We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location”
Review of Apollon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apollon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Paleokastritsa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Very quiet resort, which was just what we wanted. Hotel great. We3 stayed in annexe, which is located just round corner from hotel. It was brilliant. Kept very clean. Staff were brilliant, especially Craig, the owner, who has an abundance of great stories. Food was very good. We chose the half board option, although we did go out a couple of times for a meal. Beach is right on your doorstep, which was brilliant. Beach could be doing with getting cleaned regularly. You must go on boat trip, round the caves. I never do the trips but thought this was brilliant. Also visited the monastry, up a steep hill and views were breathtaking. If you are looking for a quiet relaxed holiday, this is a must. If you want busy, take bus trip to Corfu Town. Only costs over 4 euros for 2 people. There are also loads of walks for the more adventurous.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peggymuncie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 388 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

Three friends and I spent ten days in the Apollon hotel from the 29th July to 8th August 2010. First and foremost this is not somewhere to visit for a ‘lad’s holiday’. As much as we enjoyed ourselves during the day, the nightlife is completely non-existent and a good night out requires a taxi journey to Ipsos, Dassia or Gouvia. This hotel is ideal for a romantic getaway and we noticed many couples in the restaurant as well as families with older children. The staff in the hotel couldn’t have made our stay any more pleasant. Craig is one of the owners and he comes from Somerset so for us ‘Devon boys’ it was nice to see a familiar face. Spiros and his wife Karen are also very friendly and they gave us plenty of useful advice and tips for places to visit. Costa is the main barman and he welcomed us on the first night with far more alcohol than we could handle (thanks mate!) – he is also very approachable and speaks good English. The hotel itself is about 20-30 minutes bus journey from the capital and the airport – Corfu Town. This makes exploring the city relatively easy which is definitely something that is worth doing as it is rich in culture and there are plenty of good restaurants and bars to visit.

We stayed in the Annexe building so I can’t comment on the standards of the rooms in the main hotel however ours were quite average. The rooms come with a fridge (ideal for storing plenty of water) as well as plenty of storage space for clothes and other bits and bobs. The toilet is more of a wet room as the shower has no wall fixture so the entire bathroom tends to get soaked when you wash. This wasn’t too much of a problem for us as the room had a central drain and we left our towels to dry on the washing line outside most of the time so they never got wet in the bathroom. Our rooms were cleaned every few days which was fine by us and considering that we stayed at the height of the season when the hotel was fully booked, I was quite impressed with these regular inspections. Towels and linen are also changed regularly. The rooms tend to get very hot at night and we were disappointed to hear that it would cost us 6 Euros a night to turn on the air conditioning in the room. We chose not to pay this charge and suffered the consequences as a result. Beware of midges in the evening as well, we would often wake up in the morning with several new bites and that was after paying particular attention to not leaving any doors open and applying repellent.

The food in the hotel was very authentic and this made the whole Greek experience that extra bit special for us. A typical evening menu would be a Greek Salad to start with, Souvlaki (grilled meat/kebab) for a main and Baklava (Greek sweet pastry) for pudding. Breakfast is slightly less exciting and the mornings that we were awake in time (breakfast closes at 10:00AM) we were presented with a small assortment of cereals, lots of Greek yogurt as well as continental options. There are no English breakfasts included in the hotel cost so this would cost an additional 6 Euros or so. Wasps are also a real pest at mealtimes although they are not aggressive so they won’t sting you. Soft drinks in the hotel are very reasonably priced and a large pint of local beer costs around 3.50 Euros. Spirits and other imported drinks however are very expensive; this applies to the majority of bars in Corfu. The bakery next door offers a wide range of Greek pastries and traditional rolls. My favourite was the Spinach pie and tapenade and feta cheese rolls.

The main selling point of the Apollon is by far its location – Paleokastritsa is renowned not only in Corfu but across Europe for its beautiful scenery. We were not disappointed when we arrived! The main beach does get very busy during the day with mainly tourists but there are other beaches nearby that offer quieter alternatives. When we stayed it cost 10 Euros to rent two sun beds and an umbrella which we thought was quite reasonable if you're intending to stay on the beach for the whole day. There are peddling boats for hire on the beach and a wide range of boat trips leave from the small pier. You can also hire out your own boat from the pier which is a really good idea if you want a bit of freedom to explore the coves and beaches in the local area by yourself. I would highly recommend trying the donuts or banana boating which all operate from a small beach just round the corner of the main beach. For around 15 Euros you can have a lot of fun and the drivers will tailor the activity to your preferences (speed/pain etc.) There are plenty of small tavernas and cafes within walking distance of the hotel that offer great traditional Greek snacks and meals. On our last day I decided to splash out on lobster spaghetti which was to die for! There are plenty of transport options to choose from at the Apollon as all of the main bus routes end in the resort. Taxi’s are also very easy to get hold of.

I think I speak on behalf of myself and the rest of our group that overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Apollon Hotel. It’s friendly staff, spectacular location and transport links make it the perfect base for a relaxing and/or romantic getaway. Our only disappointment was the nightlife which shouldn’t be a problem for most guests visiting the hotel as unlike us, I expect you shan’t be wanting to party every night! You get what you pay for with the rooms so don't expect luxury. I hope that if you are planning on visiting this hotel, you experience the same enjoyment that we did!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We enjoyed our stay, the rooms are kept very clean and tidy . Here are some tips. The sun terrace is only accessed from the 8 rooms on the first floor , so you have to get one of those to use the terrace. There is a better choice of food in the resort and I recommend the 2 restraunts between the hotel and the annex. If you go to the bar to the left of the hotel ( when facing the beach) you save 1 euro per drink. The resorts is spread out over 4 KM and if you need the pharmacy it is a 20 euro taxi trip. There are some good excursions , the beach barbeque ( book it at the port ) is only 25 euros per person with free food and wine. Dont go to paelokastritsa if you like warm sea as the water is cold in high the season but the water is very clear. During our stay we hired a car from 'George at the port' , he was a bit of a shark and wanted cash only which is difficult as the hotel owner explained that the cash machines in the resort are normally empty. While you are there you can find bars with free swimming pools. To find the best pool turn left out of the hotel , go up the road past the cash machine past the sumermarket and then first left. Go up the hill to the right for 50 M and you will find the Apartments Arriana. It has a fabulous swimming pool and a very friendly owner. Some people stay all day for the price of a beer !. It is a quiet resort and there were plenty of bored teenagers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank decentbloke186254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

I would highly recommend the Apollon Hotel. We were greeted by friendly Karen, who could not have been more helpful, Well, our room ! when we opened those french windows onto the terrace and saw the view of the wonderful beach right on our doorstep, we thought we had died and gone to heaven. Everything about our stay was brill, we only booked B & B and were going to eat somewhere different every night, but in fact apart from our first night, we ate at the Hotel everynight, the food and service was lovely. If there was one tiny wheeny criticism the breakfast was OK, but would like to have seen fresh fruit instead of tinned, and ALL Greek bread is boring, But would recommend staying at the Apollon to anyone, Karen and Craig made us very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie_edwards81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Stayed in the Annexe - was great value as breakfast was included (buffet with loads to eat).

Paleocastritsa beach is amazing and was the best beach I saw in Corfu. The resturant choice and nightlife is limited but a great spot if you just want to chill.

Would def recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed here for a week in May to celebrate our wedding anniversary and paid for the week using Tesco's vouchers. The hotel is in a very good location near to most of the restaurants and beach with amazing views from our room. We were lucky enough to get the middle floor which had a large sunbathing terrace which is shared by all 8 rooms on that level. There was no swimming pools so this was ideal just walking out of the bedroom to some sunbeds which had the sun all day. The other rooms above did not get the sun for long on there balconies but had the same amazing views.
We found the hotel small but very friendly and had loads of fun with the other guests because you all got to know each other. The breakfast was nothing special but adequate, the food in the restaurant was very good and they do a 3 course set menu for 11 euro if you are not on half board as well as an al a cart menu. The portions of the set menu were not huge but enough for me. We found the evening a little quiet around the resort due to a lack of bars our hotel bar was the busiest with a karaoke one night there maybe more entertainment in the higher season. The resort in the daytime was very busy with lots of day trippers which could be a nuisance for some but didn't bother us.
The resort itself is breathtakingly beautiful and l would return but a different time of year as the weather was not the best.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoptonRedjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Booked this holiday as a stress buster in the may half term with the intention of not doing a lot. Weather could be cloudy to start the day but the sun came out around midday and got caught out first day with no cream on long walk so always take sun screen even if it looks like rain. Walked the long walk to villages on first day, starts with steep hill which required a few rest stops but gave fantastic views. Ate at about 5 different restaurants in the bay and all food really nice enjoyed drinking wine at the restaurant at the far left of beach as able to watch sun going down. Sea was quite cold at this time of year but nice when you're in no one has mentioned that this hotel has no swimming pool which could have been a bonus but there are restaurants with pools around the bay. Only other trip was into Corfu town which thoroughly enjoyed. Rest of holiday was spent unwinding- hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waitutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleokastritsa
0.7 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odysseus Hotel
Odysseus Hotel
#3 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
#2 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paleo ArtNouveau
Paleo ArtNouveau
#13 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
300 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
1.2 mi away
Marilena Studios
Marilena Studios
#4 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Hotel

Address: Paleokastritsa 490 83, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Paleokastritsa
Price Range: $49 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Hotel Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing