We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apollon Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments(Paleokastritsa)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fundana Villas(Paleokastritsa)
$74
$70
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Marilena Studios(Paleokastritsa)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Akrotiri Beach Hotel(Paleokastritsa)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noufaro Apartments(Paleokastritsa)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ipsia Apartments(Paleokastritsa)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paleo ArtNouveau(Paleokastritsa)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arianna(Paleokastritsa)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveler rating
221
125
29
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
125
29
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hoteltop floorhalf boardwet roomcorfu townmain beachthree choicesfirst floorday trippersplenty of storageshared balconyair congreek nightbeautiful bayfollowing morningquiet resortrooms are basic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 390 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Arrived at Apollon on 14th July to be advised that we were on a first floor room with a tiny balcony above the bakery, room dingy and dark. partner allocated a room in the annexe, a 'promo sea view room', which was a tiny room up the side road with a glimpse of the sea. furniture in room was broken and mattress stained. we requested a change of rooms but the owner Mr Zangar advised that ' we had paid peanuts' and should just accept it. He would not move or rooms , stating that the hotel was fully booked all week. we ended up having to seek alternative accommodation at a cost of almost 500 euros for the week. the hotel refused a refund and the rep was unhelpful.

However, the following day, we seen the room had been re=let and was occupied all week. the apollon also had a vacancies board outside all week advertising rooms.

Obv iously i have submitted a complaint but the hotel are taking no responsibility. I have passed my complaint to the relevant people accordingly.

The Apollon owners believe that having a prime location in paleokastritsas means that they dont have to try, their facilities are poor and their attitude towards holidaymakers is a disgrace. If you are looking for good accommodation, clean rooms and decent food,t ry the zefiros next door.

Be warned !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: July 2008
8  Thank mizziScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We stayed here for a week and had a room on the sun terrace which was great for our 1 yr old as she had plenty of room to run around safely. The hotel was great, room quite basic but comfortable and cleaned daily. The staff were fantastic, namely Craig, Sarah, Ashleigh, Costa + James the chef who cooked us yorkshire puds + gravy! They were all brilliant with our little girl (especially Sarah) and were always ready to help in any way. In fact without them the holiday wouldn't have been half as good! All in all we had a great time. The only downside was that the beach here was not suitable for our little one as it was very shingly so we had to hire a car to find the sandy beaches further along the coast. That turned out to be a bonus though as we were able to travel around the island trying out different beaches and driving up over the mountain to see the fabulous views over Paleokastrista. Would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. Thank you Apollon Staff, you are the best!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank carannet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

i thought this hotel was really rather nice, staff were top notch & my wife & 2 boys 8 & 15 enjoyed it, the pound/euro exchande means that it is no longer a cheap holiday but thats the same everywhere in the euro zone.

the stairs are a pain but hey it certainly works up an appetite, the food was good to very good & i found it to be competitive with most other restaurants.

the sea was cold but crystal clear & we had sun all week.

i got bitten by something & had to go to the docs :( & got told to stay out of the sun & not to drink---well i tried this but !!!!

the pics are of the view from the balcony & the bar at night.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank baldywig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed at the Apollon for our honeymoon for 2 weeks in early June. We found the hotel to be a high end 2 star. The room was modestly furnished but very clean. The shower shower room was clean and recently refurbished. The maids cleaned the room nearly every day and sheets were changed very frequently, more frequently than the 3 days stated in room info book. But the best feature of our room was the fantastic view from our private balcony over the beach and horseshoe shaped cove. However the price for such a fab view was 3 flights of steep steps. We coped but anyone more elderly or infirm this could be problematic. We paid extra for air conditioning, but in June not absolutely essential. Beware of the mozzies!! I was eaten alive on the first night (we didnt get air conditioning until 2nd night so left the window open on the first night for some air). This was a green light to a very ferocious insect. Our 3rd floor balcony didnt get the sun, which was actually a blessing and provided a cool respite on very hot days. We did experienced some wet weather and a couple of spectacular electrical storms which we viewed from the safety of the sheltered balcony. Generaly the weather was excellent - in the high 20's and sunny. The bar and restaurant areas had recently been refurbished in a modern style, the toilets were very clean and the disabled toilet was very well laid out with the addition of baby changing facilities. Breakfast was a bit limited (we were on B&B basis), but was superior to other 2 star budget continental style breakfasts we had experienced. It consisted of tea, coffee and good quality orange juice, cornflakes, greek yoghurt, tinned fruit salad and peaches, toast, bread, jam, honey, marmalade, processed cheese and ham slices and boiled eggs - in unlimited quantities! You could of course pay for a full English at around 6euros. The restaurant fare was slightly more expensive than surrounding restaurants, but fresh and of good quality. The staff were a mixture of English and Greek, all were very very friendly and accommodating. The onsite bakery was our favourite lunch stop, the spinach and feta pastries, custard or appled filled pastries and chocolate croisants were yummy and cheap! There was karaoke on Sat night and musical entertainment most nights, we are not bar people so our balcony was a refuge with our favourite tipple purchased from the well stocked mini market just 2 mins up thre road. The resort itself is beautiful with azure waters and a part sand and pebbled beach. The beach falls steeply away into the sea and the sea floor is covered in rocks which means you really need to wear shoes when bathing. The beach has a blue flag and is patrolled by a lifeguard. I felt no currents and the cove had calm waters. There were pedaloes for hire at 10 euros an hour and boat trips from the pontoons. The description of the road in front of the hotel as a service road is not correct. Its a busy road with a steady stream of coaches, cars and scooters passing all day. This part of Paleo has a well developed tourism formula. Coach trip from your cruise ship to picturesque beach, lunch, boat trip and visit monastry high on hill above hotel. Some days the beach was unbearably full and this was not high season. Coach loads of loud Americans or Italians is not condusive to some peaceful relaxing on the beach. Our solution was to sunbath on a small patio area behind the hotel, it did get very hot, as it didnt benefit from any breeses, but was quiet. The monastry was very beautiful and worth the climb up the hill. The resort has lots of restaurants, but strangly they all had the same menu! It did get boring after a week. The restaurant next door, Buraros Family Tavern was good and the couple of restaurants a short walk towards the nearby port of Alipa were good value. Food was of a rustic nature and catered for all Nationalities and was a little cheaper than UK, but the poor pound/euro exchange rate didnt help. We were too lazy to venture too far, but did take the bus that stopped right outside the hotel to Corfu Town. The town was vibrant and full of shops and bars. You can hire all sorts of vehicles from a bike, scooter, quad or car to explore the Island, be careful that you choose a reputabable firm. All in all we enjoyed our honeymoon (would have been better with a double bed tho!). The Greek people were lovely, the Island beautiful, the hotel represented good value for money, but Paleo was just a bit too touristy for us. I would not recommend going in July or August if peace and quiet is your desire - June is just about OK.

Stayed: June 2008
3  Thank Magpiehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Just got back from one weeks stay at appollon.

ACCOMODATION:
Booked this holiday fairly last minute so was slightly dubious when allocated accommodation in Appollon Annexe as was told by tour operator it was not sea view.
However on arrival,we were allocated a room on the top floor of the annexe and had a fantastic view of (perhaps not the main bay, but none the less) a beautiful sea view!
Our room was nothing fancy but very clean and the maids are very regular.
Appollon has one of the best spots in Paleo.

FOOD:
We were B&B, but paid for the half board Appollon menu several nights (9euros pp). Have to say service at the restaurant is brilliant, and the food is very good too (good sized portions).

BEACH:
First time we've been to a hotel without a pool, but beach is that good we didnt miss it!
Would recommend the resort if you like snorkelling.

HOTEL ENTERTAINMENT:
Several nights the hotel offer entertainment: karaoke, greek night and "good old boys" live music duo.


Would definitely reccomend Zephiros restaurant. Very friendly and delicious food.

Overall we would without a doubt reccomend this hotel, if what you want is a peaceful,relaxing gettaway.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MadAb0utH0lidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews