We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation and welcoming hosts”
Review of Hotel Eleana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Eleana
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Nikiana
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and welcoming hosts”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for a week at the end of May, booked as part of a package through Sunvil. The accommodation is very good quality, much better than the usual basic standard in Greece. The room was spacious, with a modern kitchen which was set aside from the main bedroom area, and the bathroom had a good powerful shower. The staff were lovely - always friendly and chatty. We opted to have breakfast for an additional 5 euros each a day, which was good, although could have included fresh fruit. There is a little fruit/veg shop across the road from the hotel which sells cherries, apricots, peaches etc anyway.

Nikiana is a fairly quiet resort, but we were at the start of the season. We ate at a few of the local seafront tavernas, which were all friendly and good value. Unless you just want to relax by the pool all week, I'd definitely recommend hiring a car to see more of the island which is really varied and interesting. We rented one for just a couple of days and went up into the mountains - just a few miles away from the resorts on the coast and you're in little villages where the women still wear black shrouds. We hardly saw any other cars so driving was easy. Karya village is well worth a visit - you can just sit in the square and watch the world go by.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSPLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My wife and 2 friends stayed in the hotel in early Sept. The Hotel was modern ,clean ,spacious and with everything to enhance the stay on the beautiful island of Lefkos.The breakfast was below the generally excellent standard of all the other services but our approachable and friendly host acknowledged this and said he would be reviewing this for next season. Early in our stay we had a problem with our room which was handled quickly ,efficiently and with the utmost courtesy by the staff and the problem was resolved at the earliest possible opportunity. Throughout our stay the hotel staff were wonderfully attentive and friendly and made our holiday even more special. Nikiana was quiet(which is what we expected and why we chose it) but the tavernas which were open ,were excellent and ,once again ,friendly and welcoming. A car would be a good idea to see the island which is spectacularly beautiful.
Great hotel.Wonderful staff .Beautiful island.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "new" Hotel area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

“First class hotel and very kind and helpful staff. Rooms were exceptionally good and a lot lot better than you would normally expect in the greek islands. We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone and if we are past again would be our first port of call.The resort was very quiet but had plenty of tavernas with beautiful sea views. we stayed for 4 nights on our way to Megannisi and if we had stayed longer would have definatly hired a car.

Room Tip: Do not worry about getting a good room as thjey all seemed of a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinKirkbyStephenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthonylees
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed for a week in September 2011. Overall, a good experience - as many others have written, clean, spacious modern hotel which aren't crammed in on top of half a dozen other shops/tavernas/apartments are quite a rarity in Greece, particularly on the smaller islands. This therefore deserves its good reviews.

The hotel sits back a little distance off the coast road, and so is reasonably quiet, although other than scooters we don't think that noise would have been a problem. Rooms are built in two three story blocks; we stayed in the one further away from the pool. On the plus side it was clean, spacious and comfortable. Good amount of storage space, a small but modern TV and DVD player, a reasonable sized balcony, good air conditioning and a small but functional kitchenette with a full sized fridge. What isn't clear from the hotel's own website, however, is that all of the 'studio' (ie basic) rooms have twin beds, even though they are described as double rooms (whilst the photo does show twin beds). Having requested a double room we were therefore condemned to spend a week in admittedly comfortable but undeniably single beds. Neither was there any way to 'improvise' a double out of a single - tried and failed on that front.

The bathroom was a bit of an enigma - whilst clean enough, it appeared to have been plumbed in by someone without a concept of a right angle - the toilet was not square to the wall, the bath mixer similarly. I'm also surprised that in a hotel which is not even three years old, the plumbing can still not cope with the concept of toilet paper. Many will argue that Greek toilet paper isn't designed to break down. I would argue: so change the design! Alternatively others have suggested that builders do not comply with the appropriate building codes. Again, I would argue - sort it out. This is 2011. Greece is the only country that can't seem to cope with the concept of a septic tank system not being compatible with loo paper. I won't put up with putting it in the little bin next to the WC any more!

For the first six nights we heard barely a peep out of other guests, but on our final night when a rather heavy-footed and loud-voiced couple occupied the room next to us, we realised that stud partition walls between the rooms are limited in their noise insulation capabilities. I've not read other reviews saying that noise is a problem, but we were made aware for one night that there is potential - I guess that these were simply noisy neighbours.

Breakfast is a buffet affair, and frankly was a bit disappointing. Coffee was of the flask variety, and okay, but not great. Other choices were limited but adequate - only the 'warm' menu item (eggs) changed day on day, but the cold items did become a bit samey after a week. Perhaps most disappointing was that fruit salad - in a country where you can barely walk a hundred metres without someone selling fruit - was canned fruit cocktail. Similarly, orange juice was - orange squash. Whilst nothing wrong with what was on offer, I'd suggest that investing in a coffee machine and upping the quality and variety of what's on offer slightly would be a real draw.

The hotel has a really good pool and outdoor area which is a credit to it. Clean as a whistle, lots of good quality pool furniture and a small pool bar serving drinks, ice creams and so on. It never seemed busy and is clearly very well run.

Other than that, staff were fine, and would happily assist in making arrangements, providing advice and so on, but didn't do so in an overly effusive way.

I'd happily return again, although you'd need to be aware that the eating options in Nikiana towards the end of the summer season are pretty limited. It's a nice enough little town and this is a good hotel which represents particularly good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonylees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here for a week at the end of last summer, the resort is very quiet in september and october which is great during the day when at the beach or poolside but not so great when every restaurant is empty. The apartments themselves were amazing, probably the best we have ever stayed in - everything is new and spotless and very high quality. Everyday for a week we were either on our own at the pool or at "busy" times there was one other couple. I would stay here again and look forward to visiting again.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ali_baba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Friendly staff. Cleanliness is really important to us.The rooms were spotless and newly renovated. In fact I must say the recent website we visited for the hotel did not do the rooms justice. They were actually nicer. Would recommend, especially for familes with children that need the space as well as the convenient use if a kitchenette. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumanovo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2011

It was a very enjoyable stay in Eleana, nice location to explore the island. The staff was wery helpfull.:)))) Beaches nearby can be organized better:(

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nikiana
1.7 mi away
Porto Galini Seaside Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Alexaria Holiday Homes
Alexaria Holiday Homes
#8 of 76 in Lefkada
100 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa Olga Hotel Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Vergina Star
Vergina Star
#8 of 12 in Nikiana
27 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aliki Hotel
Aliki Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nikiana
65 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alkyon Apartments & Villas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eleana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eleana

Property: Hotel Eleana
Address: Nikiana 31100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Lefkada > Nikiana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Nikiana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eleana 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly built modern style hotel, where our guests can relax in a comfortable atmosphere, offers 25 apartment style rooms with your choice of loft suites, every one of which has accommodation from 2 to 6 persons with air condition, plasma TV, DVD player, telephone, fully equipped kitchen, and bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubes.Hotel Eleana also offers: Swimming pool with children’s pool, Handicap access rooms, Children’s play park, Private parking, Reception, Lobby Bar, Elevator, Rent a car upon request. The hotel is located 50 m distance from the sea and 9 klm from the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Eleana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eleana Lefkada, Ionian Islands - Nikiana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing