We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the good and the bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“the good and the bad!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just returned from the Akrotiri and felt I had to write a review based on our experience.
It started off so well, on arrival we were greeted well and upgraded to a superior room, this was probably due to only a few couples staying and easier for maids if everybody on same floor,(cynical I know)! It ended with only us and another couple for the last day/night so we were moved to another hotel in Corfu Town as the Akrotiri wanted to shut down for the season early (save on wages?), to be fair they did ask and it was a very good hotel they sent us too and we had an excellent meal at Rex's, but it wasn't what we had booked.

This hotel has left me with a dilemma, was it good and worth the 4 star rating or bad and really just another 2 or 3 star that charges 4 star prices?
First the good;
Stunning views from all areas of hotel.
Our 4th floor balcony looked out over sea without any trees in the way.
Pool area and infinity pool is one of the best laid out I've seen.
Good food at the pool snack bar.
Good public areas.
Good beach.
Free cycle hire.
Friendly staff.
Very good cleanliness.
The bad;
The food - very limited selection for breakfast, 1 type of yoghurt - cornflakes or oatmeal no muesli - 1 cold meat - feta or "plastic" cheese - no apples/bananas etc. etc. etc. Hot selection consisted of smoked sausage (also used in evenings) - some processed reclaimed meat product (definitely not bacon) - overcooked fried eggs.
The evening was 4 courses, (would rather have 2 good ones), unimaginative, bland, repetitive, overcooked, limited choice (omelette & kebab on menu every night). 4 star no way.
Music!!! Why is there Greek Pop/Greek cover versions of Power Ballads being blasted at us in the dining room? Please turn it down so people can have a conversation and traditional Bouzouki music might be a better choice.
Beach bar/restaurant closed. Annoyed, because this is one of the amenities you look for when booking and reportedly the meals were better than the main restaurant!
No entertainment at all, (yes only a few couples in hotel but we paid the same money as everyone else and should still have had some entertainment, and if there was entertainment, people might have actually used the hotel bar).
No draught beer in hotel bar at end of week, cocktails undrinkable.
Beds very hard, if you have a bad back you will not sleep.
Very small bathroom, nearly have to stand in bath to open door to get out!
MOSQUITOES. Hotel very bad for these little monsters. You will spend all your time swatting them especially at meal times ( hotel needs to invest in some insect lights or scented repellent candles for dining room).
The stunning views come at a price, you always seem to be walking uphill where ever you go! Not a place if you have mobility issues.

Not the hotels fault;
Paleokastritsa seems to shut down for the winter from October. We went 7th to 14th and streets are empty, half the shops closed, boat trips very limited.
Went to Nerieds Restaurant, (just down from hotel), highly recommended / beautiful setting, but, people having to have 3rd and 4th choice because restaurant didn't have what was advertised on menu because it was end of season.(But I would go back if earlier in year).
The weather, unfortunately it wasn't kind to us. Rain, thunder, lightening. Did have a couple of fine days but still to much wave stirring things up for diving/snorkelling.

Overall I would go back to Paleokastrista, just earlier in the season, its a beautiful part of the world filled with lovely people, but I would probably stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    185
    62
    25
    5
See reviews for
138
277
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Wonderfull holiday, lovely people, lovely place, views to die for. Hotel staff very friendly and work very hard to please, especially restaurant staff and the encouragable Andreas all made our holiday so much more enjoyable. Thank you Andreas for keeping us entertained and the beef recipe you gave us was delicious. Hotel does need some updating in places, but location more than makes up for it.

Room Tip: Breathtaking views from both sides of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaughan_m2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just spent a very relaxing week at this hotel.Our superior room on the 4th floor was everything we wanted and spotlessly clean with beautiful views.The staff worked exceptionally hard and made you feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.We found the food to be varied and plenty of it when dining in the evening.The breakfast was fine but a bit bland.You would not go hungry here but there are plenty of other restaurants if you preferred bed and breakfast only.Take a stroll to the marina and explore the other local beaches.The water is crystal clear but we needed beach shoes as quite rocky in parts.We strolled to the Monastry which is well worth the walk.Being fairly fit we also walked to the village of Lakones above the resort.We were told it would take 20 minutes but was an hour of very steep,rocky paths but the views from the top were well worth it. Also visited the resort of Kalami which was very peaceful.The best cocktails we felt were at Me Gusta on main road to marina.Great place to chill out at the end of the day.
We loved this resort but think it would be rather different in peak season as quite small.Hotel and surrounding paths not great for those with physical difficulties or pushchairs.The water is not easy for small children and beaches shelve quire steeply.
We would recommend this hotel above others in the area for quality and staff.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MedwayCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Excellent hotel, with fabulous views. Great room luxurious bed very comfy. Air con rooms. So close to the beach and amazing infinity pool. Would go back tomorrow. Paleokastritsa is a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joren35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is nice and clean, it has pools for children and adults, it locate near the beach (about 50 stairs). You will have great view from all of the rooms and the breakfast was great.
But I wouldn't expect else since you will pay much more than most of hotels around this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kadan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have just returned from a most enjoyable week in this hotel. As other reviewers have expressed there are some issues but the overall experience more than makes up for them.
We stayed in a superior room overlooking the open sea and the view was gorgeous. Sitting on the spacious balcony was so relaxing. It was very hot. Although the air conditioning did work, its effectiveness was reduced by its lack of control. Fittings and ventilation in the bathroom needed serious attention. The bedroom was fine.
The staff were brilliant. They were friendly and efficient and worked tirelessly to ensure the smooth running of the hotel. The breakfasts really need improvement and were poor in terms of quality and choice. The dinners were variable but again the atmosphere in the dining room was excellent. On several evenings there was live Greek music to accompany the meal followed by music in the bar and on the terrace.
The pool and surroundings were lovely and well maintained. The pool bar provided good food and drink and was reasonably priced.
Paleokastritsa was beautiful and the trip four kilometres up the mountain to Lakones was well worth it for the spectacular views. We ate at 'Bella Vista' which was good and friendly.
While there are a few shortcomings, the overall holiday was excellent and the atmosphere in the hotel is difficult to find in better rated hotels. If you want a friendly hotel that welcomes you with a definite local feel in a glorious spot with superb views then this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Choose a superior one on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heazille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Had we not paid for and expected 4 star standards we would be more favourably disposed to this hotel. There were areas which fitted the 4 star rating ,the area around the pool(excluding the many stained sun-lounger cushions)the terraced seating area overlooking the main beach and the restaurant . However the standard room in which we stayed was dated and tired. To be fair the view from the small balcony was great (beware of the mosquitoes in the evening)The grouting between the wall tiles in the bathroom was beyond grubby (black in places)and water came back up the bathroom floor drain when the bath water plug was released . There was no separate shower cubicle the shower hose simply being hooked on the wall over the bath with a shower curtain as a screen .The hotel also needs to revamp the lobby which is very old fashioned (the furniture would not be out of place on the set of the Forsyte saga).Choices for the buffet breakfast were limited they had only two breakfasts cereals generic cornflakes and oatmeal(No muesli) No Individual pots of varied yogurt. Also there was no omelette Chef present as is usual in a hotel of this standard. You might think ,what picky people but we save hard for our holiday and expect to live in semi luxury for one week of the year once we have paid for the privilege of doing so (If we had booked a 2 star hotel with these standards we would not be griping ,as you get what you pay for).On the plus side, the staff were happy and helpful and the hotel is in a great location .But If you are prepared to settle for an apartment in the area ,there are some available with Air conditioning at a fraction of the cost of staying at this Hotel(be aware however that you will not have the pleasure of mixing with the non congenial Russian tourists who only frequent this and other "high standard "hotels in Corfu )

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleokastritsa
7.9 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
5.6 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
12.6 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paleo ArtNouveau
Paleo ArtNouveau
#13 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marilena Studios
Marilena Studios
#5 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akrotiri Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akrotiri Beach Hotel

Property: Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Address: Paleokastritsa 49100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Paleokastritsa
#3 Family Hotel in Paleokastritsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Akrotiri Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Akrotiri Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Akrotiri Beach
Akrotiri Beach Paleokastritsa
Akrotiri Beach Hotel Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing