We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Apollon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apollon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Paleokastritsa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The owners Spiros and Karen made me very welcome, and the hotel has a great location across the road from the beach. Room was in the annexe round the corner, up an incline and then a further 14 steps up to the room which was the lowest room option, so this hotel is not for anyone who has serious mobility problems. The room itself was OK, the linen changed regularly and cleaned every day. Breakfast was OK, but the wasps made it rather unpleasant as you had to swat them away constantly. Lunch was either in the hotel, or a bakery attached owned by the hotel was super with lovely deli type food you could take on the beach, dinner was fine with plenty of choice.
What spoilt it for me was the mosquitos (not the hotel's fault of course!) I got very badly bitten and they got infected so I had to see my doctor on my return for antibiotics, but everybody got bitten not just me. The beach is lovely but very stony, but the water is clear and clean, perfect for swimming. I could have done without the coachloads of tourists who flocked to the small beach every day, I had to get on the beach at 9.30 each day just to get a sunbed, also not much there in the way of things to do in the evening, but it was a nice week.

Room Tip: Take DVD player with films/music for amusement if required as TV in room is no good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelqueenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 388 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Could not fault this hotel,rooms basic but very clean,staff very helpful and location and views are out of this world,would go back year after year,we did walk to lakones and to the castle and what a walk it was! Certainly needed a drink on our return,bus stop to Corfu just outside hotel so handy for shopping trips,if you want a relaxing holiday this is the place

Room Tip: Room in the 100's have good balcony with sun beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Lovely hotel, clean, modern and comfortable, free upgrade. Lovely staff and nothing too much trouble. Good breakfast selection, and plenty of choice. Lovely evening meals. Cannot praise the hotel enough, will most certainly be back with the rest of the family.

Room Tip: Recommend main hotel, 2nd or 3rd floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sorry to all who have enjoyed this place - there really is much better accommodation in Corfu. Having stayed at this hotel for a week from 18th to 25th September I feel compelled to write a review - for the first time ever! We arrived to be told that our room was double booked and were placed in other accommodation for the first night. We were obviously disappointed but were told by way of compensation we could have a bottle of wine (half carafe of cheap Greek plonk 6 euros) with the evening meal - an insult - would have preferred nothing.
At this point I have to say that we always stay in basic Greek accommodation so know what to expect. The first apartment was very basic 2*, but as it turns out was probably better than the Apollon.
When we eventually relocated to the Apollon we found we had to negotiate "pooh alley" - come on people, if you stayed here you know what I mean. Dog faeces everywhere! It was a daily gauntlet. Most of the apartment was kept clean, including the linen, but the toilet was stained brown and there were several dead mosquitos squashed on the orange walls. The steps out of the Annexe were not great (leave your high heels at home ladies). The bar and restaurant area were of a good standard.
Breakfast was good but we found dinner disappointing (the packed lunch option was better, and eat out in the evening) - cannot fault Yiannis though (would give him 5* for service but have to rate hotel overall) - would have liked to bring him home with me - nothing was too much trouble and he was very welcoming. The Greek lady on reception also very pleasant.
Paleokastritsa itself is all that everyone has said and the sunbeds on the beach by the harbour are free if you eat at the restaurant.
For an equally picturesque resort with better accommodation in Corfu try Kassiopi or Kalami.
Sorry, but this was a disappointing trip and would definitely not return to the Apollon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AJL01782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from 2 week trip to Corfu with my husband. We stayed at the Apollon Hotel . Karen Spiros and Michaela were exceptional always ready to help nothing too much trouble.
There are walks up to Lakones or along the coast to Liapedes which are well worth the effort and maps are available from reception.
You can hire beach towels 2 euros each then you pay another 2 euros whenever you want to change them.
Yannis, Dora and the team in the restaurant were also pleasant and helpful. We stayed half board you have 3 choices for each course and we thought the food was good.
There is a small road in front of the hotel which leads to the monastery but this didn't bother us although it will be busier in high season.
We stayed in the annexe on the top floor. Great views from the balcony especially the sunsets. The room had aircon ( you pay extra locally for this ) toiletries , hairdryer, fridge , TV and was spotlessly clean
We used the bus ( air conditioned ) which stops near to the hotel and went Corfu town and visited the Old Fortress there.
I could carry on but will end with this. This is not a 5* hotel it doesn't ask 5* prices but the location service and the hard working staff have made it a 6* excellent and memorable first ( and hopefully not last ) trip to Corfu and we would definitely recommend this hotel based on our recent experience with them.

Room Tip: If staying in annexe ask for top floor ( provided you can manage steps )
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CB53131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed for a fortnight 30 August-13 September 2013. Had a wonderful holiday. The Apollon Hotel is first class. It is spotlessly clean. The food is lovely, we stayed half board. Breakfast has lots of choices and we had three choices for each course from the set menu every night, everything was delicious and very good quality. Often had lunch at the hotel also which was very reasonably priced. The owners and staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is just across a narrow road to the beach, sunbeds with umbrella 10 euros a day but to the right is another small beach which charged 7.50 euros a day. Lots of other small beachs within easy walking distance. Would not hesitate to stay there again. We stayed in the Annexe.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dragonklkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We are well travelled pensioners,The Apollon is one of the best places we have stayed ( our second visit to Corfu).I can fully understand that Karen/Costa have had regular visitors for the past Many Years,difficult to get a room on 2nd/3rd floor as they get booked from year to year,but we were lucky enough to have 4/7 days on level 2.We opted for the 3 course menu in eve ( FOOD IS amazing).The lovely Laura and Yanni always had smiles and delightful people also George and Costa ( they all work tirelessly).Nothing is too much trouble for any of them.The rooms are spotless and BEAUTIFUL WHITE towells,amazing views.Yes the beach does get busy with coach trippers,but they are on holiday as well.Even though it was busy it was NOT NOISY.Wonderful walk to the monastery,the views from there are Heaven.We could hear the waves @ night and also listening for the goats coming down the hillside in the mornings .

Room Tip: floors 2 or 3 if your lucky.We did use Shower room in Annexe on Dept day and that also was spotless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LRJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleokastritsa
0.7 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odysseus Hotel
Odysseus Hotel
#3 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
#2 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marilena Studios
Marilena Studios
#4 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
129 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel & Studios
0.8 mi away
Paleo ArtNouveau
Paleo ArtNouveau
#13 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollon Hotel

Address: Paleokastritsa 490 83, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Paleokastritsa
Price Range: $47 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apollon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollon Hotel Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing