We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definetly not come back.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Magemenou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Magemenou
Ranked #28 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Nikiana
Sibiu, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Would definetly not come back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I would start off by saying, that if you have any expectations from where you're staying, this villa is not for you. I had the pleasure, or unpleasure to be precise, to stay there for 7 nights. As we arrived there, we were welcomed by the hosts, wich was ok, but that's were the "ok" ends. As I entered the room, "the fun part" part had begun. The room was supposed to be a 3 person apartment, wich indeed was, but, the rooms were placed in a coach like way. Beside that, the rooms were tiny, just about the size of the bed. The bed matresses were more "rocktresses" than matresses. The balcony door lock of one of the rooms was broken and as a result, the door could not be closed/opened properly. The same room was not very clean at the time we arrived. On the other side, the other room was having a different problem. Half the space in the room was occupied by a big useless closef, wich was practically a big box without shelves. Also, one of the sockets was hanging out of the wall.
The bathroom was so bad, I could write a review just for it. It was so tiny and narrow; if you're a big/fat person, you can barely fit inside. The sink was placed in front of the toilet; you could as well sit on the toilet and brush your teeth at the same time. The bathroom window wich was right in the shower, was cracked, so you could easily cut yourself. Another problem was that the water was barely flowing when showering, sometimes it was also cold.
As we moved on, we discovered the disaster in the kitchen. The furniture was very old, and broken ofcourse. The drawers were collapsing and the cabinets doors barely standing in place. The kitchen was also very small; we were unable to take breakfast inside.
One of the good parts was the balcony, wich basically surrounded the whole appartment.
The following morning we discovered the poor quality breakfast. It was the worst breakfast I had in my whole life. Very little food, and unbalanced. They serverd tomatoes, yoghurt, honey and exactly 3 slices of bread. The coffee was more water than coffee.
The owners claim to have a private beach for their customers. The beach is basically a 2x2 m rocky piece of land. You can't even swim properly because of the big rocks in the water. To go there you have to go down a steep hill (10 minute hike).
Overall, I would not recommend this villa to anyone I know.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cookiem0nster12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMagemenou, Διευθυντής at Villa Magemenou, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay in Villa Magemenou.

All reviews are treated with the utmost care and time is spent analyzing the feedback provided.

We are very disappointed to read that your expectations were not met during your vacation in our lodging.

Nevertheless, as you were particular in your review, raising certain issues in terms of
facilities and services provided, we would like to take this opportunity to respond to these
claims.

I would like to say that in terms of the water issue, unfortunately you have a right point there.

There was a major problem with the water supplying system on the whole island this

year, all summer long. This resulted in low water pressure, and sometimes even in low

quantity of supplying water in the tap facilities. But this issue was general and beyond our

control. (As far as the water pressure is concerned. The hot water was never mentioned

as a problem by the guest while staying in the lodging).

From the data given, we assume that you were part of a small group of friends staying with us for 7 days and booked 3 rooms, a studio for 3 persons, a studio for 2 persons and a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 persons, September 7-14. Your room was a 2 bedroom apartment with mountain view.

To start with, we read that you agree that the room was indeed for three persons as

originally booked. The size of each bedroom is adequate for 2 adults. The size of the

bathroom is also efficient for an adult. The structure of each apartment is different and

definitely a matter of taste. No question about that.

But as respected and valued the opinions regarding matters of taste might be, the
particular issues raised, wildly exceed reality, to say the least.

The bed mattresses in all rooms are brand new and especially ordered for a healthy and

relaxing sleep. Some people might find them a little hard, but a proper hotel mattress

should not be too soft, as this is associated with bad sleep and health problems.

No balcony door lock was "broken" whatsoever. The balcony doors in your room are brand

new aluminium doors, but they are operated by means of clicking and releasing a switch.

If you had asked, we would be very happy to show you how to open and close these doors

properly, but this matter was never raised as long as you stayed in the lodging. A simple

question would be enough to resolve the difficulty you encountered.

As far as the other room issues reported: the "box"you mentioned, is a proper wardrobe

with drawers and hangers. The socket "hanging out of the wall", and the shower glass

matters, no report was given to us as long as you were staying here, and problems of

this kind may appear in hotels due to malfunction from a previous guest. Nevertheless,

similar issues can be fixed within a matter of minutes. No matter how hard we try to focus

on detail, and make sure that everything functions properly in each room, we cannot be

present in all rooms, at all times, attending everything. We prompt all guests to report and inform us when encounter a malfunction.

I regret to say, that the description of the kitchen and the words used

("disaster") are at least misleading. All cupboards, cabinets and drawers in the room are

in perfect condition and function properly.

Cleanliness is one of the most important issues in hotel industry and we are very diligent

on this field. The feedback we have from the vast majority of our guests show complete

satisfaction. But as we look into each case carefully, and try to investigate and check each

and every individual case, we have to say that the way you mention the cleanliness

matter is very general, ("The same room was not very clean at the time we arrived") and

we are not helped to find out whether there is a segment of accuracy on this report.

Furthermore, no complain regarding this matter was made to us during your stay, by

anyone of your company.

We were surprised to see that you also raised the breakfast issue. Again, the way you

express your views are misleading. You raise a matter of "poor quality" and then you

focus on the quantity. Neither of them is true. Our breakfast consists of fine local

products, at adequate quantities. Again, nothing was mentioned by your side when we

asked you about breakfast. The reply we had from your party was that everything was

fine. May be not all of the members of your company shared your views. We noticed that

some guests who were part of your own group reviewed our lodging in a very different

manner, rewarding us with a 9,2 score in the site of booking.com. It is a world of

difference of course, and everybody can express their own view, but each review is subject

to analysis and investigation. This is the only way a future guest can shape a clear and

fair view of the services provided.

Last but not least, the beach. We regret to say that this is a quite serious matter and the

size description ("2X2 m"), is downright false. The beach is rocky of course (our relevant

pictures depict the beach area in a very vivid way) as most of the eastern coastal side of

Lefkada, and the proximity is about 300 meters from the property via a forest path. But

the size information you provide is misleading, false and I have to say that this is subject

to an attempt of misadvertisement.

What really surprises me with your review, is that you stayed 7 consecutive nights with us
without ever raising a single subject, or stating a complaint. I would strongly recommend
you, to communicate with the lodging you stay in the future, in the case that you have any problems. Then the personnel is able to take proper action to resolve the issues-if any. Nothing can be done for your comfort when you have departed the lodging.

We strongly believe that we offer best quality services for our category, in very fair and competitive prices.

We welcome all fair and benevolent reviews in our efforts to improve our services, but
when it comes to unfair and false descriptions we have to respond. After all, we have to contribute, in order to help the neutral viewer and potential guest shaping their own opinion about
the facts and services provided.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
8
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Although the reviews read before making the choice were above average, I went there with some reluctance, due to the price I got for the booking. And I was right to do so. The so-called 2 bedroom apartament I got was more like a train coach, the two bedrooms were tiny, no place to put all the luggage, a long and narrow hallway and a small bathroom with a shower with curtain. The height of the shower place was not enough for me to stand up an have a decent shower, had to bend in order not to hit the ceiling. No way to hang the shower head to the wall, as the piece there was broken... This was not the biggest problem, but the lack of a living space, or at least a place big enough for 3 adults to serve the breakfast. No chance of doing that, so we choose to have breakfast on the big terrace in the courtyard. Facing the sea at sunrise, this was somehow compensating the rest. Compensating until we actually had the "organic breakfast".
We were not used to this type of food combinations, so it was somehow strange for us to have to eat yoghurt with honey and tomatoes for breakfast... and of course Olga's pie... no comment on that. The fresh fruit juice we had for breakfast seemed not to be what you call fresh, but in fact an ordinary tetrapack juice you can buy in any supermarket. But for the price we paid, we treated this breakfast as some kind of bonus, so... I'm not complaining, just reviewing.
The location is great, we even had a swim to the beach "down-under" (not worth the descend and ascent). Even if I can't ask for more considering the price paid, still some improvements and repairs would make everything more hospitable (small things that can make a difference).
If you're looking for a great location but a basic and not expensive accomodation, you can try this. If you are fastidious... try to pay a little more and have something better.

Room Tip: Try to have sea-view rooms, the ones facing the mountain are in fact facing the road, very noisy bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RadonBeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

we was in villa magemenou for 2 weeks and it was so wonderfull ,most of all we liked olga and dimitri our hostes they are so kind and smiling and allways ready to help we also liked their traditional and organic breakfast.if you want good vacation and good location go to villa magemenou.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hertzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Villa Magemenou it was the best choice for us!we had a lovely time in Lefkada!Dimitris and Olga so beautiful people kind and very helpful...we had a great room and a best sea view!So we hope to once again have the chance to return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zadri28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nikiana
1.0 mi away
Vergina Star
Vergina Star
#7 of 11 in Nikiana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.8 mi away
Philippos Hotel Apartments
2.6 mi away
Christina Studios
Christina Studios
#5 of 7 in Lygia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.7 mi away
La Casa Di Nonna
La Casa Di Nonna
#6 of 11 in Nikiana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
8.2 mi away
Poros Beach
Poros Beach
#212 of 318 in Lefkada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Magemenou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Magemenou

Property: Villa Magemenou
Address: Nikiana 311 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nikiana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Nikiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Magemenou 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Magemenou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magemenou Lefkada, Ionian Islands - Nikiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing