We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting away from it all (and eating well) in the Tuscan countryside” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Apparita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agriturismo Apparita
Podere l'Apparita 9, 56045 Pomarance, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Getting away from it all (and eating well) in the Tuscan countryside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We recently spent 3 lovely days and nights at this agriturismo south of Volterra and Pomarance in Tuscany. The farmhouse is just as described on the website and was the perfect place for us to relax. We had the place to ourselves. Our rooms were spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. Every room has its own private patio, which I could have sat out on all day if the weather had been just a bit warmer. Our kids (12 and 9) really loved playing with Stella and Pepe, the dogs, and the numerous cats that roamed the property. The two donkeys and the horse, Ballerina, were more than happy to eat the carrots that the kids insisted we buy at the grocery store in Pomarance. It is also an ideal location from which to take day trips. We stopped at Pisa on our way in from Florence. Then we spent a day in San Gimignano and a half day in Volterra.

Dinners were a delightful surprise. We had originally planned to eat “at home” only on the first night, but the food was so good, we didn’t see the point of going anywhere else. It was kind of exciting to show up for dinner at 8 p.m. without knowing what was going to be served. Even our boy, who is a very picky eater, tried almost everything. On the first night, we had home-made gnocchi with tomato sauce, stewed rabbit, roasted potatoes, broccoli rabbe and a lemon ricotta cake with strawberry sauce for dessert. The highlight of our second dinner was the amazing linguine with pecorino and rosemary. The kids loved the chocolate mousse. On the third night we had a cauliflower soup as the starter. I am normally not a fan of cauliflower, but this soup was good! The herbed pork roast and the roasted fennel were also delicious. For dessert we had apple streusel with vanilla ice cream. The kids were happy to have chocolate mousse leftovers from the night before. I’m so glad we stayed for dinner each night because if we had “gone out” we would have just stuck to foods we were familiar with and would have missed out on this delicious and authentic Tuscan fare.

Our family would absolutely come back to this agriturismo for another visit. We look forward to enjoying the pool next time, and I really want to wander down the country lane a bit farther when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLTinTandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
30
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at this lovely agriturismo. Wonderful people, fabulous breakfasts and evening meals, clean and comfortable rooms, in a scenic and quiet country setting. Take a walk back the country lane for beautiful views, have a capuccino in San Dalmazio down the road, relax on your private patio with a glass of wine with one or both dogs at your feet, swim in the pool, check out the donkeys and chickens and rooster and cats.
Did I mention the food? After one meal, we decided to have dinner there every night. Delcious local cuisine. Bottles of wine were available for purchase. Lots of winding roads to reach the Tuscan hill towns, so be prepared for some interesting drives.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 45Bubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Beautiful lodging as shown on their Web site.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ddaily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

We spent 5 nights at Agriturismo Apparita and enjoyed every moment in the area. Our room was large, charming, quiet and very comfortable. Beds are firm and bathrooms are well equipt with shower, toilet, bidet & sink. Everything was spotless.

The owners are very friendly and there is enough English spoken to take care of any needs that you have. Each morning we were greeted by kittens in the window and the farm dog at the door. There is covered parking and a pool. Breakfast was delicious, especially the sheep cheese and homemade cake and you must take at least one evening meal cooked by the owners.

It would be best to be driving to take advantage of this Agriturismo and be warned the roads in the area are twisty-windy so you don't get anywhere very fast but the trip is a wonder. You are very close to the village of San Dalmazio which is a wonderful explore in itself and has places to eat. You are centrally located to several areas of interest in Tuscany. There is a stunning view of San Dalmazio from the home and views of olive groves & farm fields.

There are a few cooling towers from power plants that can be seen but just put a tree between you and them and you step back in time. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Liked — I cannot choose just one thing...this was a wonderful place to stay.
  • Disliked — Everything was wonderful.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geekyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2005

We would go back to this B&B in Tuscany on another trip. It is on a hill with friendly hosts, nice rooms
beautful setting and the most fabulous drive threw
Tuscany to get there, the scenery is wonderful.

The setting is wonderful and their dogs and cats come to welcome guests, very relaxing and the pool looked very inviting for a warmer season.

I recommend including the evening meal, very convenient and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2002

Deciding on finding an Agriturismo (a kind of farmstay/B&B) with a pool in Tuscany in one of the busiest weeks of the year wasn't easy.

We found Podero Apparita, a small Agriturismo in San Dalmazio, about 25 minutes by car from the old fort town of Voletrra. For only €40 each per night we had a huge room with fantastic bathroom and views across the valley. The owners are very accommodating and although more used to German guests we had a brilliant time.

With a hire car we were able to get to Volterra, San Gimignano (a must) and Sienna easily. We missed out on Florence as the pool was too tempting.

With only 4 rooms at Apparita you are guaranteed not feel swamped with people and eating in with other guests is a must.

Only small shame was the location of a large chimney for some sort of industrial plant across the valley - but this can only be seen from certain places.

Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pomarance
4.6 mi away
Agriturismo San Carlo
Agriturismo San Carlo
#3 of 53 in Pomarance
4.5 of 5 stars 110 reviews
5.3 mi away
Agriturismo Incanto Del Fiume
18.4 mi away
Agriturismo Diacceroni
Agriturismo Diacceroni
#1 of 100 in Volterra
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Relais Guado al Sole
Relais Guado al Sole
#1 of 4 in Pomarance
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
14.2 mi away
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
Agriturismo Poggiacolle
#3 of 108 in San Gimignano
5.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
24.3 mi away
Agriturismo Colleverde
Agriturismo Colleverde
#1 of 19 in Terricciola
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Apparita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Apparita

Property: Agriturismo Apparita
Address: Podere l'Apparita 9, 56045 Pomarance, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pomarance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Pomarance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Apparita Our farmstead is located in the district of Pomarance (province of Pisa), in the geographical zone of High Maremma Toscana, near the "Colline Metallifere", rich in wonderful landscapes, beginning from woods (Berignone Wood - Tatti and Monterufoli Wood) to gullies, crags and geysers. The family run farm offers a warm welcome to 6 charming well-appointed rooms (two double rooms and four triple rooms), each with bathroom, heating, a large terrace and an indipendent entrance. Rooms include TV Sat, fridge, phon, thermo-switch for the heating at guests' disposal and free internet WIFI. In the garden, for our guests, we have a swimming pool 12m x 6m, next to a smaller one 4 m x 3 m for kids. The water in the swimming pool is treated with a natural system based on salt, without chlorine. We serve breakfast (B&B) and dinner (for half treatment) in the veranda with a good view on the 12th century Rocca Sillana, easily reached on foot. We serve meals of fine Tuscan cuisine and fresh organic garden produce, we use only our organic extra-virgin olive oil in meals and tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HRS, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Agriturismo Apparita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing