We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time at the Marilena - and just as good as before”
Review of Marilena Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marilena Studios
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I treated my mother to a week in Greece in mid May to escape the endless rain back in the UK. We'd stayed at the Marilena together before and loved it, so it was a no-brainer to rebook. We turned out to be the only guests staying that week, and had the run of the place. We stayed in Apartment 1 which was a big, well equipped two bedroom with a balcony looking out over the front of the property. Last time around we'd been in Apartment 5 (another two bed, which had the benefit of two balconies), but my Mum loved being at the front of the property so that she could watch all the comings and goings.

Maria keeps the place immaculate, and left us to our own devices. We had the pool to ourselves the entire week - and enjoyed glorious sunshine every day until the day we were due to return home when thunderstorms caused mayhem at the airport.

We were sorry to see that the Oasis Taverna had closed since our last visit, but Spiros' Taverna is right across the road and still just as good. And there are plenty more restaurants on the gentle road down to the main beach - which takes about 20 minutes to stroll, and is worth it for the spectacular views. The Horizon and The Belvedere are definitely worth a visit for great food and wonderful views. The supermarket is 2 minutes away and has everything you need if you're self catering - but be warned, it is very expensive!

All in all, the trip was exactly what we needed. Quiet, hot, and sunny. We only ventured out of Paleo once to take a day trip to Albania, which was fascinating and well worth dragging yourself away from your sun lounger.

Room Tip: Apartment 5 has the benefit of two bedrooms and two balconies.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank recruitgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Marilena Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 128 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

A friend and I stayed at these studios 14 to 21 May 2012, having booked privately through Eleni the owner. Eleni could not have been more helpful with excellent and prompt communication via email (her English is excellent), and she also arranged for a taxi to pick us up at Corfu airport on our arrival. We arrived in the middle of the most torrential rain and lightening I have ever seen! Sadly the first 3 days of our break were very cool and it often rained, but the Marilena Studios themselves were excellent. We had Studio 2, a twin bedded room with kitchenette, balcony and bathroom, and all were spotless. The view from our balcony was lovely, a magnificent view of the green hills behind, and the studio had just been refurbished so was perfect. The kitchenette was very well equipped with mugs, cups, different sizes of plates and bowls, cutlery, cooking equipment, pots, pans, kettle and even a sandwich toaster. There was a small electric oven and two ring hotplates. Eleni and her mother work so hard to make sure that all their guests have everything they need, and we could not fault the Marilena in any way at all. We met some guests who return there, year after year, which says a lot. The swimming pool area at the back of the Studios was lovely and again was kept clean and spotless. There were plenty of sunbeds and parasols. The water in May was too cold for me to swim, but it was nice to lie by the pool and chat to other guests and enjoy the sunshine. We hired a car, which was necessary for us as the Studios are at the top end of Paleokastritsa and it's a long walk up the hill from the harbour and beaches without one. However other guests did walk it. It depends on what you are used to, and I admit I'm lazy! But we used the car to drive all over the northern part of Corfu. There is also a bus stop right outside the Studios with regular bus service to Corfu Town. There is a handy supermarket almost opposite the Studios which opens long hours, and Spiros Taverna which serves good food all day. Paleo is such a pretty place, but don't go here if you want a lot of nightlife. We didn't want the nightlife so it was ideal for us. I highly recommend the Marilena Studios as being great value for money, a very warm and friendly place to stay. I would certainly stay there again on my next visit to Corfu.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolinelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed at Marilena Studios as first guests of the season during first week of May. Our studio was immaculate and Elena's mother so very kind and helpful. Paleo is a good centre for a walking holiday as there are some lovely treks in the area - As it was very early in the season much of Paleo was in the process of opening so there were only a few tavernas to choose from - We recommend the family run Spiros Taverna that is almost opposite Marilena Studios - Nicely cooked local food, very generous portions with excellent house wine.
Advisable to hire a car to get around although there is a bus stop near the apartments.
In conclusion, Marilena Studios is lovely well maintained accommodation that we highly recommend.
Barry & Janet
UK

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at the Marilena studios for 2 weeks from 29.8.11. The accommodation was spotless and we were looked after by the owner's (Eleni) mother, who worked really hard keeping the studio we stayed in really clean and tidy.The air con was essential as it was very hot during our holiday. You also have a safety deposit box available in the room if wanted.

The pool and sunloungers are great - is very quiet and a real suntrap.

We booked direct with Eleni and she arranged for taxi transfers to and from accommodation to the airport - no stress at all. The area where the property is located is vert quiet and peaceful. Eleni also gave us access to a shower room on our last day , as our flight was late in the evening. This was great, as it meant we could spend more time enjoying the area and shower/change before our flight.

The taverna's opposite - Spiros and Oasis serve lovely food. The spit roased meat at Spiros are amazing but our favourite was the Oasis. Their Greek night on a Tuesday is also something special.

Would recommend this accommodation to anyone needing to recharge and who likes quality food. The supermarket close by is also well stocked and open most days until late.

Really good value and book direct with Eleni if you can.- great value and you will be looked after.

Room Tip: ask for a first floor apartment to get a view
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jackabite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment (no. 10). It was spotlessly clean, spacious and very well equipped. The grounds are very well maintained, with a pleasant pool. We booked directly with Eleni, via the Marilena web site. Eleni was very quick and efficient at responding to e mails. She organised taxis to and from the airport and the whole thing was very good value and straightforward. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Suzanne023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had apartment number 6 which when looking at the photo of the studios is the front facing apartment on the 1st floor facing down the drive.

The apartment had a small kitchen/dining area that was a little dark and seemed a bit dated, but everything worked fine. A large fridge/freezer, cooker, kettle and toaster.

The Bathroom was small but nice. We had a nice large shower in that had good water pressure.

We had two bedrooms - one had 2 sofabeds in them and was set out as a living room (there was only 2 of us) and the other bedroom had twin beds pushed together . Both rooms had large wardrobes and plenty of storage space.

We had a very large balcony facing the front of the property which was very nice.

Air-con - we paid 40 euro to have one air-con unit switched on in the bedroom.
Wi-fi was available for 10 euro a week which we did not pay for as you can get free wi-fi at Spiros resturant over the road.

We only went in the swimming pool once - it was nice, although a little small. We always ended up next door at the Mermaid Bar which claimed to have the largest pool in Paleo. We were often the only ones there using it.

The apartments are quite a way from the beech, and I would not have wanted to walk it, thankfully we had a car which came in very handy.

The whole place was kept very clean.

I would happyily stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marcus1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Having travelled to Greece for some 30 years we found these studios (not hotel!!) to be the best ever, clean and spacious for a studio, bathroom, kitchen all spotless and adequate, a large balcony. Certainly value for money. When we used the pool we mostly had it to ourselves, The studio was cleaned daily and nothing was too much trouble for the owners. We adored the food at the restaurant oppoiste and used their Acapulco Bar many times and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I wouldn't think any of the rooms were noisy we were in room 2 and had no complaints whatsoeveer
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MargBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paleokastritsa hotels
0.5 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
579 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
#2 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Paleo ArtNouveau
Paleo ArtNouveau
#13 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Odysseus Hotel
Odysseus Hotel
#3 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
261 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fundana Villas
Fundana Villas
#12 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
47 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Apollon - Annexe
Hotel Apollon - Annexe
#7 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marilena Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marilena Studios

Address: Paleokastritsa, Paleokastritsa 490 83, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Paleokastritsa
#4 Family Hotel in Paleokastritsa
Price Range: $38 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marilena Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Marilena Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marilena Studios Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing