We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and convenient for the local town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fiscardo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalokeri Apartment Suites
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from a week staying at the Kalokeri Apartments and must say I was very impressed. They were very clean, spacious and well equipped, even down to an electric bug zapper with spare tablets, (but no hair dryer) and the 2 bedroom one we were in had a dishwasher.
The views from the balcony's were amazing, and it was only a 10 minute stroll down to Fiskardo, which is full of very good restaurants and cafes. We should have been staying at the Alexanna, but it was over booked and we were moved to the Kalkeri. So glad we were. The Alexanna is a good 3 or 4 Kilometres down a steep hill to Fiskardo and a good 2 Kilometres up a steep hill to the nearest shops.
Across the harbour is Nicolas's which is worth the walk, his food is amazing as is he, a self confessed crazy man!
Another good place to eat in the evenings is To Pefco, which is on the corner of the road leading down to Dafnoudi Beach. Some of the food is cooked on the large BBQ outside, and you sit under a huge pine tree at candle lit tables, very romantic.
Also, the taverna at Foki beach is very good for meze at lunch time, a good way of getting out of the mid-day sun.
We found the prices quite reasonable, meze between 3 and 4 euros, main courses between 8 and14 euros, except fish and seafood which was extortionate, and house wine was about 9 euros for a litre.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sulwath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

As we booked at the last minute, we had no choice of rooms and were allocated a "studio apartment" on the ground floor, which slightly concerned us, but in fact we were pleasantly surprised by how spacious it was, with decent cooking facilities (kettle, toaster, two ring hob with cooker and grill) and a pleasant terrace looking out over the harbour. Beds are quite firm and we had twins pushed (not very closely because of metal frames) together.

As mentioned before, the pool is fine, but not spectacular, so it is good that there are beaches within walking distance. Hiring a car or a boat opens up the possibilities further, Dafnoudi beach is well worth the trip. Don't assume that the recommended boat hire is the cheapest...

A top tip is to make use of the facilities of the Emelisse Art Hotel just down the road, with its pools, Elemis spa and restaurants (grill night Tuesdays pizza night Fridays). Happy hour at the pool bar is 5-7pm for fantastic Martinis and the staff were so relaxed we really had to work hard to persuade them that we actually wanted to pay for our drinks and not put them on our (non-existent) room! The pool wifi at the Emelisse is also hugely faster than the very slow wifi at Kalokeri.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eyedoc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just got back from a week here and thought I would share some of my experiences.

First if you are thinking of staying here then then you need to think about what you want. The top floor rooms have a smallish balcony but amazing views down to the harbour and across to the island of Ithaka. The ground floor rooms don't have the view but do have a much bigger outdoor space with sun loungers. So up to you. The rooms are allocated when you book so tell them which you prefer. I have attached a photo taken from our balcony.

The apartment itself was plenty big enough for us two. The bathroom was a bit small and don't expect hot water every time - this is Greece after all. Decent sized bedroom and the whole place has air conditioning as well. The place was clean and the furniture was all in good condition. Our towels were change twice during the week which I found to be fine.

The pool area could look a bit better to be honest though not the worst I have stayed at. There were always enough sun beds to go around though not always enough shade. There is a small bar serving cold drinks and a few snacks. Be warned though, when we were there the guy running it often closed earlier than the sign said it be open until. No real problem with noise at the pool but then we did book out of school holidays for just that reason.

Think about what I said about that view. How do you get a view like that? Up a very big hill. Maybe only ten minutes down but more going up in the heat of the day. We are both keen walkers so it wasn't a problem but I wouldn't want to do it with either a baby, a small child or as somebody with health issues.

So would I go back? Probably not but I have been three times now so that is obviously a recommendation in itself. If I have missed anything off that you would like to know then please ask me.

Room Tip: Want a view ask for top floor, want a sun lounger ask for ground floor. All rooms have their door o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We booked through Ionian who were extremely impressive and professional. I would highly recommend. The rooms are basic but have all the essentials, AC sounds like the constant building work going on in the corner but you get used to it and at least it has it. Our room was on the top floor in the middle, i'd highly recommend a top floor room as the view into the harbour is about the best view in Fiskardo, absolutely outstanding. We had a brilliant week. The major draw back was having spent all year looking forward to a nice quiet time relaxing we were unable to do this around the pool. Firstly the pool appears to be a last minute thought as it's just on a raised concrete area in the carpark with no greenery or atmosphere. This could be overlooked however with a drink and a good book. However, what couldn't be overlooked was the sound of ten 6-14 year old kids screaming in the pool most of the day. On our week this orchester was conducted by the bossiest 6 year old I've ever seen with a parent who was clearly oblivous to the fact her child was not only pressurising the other kids but also spoiling other peoples relaxation. It was impossible to relax and meant that we were banished to either our balcony or going out for the day. We didn't personally find this a massive pain as we wanted to see plenty of the island as well as catching some well needed quiet time but if you want to just relax around the apartment and pool then this isn't the place. Just us and perhaps two other couples were staying on this week and practically every other room had a kid or two.

The harbour is a 10 minute walk away (up hill on the way back) which we didn't personally mind and is fine for anyone with a basic level of fitness. For restaurant's I'd check out Ireda's and Tassia. Location, service and food all great and their menu's offers other options than many of the other restaurants. Melina's pattiserie also serves awesome desserts with either a coffee or a late drink.

In summary, see the island, hire a small boat for a day or two, sample many of the restaurants and if your going to stay at these appartments role a dice on whether you'll get lucky or be stuck like us with a kids club.

Room Tip: Top floor a must if you want to have the best views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 883James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just booked a third visit to Kalokeri. This is a great place if you want somewhere quirt but close to restaurants and beaches. Good accommodation with beautiful views across the sea to Ithica. Thankfully there are no televisions blaring, and the small snack bar by the pool is quiet. Ionian Holidays are always helpful and travel arrangements excellent. We've been here twice before, once with our adult sons who also enjoyed the short walk to town to visit bars. Close enough to town to enjoy it, far enough from it to avoid noise into the early hours. Please don't change the way this site is run

Room Tip: All rooms look out over the sea - 2nd floor rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked last minute and were very happy with our stay.

The best thing about our room was the balcony - we ate all of our meals out there, knitted, read and relaxed. We met another couple who had a ground floor room who were very disappointed that they couldn't make the most of the view so make sure you find out which floor you're on before you book.

The accommodation was clean and spacious, with good air-con and well appointed bathroom (you can flush paper here). However the cooking utensils were fairly basic - we cooked every night and had to gut fish with the vegetable knife (the other option was the bread knife!!)

The cleaners were very efficient, and we also had a gentleman come to empty our kitchen bin every few days which was good given the amount that we cooked and the heat.

The pool is great, just big enough to cool down after lazing in the sunshine. It is a private pool, just for residents so was never too busy. We always managed to get sunloungers and parasols when we went over. You can also get a nice beer to enjoy from the bar, but it does close fairly early so keep a few bottles in stock for later if you plan to stay there past about 5:30!

In terms of the resort, Fiscardo is beautiful! It was just busy enough to keep us occupied but not too busy to be frustrating. There are plenty of restaurants to chose from and a few good supermarkets. Be warned, it is not cheap to buy food here - if you are hiring a car it is useful to find ingredients in quieter towns. There are 2 good butchers in Ag. Efimia (I think it was) who were very friendly. Have a chat with the butcher in the smaller shop - we had a beautiful leg of lamb for 2 which fed us twice for 7 Euros. The bakery in Fiscardo is worth a visit, we bought bread here which was very tasty. If you'd like some delicious feta, try the supermarket which has the fish shop attached, up a side street near a cash machine & large ornamental urn. Its hidden at the back of the shop with the olives and meat counter. They also have a card machine which may come in handy, though the Greeks seem to prefer cash so it's better to keep cash in your wallet just in case.

Tuesdays seem to be a little busier in town so if you want to avoid the crowds maybe have a day out somewhere, or have a boat trip to wherever the tourists came from! Whilst we were here we hired a little boat from Reginas down on the harbour. Our boat cost 50 euros plus about 25 euros in fuel for the day (11:00-16:00) - you can hire earlier and later. If this is something you'd like to do, make sure you book in advance if possible as she can get booked up quickly, particularly if boats weren't allowed out the previous day due to winds.

Finally, there is a little white and brown patchy cat that lives in the grounds. She was very friendly with us, always liked a little stroke. She has sunburn so not the most pretty of faces, but if you happen to see her maybe leave her some water as she gets very thirsty!

Room Tip: Go for the first or second floor for an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LaRocca20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked a last minute holiday through Ionian Island Holidays and weren't sure what to expect at the Kalokeri Apartments. We were very pleasantly surprised. The views from our top floor apartment were absolutely stunning. The apartment was very clean and adequately furnished. Very quiet at night. The cleaners came in every couple of days and the bins were emptied every day! OK it wasn't 5* but we were not paying 5* prices. If you want 5* go the Emelisse Art Hotel which is fantastic but at a price! Apart from sleeping, showering and sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine and enjoying the views, we were hardly in the apartment. Fiscardo is a super place and Kefalonia is a stunning island. Our first visit and we will certainly return. Ionian Holidays were brilliant, very well organised. Everyone was very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Best views from the top floor (only 3 floors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank JAN4714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fiscardo hotels
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#1 of 7 in Fiscardo
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
521 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dafnoudi Hotel
Dafnoudi Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fiscardo
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
Fiscardo Bay Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fiscardo
189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fiscardo Studios
Fiscardo Studios
#4 of 7 in Fiscardo
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fiscardonna
Fiscardonna
#5 of 7 in Fiscardo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalokeri Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalokeri Apartment Suites

Address: Fiscardo, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Fiscardo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Fiscardo
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Kalokeri Apartment Hotel Fiscardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing