We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a favourite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's

Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Fiscardo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just returned to Fiskardo for the fifth time, after a 4 year gap and we headed straight to Tselenti's for our favourite chicken souvlaki and their wonderful green salad with blue cheese ...and it was just as delicious as ever. We returned for a light lunch - a perfect tuna sandwich and fries and a delicious smoked salmon and prawn salad.

We tried their Italian food for dinner one night and it wasn't to our taste - the scallop risotto was a touch too rich for me, while the seafood linguine was equally rich and one of the (very large) prawns was undercooked which was off-putting. The flavours in the linguine didn't work for my husband who left most of it. The owner said the recipe had recently changed and that next time he'd cook the old recipe for us 'on the house'.

Having said that, this is the only bad meal we've ever had at Tslenti's over five years and if you stick to their fantastic Greek menu you can't go wrong. Try the fava bean starter - it's divine! The atmosphere is great, service good and its a very good place to end the night with a drink and brilliant music.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    46
    15
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Over priced and salty!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Not brilliant....this is an "up market" restaurant, unfortunately the food and the service did not live up to expectations. The service was very slow (and no it wasn't busy), and when the food came I could hardly eat mine as it was so salty. The service was poor..no chit chat or friendliness...This place has delusions of grandeur.. You can eat far better food in a much better atmosphere at the other tavernas...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Looey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minas T, Owner at Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Mr Looey123,

Tselenti's restaurant apologise for your impression and dining experience, however there are several adjacent restaurants to ours and would truly hope that we were not mistaken for one the others. Since establishing our restaurant many years ago we have received very few negative responses from our customers.
We do however realise that you cannot please all of customers all the time and would have hoped that any issues regarding food or service could have been resolved at the time in an amicable way rather than giving negative feedback.
We consider ourselves to be one of the oldest and best restaurants not just in Fiskardo but Kefalonia itself.
We do not have illusions of grandeur but endeavour to give our customers the best possible dining experience along with the unique classical , historic edge of our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Art, History, Culture and Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

If you want to experience old fiscardo in style than you must visit this special place, wonderful building, wonderful music, wonderful food x

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just returned from our sixth visit to Kefalonia! Dont usually write reviews but just have to say what
a fantastic place to eat. The food is amazing ; steaks best ever tasted, salads with superb
unusual dressings, starters are just that little bit different but still very greek.
Everything we ate was very well cooked and beautifully presented and the service from
Nikos and Lakis was absolutely unbeatable - always there when you needed them but never
over the top.
Would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynloveshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very good food and lovely location. Helpful staff. Swordfish with apple and calvados sauce is excellent.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran_Alan_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's also viewed

Fiscardo, Cephalonia
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
 
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
 

Been to Cafe - Restaurant Tselenti's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing