We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel by the Sea”
Review of Emelisse Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emelisse Art Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fiscardo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is an extremely good hotel set in beautiful grounds. Breakfast is everything you could wish for, although their coffee gets nil points, too weak.

The staff, and I don't mean just the front desk, are exemplary, always smiling and going out of their way to ensure that their guests felt at home and relaxed.

So whats the set up? there is a main building housing the main foyer, relax lounge, front desk and such like. Breakfast is served upstairs.

Your rooms are set in separate buildings in the grounds. The gardens are beautiful, well laid out, with stunning views out to the sea and Ithaca beyond.The whole complex is much larger that I had originally imagined, with a good-sized fresh water pool, excellent covered bar with plenty of nice chairs and tables. Below the swimming pool terraces you have the sea, with plenty of rocks and safe paths down to the smooth rock bathing and rock loungers for those who like that stuff.

Fiscardo is about 15-20 mins easy walk downhill, you don't have to walk but we just have to walk for the pleasure of it, to the slight bemusement of the staff who would drive you - most people opted for the latter. We rented a scooter for ten days from the guys half way down the hill and this as usual transformed things as we were then free as air in the day, although leaving it in the evenings when we walked to town, there and back, although the solicitous staff were usually on hand at the front gate to electric cart us back to our room even then.

All in all we had a brilliant holiday, with very many thanks to all, especially the ever cheerful guy on the electric cart!


*I had some reservations about the "art" tag but there are a few pieces of this and that here and there to give some visual perspective and interest, nothing bothersome like a Henry Moore. There are some large local echidna type sea fossils which I found of interest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phillipos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Emelisse Art Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 508 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Have just returned from my second holiday at the Emelisse Hotel. I had stayed there 8 years ago with my late husband and two other friends and had loved it so it was lovely to return with my stepson and his wife and their two children a boy aged three and a half and a little girl aged 6 months.

The hotel was exceptional 8 years ago and if anything has become even better with added facilities such as the wonderful spa etc.

The surrounding scenery of this hotel is exceptional with stunning views over the island of Ithaca.
We had a family suite with two adult double bedrooms and an interconnecting sitting room with sofa bed which my grandson loved. The baby was supplied a cot and slept in her parents room.
We had a lovely terrace overlooking the sea and beyond which was a delight to wake up to every morning.
The staff are exceptional and were so good and friendly with the children. Nothing was too much trouble. I am on a gluten free diet and am dairy intolerant all of which were catered for so I had no worries at all. The food is very well presented and delicious and children"s portions and needed well catered for. The smoothies and coffee at the bar by Norby were one of our morning highlights after a swim.
There is a children's pool at the tip of the adult pool which makes life so much easier and there are lots of loungers around all areas with another adult only pool on another terrace so there is something for everyone.
The hotel is located just above the delightful village of Fiskcardo and a little bus service is run from the hotel during the day and evening down to the village which again is so convenient if you decide not to rent a car there. Fiskardo is full of tavernas and shops and boats moored up and is like a Greek St Tropez only alot nicer!
Both my daughter in law and I had treatments in the spa with Satiris Zaharatos who is a masseuse and also a psyiotherapist and both treatments were exceptional and left us floating on air.
There is also a little beach within five minutes walk of the hotel which although pebbly is very good and the water there is a fabulous turquoise colour and makes for great snorkelling.



Overall any negatives? Just that the wasps which inevitably surround you when you have food and drink are very annoying but hey take your wasp spray, antihistamine cream just in case and also use the hotels method of smoking coffee beans as a deterent and you should be OK.

Would we go back - yes and I can highly recommend this hotel to families, singles and couples and I have been to many top hotels around the world and this one stands out as one of the best for me.

Room Tip: if you have young children with you then best to get room with interconnecting sitting room and terr...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1,234,186,338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just got back from the emelisse hotel. Beautiful on the outside but inside not so good. The rooms are definetely not worthy of the 5 stars. We changed rooms 3 times, the beds were very hard i spent my first night on the chair in the room. We were brought small matresses to try and help but the first was very stained the second better but that night there was a horrible smell coming from the bed so i gave up. Also the top sheet was stained. We were moved to a larger room and this time the sofa cushions were used to try and help with the problem and they did, the only trouble now was that there was a baby crying upstairs in the above room. Our lovely view was also gone! We were moved again to room 3 that was alot better but we did have to share a balcony with next door so there was no privacy between these rooms. The decor needs updating and i think for a very expensive hotel there should be complimentary drinks available. The horrid plastic rugs need to be removed as they look dirty and are dangerous.
On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful.
It would be a very peaceful location but there were lots of children staying so perhaps not as romantic as it looks.

Room Tip: luck of the draw really but none worth the money we paid and we sampled 3
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed our week here very much.
The hotel is well laid out with beautiful landscaping. It has over 60 rooms but you never feel you're in a big hotel.
The rooms are a decent size, clean and with comfortable beds. We had a balcony with a sea view.
Breakfast was in the main building and had a good choice of hot and cold food, and very tasty muffins. There is a choice of several different areas inside and out where you can eat breakfast.
There are several different areas where you can sit. we especially liked the area down by the rocks where bean bags and a hammock are provided for comfort. the sea in September was still warm.
The pool area was lovely too with staff on hand for drinks and snacks.However the pool water was much colder than the sea.
There is an infinity pool near the main reception, near a bar and outside screen where films are shown in the evening.
The hotel provides a free shuttle bus into Fiskardo, and the use of push bikes or kayaks if you wish.
All the staff we met were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: First floor rooms seem to have a better view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel although the room was a little on the small side and quite dark but it was very clean, the bed, linen etc. were good quality and we slept well. The overall feel of the hotel was excellent and we found the staff to be generally quite helpful. There is a small stony beach close by and you can swim and sunbathe on the rocks at the hotel or by the pool is that's your inclination. The sea is wonderfully clear although a little chilly (July). There is a good gym, tennis courts and a pool table. The breakfast was OK, not a great deal of choice. The restaurant was disappointing but then I have yet to experience fantastic food in Greece or on any of the islands! The hotel is well located for Fiscardo and the hotel operate a free shuttle to the port. There is an abundance of restaurants and bars on the port we enjoyed a couple of reasonable meals and endulged in crepes.
Overall a nice hotel in a reasonable location and food on a par with our experience of similar establishments in the Greek Islands.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

really great location and we were upgraded to exc junior suite with shared pool.
the rooms are dark and cold but clean.
we have experienced 5 star hotels all over the world and this hotel does not understand 5 star treatment but expects you to pay the price. 5 star is all about service and care and they do not get it. never were we asked if we would like a drink at the pool. the breakfast buffet is poor and the same every day + erratic service never asked once if we would like more tea or coffee. there is a a la carte breakfast menu but after 4 days we did not see it finally I asked and was greeted with surprise, so I ordered something and with a cool look was asked did I know I would be charged yep but that was not a problem.
take a wet suit for the pools not one is heated and are extremely cold and not nice to use.
in general they lost big time because we spent less and less with them simply because they have no structure and direction, plenty of staff but not a clue, when at a 5 star hotel and at the pool I dont expect to have to get up and walk to the bar for service.
so emelisse take a look at an Oriental Hotel to understand a classic 5 star operation.
be warned about babies and children if they annoy you dont go here, sorry famalies.

Room Tip: dont have a garden room book a sea view room without shared pool as pools are cold and you dont get...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here, with our three kids, just for 24 hours, on our way to the south of the island. We thoroughly enjoyed the friendliness of the staff, the quiet location, the unobtrusive layout of the hotel, the spacious room, but most of all the pool with its annex bar and restaurant (both serving good food at reasonable prices).
The only downside was that they have a small parking and let guests park across two spaces... so we had to leave our car on the public road. Also, they could do more to get rid of the annoying wasps. (And yes, there may be some loud kids in and around the pool, but that depends on their parents, not the hotel.)
Warning: Google Maps reports the wrong location for this hotel, it is not in Fiskardo, but north of the village at Emplisi (or Emblissi) beach (I have suggested a correction).

Room Tip: Check the offers for the Junior Suites.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJCella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiscardo
0.5 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
252 reviews
11.1 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
300 reviews
24.9 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
189 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ionian Emerald Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emelisse Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emelisse Art Hotel

Address: Emblissi Bay, Fiscardo 280 84, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Fiscardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Fiscardo
Price Range: $216 - $819 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emelisse Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTELSituated above Emplisis bay overlooking a unique painting of nature, this resort is hidden out of sight, among cedars and cypress trees. From an architect’s point of view a finely tuned pallet of multicultural influence creates an environment of high aesthetics and post-modern design. Space consultant Sophocles Maraveyas has combined an ambience of serenity with original pieces of furniture and local architecture elements. Note that this is the only establishment in Greece to use teak wood items to furnish rooms, all painted in subtle pale shades, and decorated with pictures from artwork photographer Tatiana Karapanagioti, highlighted by the cleverly hidden support lights.HOTEL LOCATIONHotel is located above Emplisis bay, close to the picturesque port and fishing village of Fiskardo, which is within close proximity; it will take not more than 15 minutes to reach, walking distance. The hotel lies just 1h 15m away from Cephalonia airport and the ferry port of Sami is just 50 minutes away. It is 60klm from Poros port, your destination port if you travel from Kyllini. It takes less than an hour to go to the capital of the island, Argostoli. Many magnificent beaches to choose, closest is just 100m far from the reception area.HOTEL FACILITIES & SERVICESCatering services could not be an exception to the quality that characterizes all the services offered. • Welcome cucumber water and iced towel on arrival• Two swimming pools, sun beds, pool towels, shower• Children swimming pool• Pool bar• Lobby bar• Indoor restaurant• Riza restaurant with Greek traditional and local delicacies• Votsalo restaurant, an open kitchen restaurant serving special Mediterranean flavors• All day room service• Laundry service• Business services, business center, meetings up to 50 people, audio visual equipment• Event facilities, church for wedding and Christian ceremonies• DVD selection• Book Library• Early check in upon availability without charge• Late check out upon request/ availability; until 14:00 free of charge, until 18:00 30% surcharge on the room rate, after 18:00 100% charge• Fitness room, fully equipped, free of charge• Complimentary shuttle bus service to/ from Fiskardo village• Water taxi service• Transfers upon request (private taxi transfer)• Porter service• Parking area, up to 25 spaces, 100m far from the reception area, transportation is done by club cars• Tennis court (rackets and balls are provided by Reception free of charge)• Baby sitting upon request, baby monitors, baby chairs, baby cots• Elemis Spa• Billiard, free of charge• Gift shop• Playground• Scuba diving• Boat trips to the islands of Lefkada, Ithaca, Scorpios, Meganisi with our brand new speedboat Princess V50• Speedboat, private daily cruises• Bicycles, are available for hire, free of charge• Cinema is available without charge, by the reception area• Excursions to villages, beaches, sights with our brand new and luxurious Mercedes Viano!• Daily cruises to Perantzada Hotel• Car Rental arrangements• Wireless Internet access• Club cars’ transportation within the hotel area, from/ to the Emplisis Bay• Hairdresser upon request• Housekeeping is provided twice a day• Special evenings every week (Greek night, Pizza night, Barbecue)• Weekend events for children, Spa treatments, sport events, yoga ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emelisse Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emelisse Art
Emelisse Art Fiscardo
Emelisse Hotel Kefalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing