We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Peaceful Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Paleokastritsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stunning backdrop to this ideally situated family friendly complex comprising 6 studios in the pretty resort of Paleokastritsa.A nice small swimming pool is great for kids, and all the rooms are clean and well maintained.A warm welcome from Angela,Stelios,Spiros and Spiridoula is guaranteed.Nothing is too much trouble for Angela whose cooking ability is excellent.The friday barbecue is not to be missed where you will also see traditional Sirtaki dancing.On other evenings if you give sufficient notice you can get delicious prawn saganaki plus other fish dishes or tender meat dishes in lovely sauces.The only place nearby to match Angela's food was Nausicas,another excellent restaurant for meat and fish dishes.
The apartments are situated about a mile from the main sandy town beach which tends to get quite busy,but we found a quieter though rocky beach below the Dolphin snack bar which was ideal for swimming and snorkelling.
A visit to Lakones for stunning views of the area is essential,preferably from the Bella Vista cafe. A trip to Corfu Town on the local bus( which we found to be reliable) is also recommended for shopping and visiting the old and new fortresses and Agios Spyridon church.
Back in Paleokastritsa,the beautiful Monastery overlooking the town beach is well worth a visit.
If you are looking for a bar with a stunning setting,take the steps down to La Grotta on the outskirts of Paleokastritsa, just past tne Akrotiri Hotel-and don't forget your camera!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fine
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerb340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Angel's Pool Bar Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 154 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Have just returned from 1 week stay at Angels Pool.

Great location, great pool, Angela and her family are most welcoming and Angela is a fabulous cook.

Located at the top of a fairly steep hill so may not suit young children or elderly.

Paleokastritsa is a beautiful place to stay, various tavernas line the streets with fantastic views, would recommend horizon taverna for an excellent value meal and lovely veiw from the terrace.

Angelas BBQ is a must, excellent food and Angelas Greek dancing is wonderful :)

Will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyLonghurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just returned from 2 weeks at Angels Pool. This is our third stay there (stayed 2009 and 2010) and it is still as good as it was the first time. Angela and her family make you feel so welcome. We have now stayed in studios 1, 2 and 3 and are clean and perfectly adequate for what you need. We spend most of our time in the pool or at the bar area which are both great. Angela's cooking is amazing and the BBQ night great value! There are some nice restaurants around and nice walks. the walk to Lakones almost killed us in 2009 so did the monastery one this time which was good!. Beach not too far away and the Harbour area is nice too. A fantastic place to relax and chill!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cranno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

What a brilliant place to stop. Angela and her husband are so friendly, and her cooking is brilliant. We had number 4 which is a 2 bed house with balconies upstairs and down with a stream below. There are only 7 apartments around the pool, no one putting towels on sun loungers and never crowded, the sun beds are wooden with the separate pads. The location is brilliant, it's about 50 metres off the road through Paleokastritsa up a small road. It's very quiet and relaxing with the mountains as a back drop. If you want a relaxing holiday with amazing views and a friendly atmosphere, then this is a must.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jireland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Very nice location only a few 100 meters from the beach. Also has a relaxing pool area with comfortable sun lounges, there are always a few spaces spare. There are only 6 apartments so the place is never hectic. Room 4 is a little house with 2 bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs and a living room and kitchen downstairs. Overall this is a brilliant hotel and I advise staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elite_LJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at Angels Pool from 6th – 15th June 2012. Every aspect was fabulous! Angela is the friendliest, warmest, happiest host you could hope to meet! She’s lovely to chat to and nothing is too much trouble. Her BBQ night was great fun, mountains of delicious food followed by Greek dancing and a live guitarist. The bar is light, airy and welcoming, and Angela’s home cooked food was stunning. Our room was fresh, clean and adequately equipped – we stayed in Angela’s winter bedroom – the bathroom was excellent with a large corner bath and hand held shower. A big plus point of the room was the insect netting over the bathroom window and the insect netting blind that could be pulled down over the patio doors, this meant we could leave the window/doors open for ventilation without getting eaten alive. We didn’t have a balcony but our bedroom opened out onto the pool area where we had very comfortable loungers (with padded covers) and a parasol right outside the door. The pool area is perfect - it’s not huge but as there aren’t many guest rooms it never busy. The pool and patio are very clean and everything feels well looked after and cared for. Angela’s place is a couple of minutes walk up a steep hill, but you soon get used to this, and it’s nice to be away from the main road.

Paleokastritsa – WOW! What an absolutely stunning place with truly beautiful scenery. We did a couple of walks through the olive groves on old mule paths to Lakones, the village above, where the views are spectacular, breathtaking! As you would expect, there are plenty of boat trips to take, including BBQs and a glass bottomed boat “The Yellow Submarine”!

Paleokastritsa is a long resort with plenty of restaurants and bars all being quite low key. This is definitely a place to relax and recharge – if you want a clubbers’ paradise it’s not for you. We particularly enjoyed eating at O Miraklis Grill, where the food was extremely tasty and reasonably priced with melt in your mouth souvlaki and heavenly moussaka! Our favourite bar was the Pergola Café bar – delicious cocktails and a very warm welcome from the friendly owners. It is well worth a walk to the Belvedere restaurant that overlooks the harbour – here we ate the most tender Kleftiko imaginable surrounded by beautiful views. Another bar of note is La Grotta, a descent down steep steps to a cliff-side bar for drinks, ambience and glorious location above the craggy bay.

We’ve visited several places in Corfu and this has definitely been our favourite. I’ve never really understood why people want to go back to the same place year after year and not experience as much of the world as possible… but now I’ve found my little slice of paradise, I will definitely return to Paleokastritsa as often as I can, in fact if I could only ever holiday in one place again, this would be it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoppyMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Angel's Pool Bar in the latter part of June 2012. The weather was in the 30’s every day and I didn’t see a cloud for a whole week. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday with no frills then this is the place for you. Situated half way up a steep(ish) side road, off of the main road, it is tranquil and pretty. The occasional car and taxi does drive up and down the side road, but there is not much passing traffic which is good.

The apartments are basic but very clean and it has everything you need for self-catering. I was travelling alone but was given one of the biggest apartments (room 6) which is actually part of Angela’s family home when the season finishes. It was very spacious with two bedrooms, a huge bathroom and a lounge/dining area. There is an air conditioning unit in each bedroom which was a godsend and the air-con unit is modern and quiet which is always a bonus! You pay Angela directly for the use of the air-conditioning – it wasn’t too expensive and worth every penny. Also payable locally was a safe that could be found in the wardrobe.

Ensure that you take a plugin mosquito plug to use in the apartment. I took one and wasn’t bitten once but a couple of the others didn’t take them and were bitten. Being self-catering you have to provide your own toilet roll once the one that has been provided has been used and don’t forget soap for hand washing. Both are cheap to buy in the supermarket just down the road. The toilet bins in the apartment were emptied nearly every day.

Wifi is also available, but was hit and miss inside the apartment, however by the pool and bar area it worked perfectly.

There are 6 apartments in all and they are all centred round a lovely pool area, the sunbeds are very comfortable and there is never a problem getting one. The bar area is nice and has everything you could possibly want to eat and drink at a reasonable price. The pool bar is open to ‘non-residents’ but as it is tucked away I didn’t see too many other people, apart from the occasional couple or family who were staying in the villas behind Angel's Pool Bar.

As others have reported, Angela’s cooking is second to none, but you do have to order well in advance, which may not suit some people. Including the BBQ evening, I ate there three times. The BBQ was fun and the food that was served was very generous and tasty. Everyone is seated and practically served at the same time, so that was great. If you are lucky, Angela and her brother will do a bit of Greek dancing too.

When walking down the hill to the main road, if you turn left and keep walking you will see a big sign for a beach on the right. This is a lovely beach and a sunbed and umbrella cost me 4 euros for the day. There is a bar on the beach that serves food and drink at very reasonable prices.

As for restaurants, again, turn left when at the bottom of the hill and there is a lovely restaurant called the Nausika Tavern. I had a delicious meal here – reasonably priced, good service and lots to choose from. Just next door to this restaurant is a supermarket. Or, if you keep walking, past the beach sign, you will come across a restaurant called Nereids, this also was a lovely restaurant, with delicious food and nice surroundings. I did see quite a few mosquitos flying around in Nereids but I didn’t get bitten.

If you keep walking past Nereids, walk round a sharp bend and walk up the hill, you will see a hotel in front of you called Akrotiri Beach Hotel. When walking through the gateway of this hotel, veer to the left and this will take you to their swimming pool which is actually an infinity pool with fantastic views. I bought a drink in the pool area and then spent the afternoon sunbathing, taking in the wonderful views.

If you turn right at the bottom of the hill when leaving Angel's Pool there is a bar and a supermarket and another restaurant close by. If you keep walking, following the road round, you will come across the Horizon Taverna Restaurant and the Belvedere Restaurant on the right, I heard many people say how good both these restaurants were, however I didn’t get to eat at either of them, as although I felt safe in the resort I didn’t want to walk back on my own late in the evening as part of the walk isn’t populated.

If you continue walking past these two restaurants you will come across another lovely little beach which is at the base of where the monastery is situated. There is also a small bakery opposite the beach where I did buy a very nice pastry! I did walk up to the Monastery which I very much enjoyed - the views are breath taking on the way up and once you get to the top. I would recommend that you go under your own steam and not pay for a pre-arranged trip. It is a bit of a circus once you get to the top with all the coaches etc, but the views are well worth going to see and to have a look round the monastery. The monastery is a working monastery so ladies, please ensure you are covered up. There is no fee to enter, but they do rely on donations.

Through my Thomas Cook rep I booked a boat trip to Paxos and Anti Paxos. The downside is that the rep told me it was an hour transfer from Angels Pool to the boat. However, I was picked up at 7am and didn’t get to the boat until 9.00am! NOT happy. The boat trip was good but it was a very long day and I didn’t get back to Angels Pool Bar until 8.30pm! Too long a day for me really. I had no complaints about the actual boat trip though.

Angela and her family work very hard and this is clearly reflected in the successful running of Angel's Pool Bar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Cherub71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paleokastritsa hotels
0.3 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odysseus Hotel
Odysseus Hotel
#3 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marilena Studios
Marilena Studios
#4 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Zefiros Hotel
Zefiros Hotel
#5 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paleo Inn
Paleo Inn
#6 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paleo ArtNouveau
Paleo ArtNouveau
#13 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel's Pool Bar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel's Pool Bar Apartments

Address: Paleokastritsa 49083, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Paleokastritsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paleokastritsa
#1 Family Hotel in Paleokastritsa
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Angel's Pool Bar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel`s Pool Bar Apartments Hotel Paleokastritsa
Angel's Pool Bar Apartments Paleokastritsa, Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing