We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food - lovely view”
Review of Veggera Taverna

Veggera Taverna
Ranked #16 of 31 Restaurants in Fiscardo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice food - lovely view”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The sunset here is stunning. The food is tasty and service nice.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SlartibarfastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    40
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Friendly, rustic, great value for money and a great view”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

5 of us ate here 3 times so a total of 15 meals to base this on. Excellent in every way! We turned up early at 8pm the first time and wanted a 5 on the balcony with the sunset view. They jumped into action and in a couple of minutes had moved the tables to accomodate us without fuss. The menu was broad with several dishes in every category. We ordered 4 starters to share between 5 and they came with 5 of anything that was individual. the spicy prawn starter was to die for and we had it every time but none were a disappointment. Tuesday night was the 'wine tasting' and live music (for wine tasting read never ending carafs of very quaffable local house wine) fortunately within walking distance fo the villa as driving would not have been a an option that night.
Theere are 3 seating areas balcony with oustanding views and sunsets, which can be a little chilly if there is a wind, an small indoor area and a large covered patio at the front. The service is by the family who run it and is superb. Before the very reasonable bill - never more than 90 euros for 2 courses with wine and coffees for 5 - a plate of delicious pieces water melon was brought out with their compliments.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very friendly, great experience!!”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We went on 26th July, and arrived before sunset. the view is lovely, but it got a bit chilly on the terrace, and we were moved no problem to the front terrace. live Greek music is on Tuesdays and Saturdays so we had a treat and even got to dance whilst the owner threw some plates!
food was good, we had spit roast lamb which was ok, the lemon potatoes were great, as were the honey donuts! very friendly people, great experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blond_e005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff, great food.”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This Taverna is a hidden gem on the island, situated on the main road between Fiskardo and Vasilikades. The food is all locally sourced and tasted superb. The owners are friendly and welcoming. If you are in Kefalonia then this place is a must on places to visit.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony_Cowdrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly owners. Genuine food and great sunset view 15 mins from Fiskardo”
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We visited Vegera Taverna on 29 August2010. We arrived at around 3,30PM and the resaturant was empty, but the owners welcomed us and cooked lovely local fresh food for us, including the best Loukoumades ( fried-dough pastry with honey and cinnamon) ever.
We were by camper and since they were having a live music for dinner, we decided to stay there for the night: we were welcomed to park our camper and sleep there. We also had dinner of course, and the sunset view from the terrace was great!
The taverna is not in Fiskardo, but in Vassilikades, some 15 minutes south west of Fiskardo, but if you stay in Fiskardo it is worth the drive. Highly recommended, best restaurant in Kefalonia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veggera Taverna also viewed

Fiscardo, Cephalonia
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
 
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
 
Fiscardo, Cephalonia
Cephalonia, Ionian Islands
 

Been to Veggera Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing