We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!”
Review of Red Tower

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Tower
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Nikiana
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the Red Tower too for one week and would like to describe it just with one word. PERFECT!
Amazing views, excellent Greek food, brilliant staff.Yes, the hotel is far from local shops and bars, but if your point is to relax, in my opinion the Red Tower is the best choice. Give them a chance, they worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank niko_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    88
    46
    28
    20
See reviews for
53
170
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Red Tower for one week commencing the 8th July and after reading a negative review just before travelling we were somewhat worried.
However worried we should have not...... this hotel has rustic Greek charm, fantastic staff and great food.
Transfer time from Preveza airport on the mainland to the hotel is around 45 minutes by coach offering some great views along the way.
We chose to upgrade and paid the extra for a seaview room which was worth every penny. Our room was at the highest point of the complex and as you can see from attached photos offered stunning views of the ocean and the mainland. We only had a shower in our bathroom but given it's size it was a bit like being in a wet room and there was always plenty of very hot water. We had one of the bigger balconies which was not overlooked, some of the rooms on the lower floors have small partitions seperating their balcolnies which means they are not fully enclosed or completely private.
Food in the restaurant is buffet style and we found it to always be plentiful and hot !!! Breakfast is served from 0800-1000, lunch from 1300-1500 and dinner 1900-2100 and we found there was always plenty of choice and we had no problem seating ourselves at a table whatever time we ate. Breakfast is a simple afair with mainly cold options such as fresh bread, sweet breads, cornflakes and fruit with options of fresh coffee and tea available. You will also find small sausages and hard boiled eggs on offer, there is not a vast selection but you have to remember when you stay at this hotel your doing things the Greek way and for them breakfast is coffee a couple of cigarettes !!!!! For lunch and dinner you always had the choice of two meats and a fish dish with a selection of rice and or potatoes and lovely Greek salads. All the food is cooked fresh that day and indeed is delivered from the local farm shop twice daily. If its variety your looking for then simply don't book this hotel as you will be disapointed but if its authentic Greek cooking packed with flavour made from local ingrediates then go for it. My husband and I both said it made a refreshing change to stay at a hotel which was not trying to cater for different nationalites but instead was offering their guests the chance to embrace the local cuisines and after all isn't that what going abroad is all about ???
The pool area was always clean and had plenty of sunbeds available however I would agree with a previous reviewer and say that the orange sunbeds are best to be avoided !!!! For me they were not a problem but my husband who is six foot found that they would easily stretch and collapse under him !!! We chose to sit on the terrace most days under the shade of the umbrella's or trees and watch the world go by. The swimming pool itself is very clean and there is a tide mark around the shallow end but this is caused by sun lotion and will certainly not cause you any problems nor is it unsightly.
The only negative comment I would make would be that there is nowhere to escape the heat during the day unless you want to sit in your room. The dining areas are outside and although covered from the sun this does not enable you to escape from the heat which for us was 40 degrees !!
If your reading this Red Tower then I would like to say thank you for a great holiday offering us a slice of Greece. Don't change the way you do things its great and most defiantely don't make any changes in the kitchen, the food is excellent. However if you can provide an area which offered the views from the terrace and aircon then that would complete your package and you truely would be on to a winning formula.
One last word of advice........ Andreas makes a mean cocktail so dont say you havent been warned !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor..... always worth emailing the hotel before you travel..... room 51 is a gem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank stgeorge31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed at Red Tower 24th June to 1st July. We were really looking forward to a fantastic time. Sadly although the views were spectacular, and the room was clean and spacious with a mosquito net over the bed (not all rooms had these). There were too many things that disappointed. 1. The food was constantly cold even when just brought up from the kitchen, and the snacks for all inclusive consisted of a slice of maderia cake with a cup of coffee. 2.The food was uncovered despite the many flies and wasps. 3. Whatever you do do NOT use the orange sunloungers I weigh 11 stone and mine collapsed under me these are the cheapest nastiest loungers I have ever seen. 4. The green tide mark round the tiles in the pool. 5. To me all inclusive does not mean I pay for ice cream or expresso coffee or have one choice of sweet and when it's gone it's gone. 6. They ran out of beer for 16 hours which I found ridiculous especially as staff were seen taking bottles of Mythos up to the bosses as they ate lunch angry does not describe what i thought of that. 7. Do not book a trip with Thomson go into Nidri and book a better boat for half the price. Lastly I must say none of these criticisms reflect on the hard working staff, who always had a friendly smile whilst working like trojans 7 days a week. Thats right 7 days a week, no days off for them. Shame on you Thomsons for encouraging these working conditions by endorsing this hotel. Will I return ? yes but to Nidri not Red Tower.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhoy1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, Kent
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at Red Tower on the beautiful island of Lefkas for an all inclusive week mid June and believe it to be one of the best Greek holidays we’ve ever had. I think the previous reviewers have said everything there is to say about the fantastic views. Our arrival (delayed as the plane had to land in Sicily to drop engineers etc off before proceeding to Preveza) was pretty chaotic with 6 couples quickly returning to reception stating they hadn’t got the rooms they had booked – including us. We had dinner and were eventually given our room at 22.15. We are used to the showers in Greece and this was no problem at all and if, at times, there was no hot water, we didn’t mind as temperatures were in the high 30s. We didn’t have a mirror in our room and although I am sure this could have been remedied we didn’t bother. We were, however, concerned about the lack of functioning external lighting outside our room; this was quite dangerous as there were many stairs to climb – but we did have a small torch with us which was absolutely necessary at night. Maria, the manager, and her staff were truly wonderful as were all staff. They worked tirelessly and happily - from the lovely girls who cleaned our room (and changed our sheets and towels frequently), to Nico and Andreas in the bar, the kitchen and waiting staff etc etc. We had no problem with the food at all – it was Greek, well cooked and plentiful. We did wonder about the ‘banana bandits’ and why people took handfuls of them to squirrel away – we never managed to get our hands on one! The hotel has a shuttle bus to Nidri but there is also a very good local bus service which we took advantage of. One negative aspect of the whole holiday was the lack of sunshades by the beautiful poolside. Sadly, beds with shades were frequently reserved for hours on end without people on them (bed bandits) a practice which really ought to be avoided but how this can be policed, I don’t know. One could, however, find shade on a chair on the terrace but not on a lounger. Secondly, there was a true lack of toilet facilities. There was only one unisex toilet on site for 50 rooms, with no light, but this we thought was attributed to the nesting swallows within! With the reduced luggage allowance of 15kg by Thomsons, I think it would be a nice gesture for the hotel to provide beach towels for guests To summarise - a wonderful holiday – meeting some lovely people – V&D, J&B and E&A – hello!

Room Tip: Request a sea view and insist, having paid for it, that you have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maggi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed at the Red Tower 10th to 17th June. We payed for a sea view room and what a view, probably the best ever. The room was very spacious with twin beds, table and chairs, sofa and kitchenette with fridge. The bathroom had a shower over the bath that had to be hand held as there was no wall fixing which was a bit awkward but manageable. We had air conditioning which wasn't effective even at night as the temperature was 41 degs, during the day, but the system we had was old and not everybody had the same so it was luck of the draw really. Maria on reception was brilliant and always tried her best to sort things out. We didn't have hot water for a couple of days and she tried her best to remedy this. The rest of the staff were superb. The young girls in the dining room were very good and Nico and Alex in the bar were very funny and entertaining. This hotel has recently changed from self catering to all inclusive and they are getting there slowly. The only thing they need to get sorted and rather quickly is the food, which was ok but there was very little variety, even the salads which are usually in abundance abroad, but every evening all we got were cucumber,tomatoes, feta cheese and lettuce.
The pool area is lovely but the weather being so hot there was a shortage of beds with parasols. We took the hotel shuttle bus into Nidri a few times and spent the days by the sea which was a little cooler and very pleasant. Julie the Thomson rep called every day and was full of interesting local knowledge and titbits of useful information. We met some lovely people and had great fun in the evenings.(there was no entertainment). All in all this was a super holiday and will be perfect when they sort the food out, which
I am sure they will.

Room Tip: Paying a nominal amount for a sea view was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank peacewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at the Red Tower for 2 weeks in May and this was definitely one of the best holidays that we have been on. I dont need to write a long review as the previous 3 reviews will tell you that this is a great hotel.
We booked a double room with sea view and was given a tower room with amazing sea views. We had a living room, kitchen and bathroom on the 1st floor and the bedroom and a bathroom on the 2nd floor. The rooms were very clean and we always had clean towels.
The food was lovely and there was always a good choice. The hotel staff are fantastic and work so hard to make your holiday special.
Lefkada is a beautiful island, the type of place that we would both like to move to in the future, no stress or meither.
We hired a car for 4 days and travelled all over the island and even drove to Parga on the mainland, which is worth a visit. It's great driving in Lefkada, as the roads aren't busy.
We are already looking to go back to this hotel later in the year.
Thank you Red Tower for a great holiday

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Manchester_LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Having spent many years travelling all around Greece, I thought I had a pretty decent idea of what it had to offer, but the Red Tower surprised me.
We had booked a late deal for my birthday and had never been to the island of Lefkada before. From the moment we landed I was amazed at how beautifully green and mountainous the scenary was, but even more surprised when we got to the hotel.
Situated on a hill top out on it's own, The Red Tower is set up very much like a brightly painted citadel. Anyone who's been to Portmeirion in Wales with have a familuar feeling when they arrive. The grounds are well kept and full of flowers, with spectacular views of the surrounding islands and mainland Greece, making it difficult to leave on day trips out!
The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious, with mosquito nets above the beds and plenty of room in the bathroom.
I'll agree the matresses are a little uncomfortable but that shouldn't deter anyone from visiting.
The food on offer well makes up for it, with many local dishes using fresh produce. Pretty much every night we had a different menu, all washed down with a glass or two of lovely greek wine!
The staff are amazingly helpful and friendly. Maria the manager was attentive and interested in everyone's opinions, from calling you a taxi to organising a day trip to Kefalonia, she couldn't do enough for us.
If you want a quiet night, then staying in the restaurant area makes for a peaceful wind down. If you want a livener, then head downstairs to the pool bar. The atmosphere is fun and relaxed, with a whole host of local and international drinks on offer, all served by two of the best barmen you'll ever meet - Andreas & Niko, Salut!
Even then ladies who clean the rooms are friendly and approachable, making this one of the best hotels for making you feel welcome from day one.
Own transport is mostly essential, with the walk to nearby Nidri taking around 45 minutes. Here you can hire anything from cars to quads, and I would strongly recommend anyone to do this, as Lefkada is one of the most beautiful islands anywhere in the world. From the nearby waterfalls in Nidri (which are STUNNING) to the untouched west coast via picture perfect Vasiliki
it's a real shame to miss any part of the island.
Overall this place makes for a fantastic holiday for anyone wishing to sample a more traditonal side of Greece, without the stresses of over populated resorts and hassle, but still with plently to see and do.
Thanks for making my 30th easier, I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank emma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nikiana
4.7 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
0.3 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nikiana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#6 of 76 in Lefkada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Eleana
Hotel Eleana
#3 of 12 in Nikiana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vergina Star
Vergina Star
#7 of 12 in Nikiana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Tower

Property: Red Tower
Address: Nikiana, Lefkada Island, Nikiana 311 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nikiana
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nikiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Tower 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Red Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Tower Hotel Nikiana
Red Hotel Nikiana
Red Tower Lefkada, Ionian Islands - Nikiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing