We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 bed apartment - fabulous” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexanna Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fiscardo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexanna Apartments
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 bed apartment - fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed in Efterpi, the 2 bedoom apartment, with our two kids age 5 & 8 for 2 weeks. We had the most wonderful holiday, and thought the apartment was great. It had everything you needed, including a washing machine, comfy beds, and was clean and refreshing. The maid service was very good and came twice a week, to do a full clean, change of sheets/towels etc, but also in between to do a bit of tidying, empty bins etc. The kitchen was well equipped, fridge/freezer/toaster/kettle/hob/small oven, and all the equipment you could need.
The view from the balcony was amazing, although the balcony is quite small.
The pool area is really clean, and when we were there we often had the pool to ourselves, which was fab.
The place is run by a lady called Rowena who keeps a low profile, but is there if you need anything at all. She was very sweet, and even bought the kids little souveners for them to remember there holiday by.
The company Ionian Island were great. Everything ran smoothly with them, the car hire was well organised, and the car was delivered to you, and picked up again from you. You need the car as it is a drive to all local amenities (for us with young kids anyway), but literally a few minutes away is supermarkets & retaurants, and then in another couple of minutes you are at Fiskardo - a fantastic harbour, full of lovely shops, taverna's and amazing boats / yachts to enjoy watching.
The area is surrounded by small beaches / coves, none of which were busy (apart from the famous Myrtos beach - but get there early and its no problem), and we never visited the same beach twice. We hired a small boat for 3 days with Fiscardo boat hire, and this enabled us to spend those days exploring the coast and visiting many beautiful bays that can only be reached by boat. All the beaches are stoney / pebbley, so not much sandcastle making!
We did the Marine Adventures day trip, which although not cheap (200 euros for the 4 of us) was a great day out. We snorkelled amongst a couple of shipwrecks, and caught octopus, starfish, sea anemone, and sea cucumbers (all which were put safely back!) Jamie the guy who runs this trip is a wealth of knowledge on the marine life and it was a fascinating fun day (with a great lunch included).
Kefalonia is a beautiful Island, and well worth a visit.Overall this was a fantastic holiday with lovely accomodation and we would recommend it.
There is a very negative review about this apartment below, which to be honest I do not understand and I would not pay much attention to!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We (that is, 10 of us, aged from 91 down to 11) stayed in the sister house to Alexanna, the Villa Arozza next door, also owned by the very helpful & charming Rowena. The lay-out of the accommodation, with bedrooms on all 3 floors and public space on the lower 2, meant we were all able to find privacy and to mix together. The swimming pool was invaluable in keeping the children cool and occupied. The real knock-out, though, is the position of the villa, on a steep slope overlooking forested slopes and the Ithaca channel. It was quite something to watch the moon rise over Ithaca every night. The small but lovely garden is a riot of colour, with plumbago, bougainvillea, lilies & tomatoes.

We were very comfortable in the heat, as the rooms are high-ceilinged & there is also air conditioning. Included in the deal was a bit of cleaning & towel/sheet changing, which was done immaculately & unobtrusively. We loved this place & would recommend it unreservedly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jafr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Alexanna apartments with our 2 children aged 17 & 12. We had the 2 bedroomed apartment (called Efterpi) & it was very clean & quite spacious. The only slight moan would be that you can't fit 4 people on the balcony unless you sit in a row! So eating outside on the balcony wasn't easy but it didn't really matter as the view is lovely, The bathroom is a bit like a cave but again didn't really matter as everything works fine & it was clean with plenty of towels. The maid service is very good & so was the welcome pack. The apartments are in a very quiet location & it's a long walk to Maganos where the closest taverna is(although we're used to walking at home it's not a walk you'd want to do every night on holiday). The pool area was exremely quiet when we were there even though it was high season, but when people were there they didn't really want to chat & definitely weren't pleased to have a 12 year old in the pool disturbing their swimming! We found lots of beaches nearby though so it didn't matter to us as we don't spend hours by the pool anyway.We had a taxi one night to Fiskardo as we were meeting friends for a meal-Charlotte the Ionian Holiday rep gave us the number & it only cost 8 euros, so well worth it.Loads of good tavernas in Fiskardo also at the turning to Dafnoudi beach. One word of advice-visit Assos but don't bother trekking all the way up to the fort -it's a long hot walk with nothing to see at the end of it! Best admired from the road above! All in all a good holiday in a beautiful area, but not for those who want lots of nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkskiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here a week with our 2 year old son and had a fabulous time. The overall trip with Ionian Island Holidays was superb with car hire includes to make the stay easy. Location is quiet with lovely sea views over to the island of Ithaca. Pool is clean and well maintained surrounded by olive trees and beautiful plants. Nearby Fiscardo is a dream location with classy bars and a laid back vibe. There are beautiful beaches to explore each day and lots of Greek tavernas serving great food. Our favourites included Myrtos beach and Foki. Foodie places we would recommend are Odyyseus on Jerusalem beach and Theodorea in Fiscasco for breakfast. To Pedko in Andapata is very good for home cooked Greek food with excellent fish dishes. Picnic cafe was a good place to have a toasted sandwich on an evening when we had eaten a big lunch. Very friendly helpful people! All in all this has been such a wonderful place to visit and difficult to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globaltravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We entered our apartment..it was lovely and cool with the curtains closed and we walked over to open the balcony doors...What an amazing view it was! We walked out and just couldn't believe that this view was ours to enjoy for the whole week- it exceeded our expectations! We knew the place would be nice, as soon as we arrived and felt the warmth of the place and the friendliness of Rowena the lady who owned the villas, we were just so happy and ready to start our holiday! It was very clean, spacious and had everything you needed and was well equipped. It was typically Greek and we liked that..The pool was so clean and just great for those lazy days and with the hire car included with our holiday, it was only a 10 min drive to Fiscardo and 25 mins to Assos. Both of which you must visit!
It was our 6th wedding anniversary while we were there and we were so chuffed to receive a bottle of Kefalonian wine from Rowena and a bottle of bubbly from our Ionian & Aegean Holiday Rep Charlotte who also recommended the Emelisse Art Hotel for our anniversary meal. A great place to go for lovely food and staggering views and with the Emblissi beach just below which was our favourite. We were really looked after and can't rate our stay at Alexanna Apartments highly enough. We've both agreed it was like a second honeymoon for us both and just can't wait to visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJ182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Just returned from a week's stay in Alexanna Appts. The studio we stayed in had the most fantastic views and was equipped to a high standard compared to some we have stayed in in Greece. The owner was very friendly and helpful and was around if we needed anything. The area is very quiet and obviously would not suit everyone! If you are looking for a lively holiday this is not the place for you, but if you like peace and tranquility and to recharge your batteries, look no further this is the perfect spot!

Car rental was included and, to be honest, necessary, as there is only one taverna within walking distance (20mins). We had fun exploring the island.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the Alexanna Appartments and am looking forward to returning there soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ally97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

We've just returned from the Alexanna and had an absolutely fantastic holiday. The studio apartment we stayed in was very well equipped. The location is perfect. Peace and tranquility at it's best. Our only moan would be that we had a family with two small children in the apartment above ours and they could be a little noisy! Especially the mum walking about in her clogs on the stone floor!!! The surrounding area is beautiful. Travelling at this time of year was great - the beaches were far from crowded. The local restaurant in Maganos, The Ionian serves very tasty food, but for 'excellent' greek food try the restaurant in the next village Anitpata - the one on the corner of the turning towards Dafnoudi Beach! Just thinking about it makes me want to return there! The small mini-market in the village sells most things and the staff are very friendly. Will definately return - next week if i could!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank consultesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiscardo hotels
0.0 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiscardo Studios
Fiscardo Studios
#4 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stella Hotel Apartments
Stella Hotel Apartments
#6 of 16 in Fiscardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#1 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dafnoudi Hotel
Dafnoudi Hotel
#5 of 8 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
#3 of 8 in Fiscardo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexanna Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexanna Apartments

Property: Alexanna Apartments
Address: Matsukata, Fiscardo, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Fiscardo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Fiscardo
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Alexanna Apartments Hotel Fiscardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing