Nothing really wrong with this, except we could been anywhere in the world-except for the wonderful views of course. It is down to choice but for us the service at the Greek restaurant was the best we have ever experienced-anywhere. Everyone was very helpful and very pleasant. I would suggest this hotel to anyone but be aware of the wasps. Not really a problem,just eat after dark when they go to bed. If they become a problem for you,ask the staff for a pot of burning coffee beans!

We had a shared private pool, which we used along with the main pool-which we found never too busy. We would go back tomorrow, but a hire car is needed to get around. We had a taxi transfer to and from the airport. The return trip was bad, driver on his mobile phone while driving along the cliff top at top speed. Besides this, go and enjoy but try and chill as quickly as possible.
MJG Kent.

  • Liked — The high standard
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MJGKentUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

If your thinking about booking this hotel please think again. This hotel is in a beautiful location but this is the only thing it has going for it. Fiskardo is plagued with wasps constantly flying around you everytime you have something to eat or drink. The hotel staff werent too friendly but the manager was down right rude and wasnt happy on the Sunday when we were there that we complained that the son of his friend stood at the side of the pool and had a wee! The breakfast was basic and the food and drinks in general expensive. I would definately not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — wasps and lack of customer service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
14 Thank LondonRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks and overall felt the Hotel was a great place to relax and recuperate. I did get food poisoning on the second night but this didn't ruin my holiday. We chose to go half board for 8 nights booking 2 blocks of 4 nights so we could have a break from the hotel food, at 25 euro's each this was great value. Vosalto the a la carte restaurant was very good but the menu felt limited after a while. Yes the service is slow as said by others but for me this was the pace of the hotel. The view from Vosalto must be one of the best in Europe, stunning views. Our room was adequate and again our view was just outstanding. I would recommend getting a room with a shared private pool as the main pool was always busy and Im not one to get up at the crack of dawn just to reserve a lounger. Our pool was fabulous and more often than not we had it completely to ourselves. I would recommend our room 106 as it is in the first block, very quiet with the best uninterupted views and close to everything. My wife and I had 2 treat ments at the spa and were impressed.
There were more kids than expected and i felt sorry for some of the younger ones as the hotel really isn't deisgned for kids - more for adults.
The bit i will remember about the Emilisse so fondly will be the staff. The staff were courteous, friendly and always helpful. The staff work very long hours and I felt they were always consistent which must be hard in 45 degrees!

STP Bristol

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — wasps
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pen-cut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiscardo
0.5 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#1 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fiscardo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
17.5 mi away
Petani Bay Hotel- Adults Only
1.4 mi away
Dafnoudi Hotel
Dafnoudi Hotel
#5 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emelisse Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emelisse Art Hotel

Property: Emelisse Art Hotel
Address: Emblissi Bay, Fiscardo 280 84, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Fiscardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Fiscardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emelisse Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTELSituated above Emplisis bay overlooking a unique painting of nature, this resort is hidden out of sight, among cedars and cypress trees. From an architect’s point of view a finely tuned pallet of multicultural influence creates an environment of high aesthetics and post-modern design. Space consultant Sophocles Maraveyas has combined an ambience of serenity with original pieces of furniture and local architecture elements. Note that this is the only establishment in Greece to use teak wood items to furnish rooms, all painted in subtle pale shades, and decorated with pictures from artwork photographer Tatiana Karapanagioti, highlighted by the cleverly hidden support lights.HOTEL LOCATIONHotel is located above Emplisis bay, close to the picturesque port and fishing village of Fiskardo, which is within close proximity; it will take not more than 15 minutes to reach, walking distance. The hotel lies just 1h 15m away from Cephalonia airport and the ferry port of Sami is just 50 minutes away. It is 60klm from Poros port, your destination port if you travel from Kyllini. It takes less than an hour to go to the capital of the island, Argostoli. Many magnificent beaches to choose, closest is just 100m far from the reception area.HOTEL FACILITIES & SERVICESCatering services could not be an exception to the quality that characterizes all the services offered. • Welcome cucumber water and iced towel on arrival• Two swimming pools, sun beds, pool towels, shower• Children swimming pool• Pool bar• Lobby bar• Indoor restaurant• Riza restaurant with Greek traditional and local delicacies• Votsalo restaurant, an open kitchen restaurant serving special Mediterranean flavors• All day room service• Laundry service• Business services, business center, meetings up to 50 people, audio visual equipment• Event facilities, church for wedding and Christian ceremonies• DVD selection• Book Library• Early check in upon availability without charge• Late check out upon request/ availability; until 14:00 free of charge, until 18:00 30% surcharge on the room rate, after 18:00 100% charge• Fitness room, fully equipped, free of charge• Complimentary shuttle bus service to/ from Fiskardo village• Water taxi service• Transfers upon request (private taxi transfer)• Porter service• Parking area, up to 25 spaces, 100m far from the reception area, transportation is done by club cars• Tennis court (rackets and balls are provided by Reception free of charge)• Baby sitting upon request, baby monitors, baby chairs, baby cots• Elemis Spa• Billiard, free of charge• Gift shop• Playground• Scuba diving• Boat trips to the islands of Lefkada, Ithaca, Scorpios, Meganisi with our brand new speedboat Princess V50• Speedboat, private daily cruises• Bicycles, are available for hire, free of charge• Cinema is available without charge, by the reception area• Excursions to villages, beaches, sights with our brand new and luxurious Mercedes Viano!• Daily cruises to Perantzada Hotel• Car Rental arrangements• Wireless Internet access• Club cars’ transportation within the hotel area, from/ to the Emplisis Bay• Hairdresser upon request• Housekeeping is provided twice a day• Special evenings every week (Greek night, Pizza night, Barbecue)• Weekend events for children, Spa treatments, sport events, yoga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emelisse Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emelisse Art
Emelisse Art Fiscardo
Emelisse Hotel Kefalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing