We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel in a Wonderful Part of Corfu”
Review of Odysseus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Odysseus Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel in a Wonderful Part of Corfu”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times since 1992. The staff are wonderful and will do anything to make your holiday a dream come true. I cannot rate this hotel and its staff highly enough. We will be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    87
    27
    8
    8
See reviews for
47
147
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We arrived back today and I couldn't wait to give our opinion on the Odysseus hotel in Paleokastritsa.
The flight with Thomas Cook went off on time and a bonus came with the transfer as there was only 6 of us and went straight to resort..
Check in went very smoothly and we were directed to our room 310. The room was very large with double and single bed.. flat screen tv and a lovely smell from the fresh flowers in the room. A good size bathroom with a modern shower, spouts coming out from everywhere and a drench .. I really want one of those at home now.. Ha ha..
But it was when I opened the patio doors and saw the amazing view over the bay that I knew we had chosen the right hotel for us and I recommend you pay the little extra for the sea view. It was stunning.. A nice size balcony that had the full sunshine from sunrise till later but was shady later on after the heat of the day.
The food was good, very Greek which is what we hoped as being on half board we did wonder if it would be more international and not traditional.
Your dinner table is allocated for you and you are seated for the duration of your holiday with another couple.. Our dinner mates were Deborah and Chris.. Hi guys.. Hope your journey home was safe. Thanks again for your good company..
It was a totally chilled out holiday and one I would recommend wholeheartedly..
The stars of this review have got to be the staff.. They work from morning till night always with a cheery smile and nothing was too much trouble..
I can think of nothing negative to say about the hotel.
The resort was very laid back quite hilly so be prepared for a walk up and down hill.. Take shoes you can wear in the water as it is quite stoney.
Definitely take the walk up to the monastery. The views from up there were super.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julestheboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Odysseus from 7 June 2013 for a week. We arrived at 3 am to be greeted by staff who was very welcoming and showed us to our room. I didn't like the room and asked to swop it the following morning which was done without any hassle. We didn't have a sea room but our garden room was fine. The views are stunning but be aware there are a lot of steps! Breakfast was buffet style and could be eaten on the terrace overlooking the bay - lovely. Dinner was an allocated table with another couple who were lovely so all was good (hi to Sylvia and George!!). Food was tasty on the whole and plentiful.

The resort is spread over several bays and it was quiet and tranquil and very very pretty. Plenty of local bars and tavernas very close to hotel if you fancy a change. The hotel put on 3-4 nights of entertainment each week on the terrace ranging from a duo singing covers to more traditional greek nights. The majority of holiday makers in the resort during our stay were generally more mature couples so we fitted right in!

We hired a car from a local company which cost us 95 euros for 3 days - getting the fourth day for free. The hotel organised it for us, far cheaper than through our holiday rep. This included all insurances etc but not petrol. Driving around Corfu is easy as its so small so we managed to see most of the island in the 4 days we had the car.

Overall we had a fabulous, relaxing holiday and wouldn't hesitate recommending the Odysseus to everyone.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have stunning views but i believe cost a little extra. We had a ground floor garde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nice hotel - very good rooms. View is amazing so definitely go for a sea view if possible.
Hotel seems to have been built over time as a lot of stairs so not great for the infirm. Pool area very nice but imagine it could be very busy at peak times. Restaurant very basic and food really bad so don't go for half board. Bedrooms beautiful and kept really clean with daily maid service.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gubnait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been to Corfu eleven times, however, this was the first time to Paleokastritsa. This will not be the last time. The place is just beautiful, and all the people we meet were lovely.
All staff at the hotel work very hard from morning to night and all try to please. We had room 305 for three people, we booked this for extra space. The views were spectacular, however, you really need to be fit as there are three lots of steps to get to the room, there is another way to the room but it is long winded and the lift only goes up to the second floor on this part of the building so you still have to walk up one lot of steps. This was ok with us as we found that by the end of the first week we were much fitter, not good for people with walking difficulties. There are amazing walks and we enjoyed these every day. The 300 year old donkey path up to Lakones was a real achievement, in fact, we done it twice, however, you do need good shoes.
The hotel was spotless, our room was cleaned every day and towels and sheets changed regular.

My ONLY MOAN was meal times, the breakfasts were ok, however, the evening meal was something else. They start at 8pm - 9.30pm, which is far too late for most people and found the dining room so small, it was difficult to pass to get your next course. Everyone had to share a very small table with another couple, we were lucky we shared with a delightful couple, however, there was no room on the table for our dishes as it was a tight squeeze. This was not a good experience as the noise was unbearable with waitresses running with trays in their hands, an accident waiting to happen. Sometimes the queues were so long we could not be bothered to wait. I know quite of a lot of people gave up and went to restaurants in the area.
The self serve salads were good, however, there was not much selection for the main meal,(the quality was good). Everyone had to queue for the main meal where a waitress asked us what we wanted and dished the food out for us.
I would love to rebook, but unfortunately, this has put us both off, such a shame. Perhaps they can try and resolve this issue.
1. Start the evening meal earlier, 6pm - 8.30
2. Maybe book in the morning for allotted times so that people do not have to rush and queue. 1st and second sittings.
3. No table sharing with another couple

If this is resolved we would have no hesitation to book again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel was clean, lovely grounds, staff very friendly, views from rooms were nice (inland and sea view), as was the view from the pool. Rooms were quite basic, but cool, clean, comfortable and a decent size.
Food was quite nice, not a massive selection, but nice nonetheless. Although I must say, I wasn't that keen on the hotels policy of making you share your table with other guests for evening meals - they should at least give you a choice.

Paleokastritsa itself was very quiet, Ideal for couples (especially middle aged/older), but not really a place for young groups/friends.

Didn't make much of the local 'beaches', when searching on the Internet, the photos look wonderful - however in reality i found that not the case. Paleokastritsa 'beach' has a main road running past on one side and a busy car park on the other, the smaller beach was quite dirty (smashed glass, plastic cups, litter) strewn across it and was very overcrowded. I think you need to hire a car/catch a boat taxi if you want to see proper beaches, of which there are plenty of in the area.

Some nice bars/restaurants nearby, most with beautiful views, good food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjboz06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We visited in September, the hotel was brilliant, splendid views from our balcony of the sea and surrounding area.
The bedroom was small but very clean and comfortable
We stayed half board, the food was a little repetative, however, there was always a good selection .
The bar and lounge area was very comfortable and prices were very reasonable.
The members of staff were brilliant, it is family run and the amount of effort put into every job they do , is to be commended.
There are quite a lot of steps, there is a lift to the second floor, but we were on the 3rd floor and had steps to climb.
Would we go again..... We sure will.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms face the sea , there a some facing onto the garden and there are a few suites that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank issiejosh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paleokastritsa
0.5 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marilena Studios
Marilena Studios
#5 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zefiros Hotel
Zefiros Hotel
#3 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Apollon - Annexe
Hotel Apollon - Annexe
#7 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.0 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.3 mi away
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
#2 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Odysseus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Odysseus Hotel

Property: Odysseus Hotel
Address: | PO Box 18, Paleokastritsa 49083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paleokastritsa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paleokastritsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Odysseus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Odysseus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odysseus Hotel Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing