We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a serious visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermes Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermes Apartments
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kolios
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worth a serious visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

This was our first visit to the island of Skiathos although we travel to a different Greek island each year,
We were not disappointed with either the island and more importantly the hotel Hermes.
The hotel was positioned in a location surrounded by trees and forest which added to the overall location.
The hotel has a supermarket attached to it although it has to be said that the prices are very high indeed.
The hotel staff are an absolute delight, a special mention for Denize who works with both a smile and efficiency in the hotel restaurant.
Talking about the hotel restaurant, we both agreed that the food was of a very high standard indeed - worthy of serious Michelin star consideration.
The pool area is kept clear and clean with no hazzards you find at some hotels.
If like us you do not drive, not a worry as the bus service is of a very high standard.
The buses run from Skiathos town to Koukounaries only. Each bus stop is numbered, Skiathos town terminus being 1 and Koukounaries 26.
Hermes is situated at stop number 13.
The cost into Skiathos town is a mere 1.40 Euros each, a journey of circa 15 minutes. Beware though, the buses can get very busy in the evening.
The buses run every 15 minutes with almost clockwork efficiency.
Skiathos town is a delight with something to suit all tastes.
The bars situated in the old part of the town are worth a serious look. Look out especially for the bars that have cushions on the floor. Although they look something of a posers paradise, and rather expensive, they are worth a serious visit.
Look out as well for the open air cinema, especially if Mama Mia is playing, well worth, a visit.
Our own personal favourite was a trip to the runway at Skiathos airport, literally at the end of the runway. Stand at the end of the runway and watch the incoming planes flying literally a few metres above your head - awesome. Video camera/camera/mobile phone cameras a must.
Overall, a wonderful hotel and island, with sumptuous food and wine, all tavernas and restaurant being of a high standard.
Any bad points to report on Hermes or Skiathos? Frankly no. Give it a go, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamWillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    98
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
77
142
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south east
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2009

We went to the Hermes in May and were very lucky to have had such nice weather. We have been a couple of times before and always stay at the Hermes as it has never disappointed. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the excellent staff.
We travelled with our daughter Grace who had a great time, we were also very lucky to have met such lovely couples and families who were also staying at the Hermes. I would recommend this hotel if you want some r & r.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pc1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

Upon arriving at the Hermes, I have to say I was a little disapointed as it looked as though we were going to be staying above a supermarket but looks can be deceiving. We were met by Chrissa who not only welcomed us and showed us to our rooms but even helped with the luggage! We stayed in apartment no1 which looks out over the pool and was really useful in case you forgot anything, needed a drink etc. The rooms are basic but they have everything you need. Could do with the AirCon in the bedrooms though - ours was in the living area so not much use at night. The pool bar and taverna were great with a good choice of food served all day and ice creams for desert for the kids in the evening. The supermarket at the bottom of the slope is well stocked but expensive. There are cheaper supermarkets but a bus journey away so you are kind of stuck. There are a couple of beaches 15-20 minute walk away but be careful what time of day you walk to them as there is no overhead shade. All of the staff on every level were excellent and will do all they can to ensure you are comfortable. A word of warning: the slope from the road which leads to the apartments, the pool, restaurant and bar is steep and could be a problem for some... but good exercise for others! May also be a little too quiet for some families especially with older children.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyDug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Hermes hotel/apts. It is up a short steep drive which you get used to after 2 days. Beautiful setting in what feels like a forest of pine trees. Very relaxing and tranquil. The rooms are very clean, spacious and modern. Some have sea view if you are up high. The pool bar/restaurant serves the best food on the island. We don't usualy eat in the same place more than once but we were compelled to keep going back, as we were guaranteed to get a very tasty well presented meal at a very reasonable price. The Chef and 2 others work extremely hard, from 9 o'clock in the morning until late at night. Denize the waitress and Nikko the barman also work very hard to please every one of the guests. Christos the owner is very friendly and hospitable. The bar can get a bit noisy at night with guests enjoying themselves but cannot be heard through the double glazing. The air con and safe are free which is rare these days. Well done to all the staff at the Hermes! have a great summer. Carol and Dennis room 310 12th June-26th June.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazBristol49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

we have been to this resort twice in a few years, and if i had my choice i would go back every year, just for the mozarella filled pitta and tatziki!
Say hi to Niko and George and Dragon, they are very welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freestyler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2009

Well what a fantastic holiday. The Hermes Appartments certainly exceeded our expectations! Excellent value for money, clean, well equipped spacious room with air conditioning and safe included. Good shower with ample hot water, fridge/freezer & well equipped kitchen.The staff were very friendly and the food in the restaurant was excellent both in terms of the quality and price. We stayed for two weeks and eat there at least six times. Christos (the owner )was there every evening and was very friendly & hospitable. Denise and Nikos(bar staff )were lovely, nothing was too much trouble.

Situated on bus stop 13 we found it very easy to explore everywhere. the bus took about 10 mins to get into Skiathos town (1.40 euros each) or you could either take a taxi (negotiable from as little as 4 - 8 euros) or take the water taxi from Nostos beach for 3 euros each. The bus was sometimes very crowded between 6pm to 8pm.

Eating out was brilliant, a chose of many lovely Tavernas. Here are our recommendations: Marias - Skithos Town, lovely Italian restaurant. Arrive early or you will have a long wait. Plakeys - Skiatos Town, Lovely views across harbour and very quitely situated. Difficult to find but go up steps beside Jimmy's bar on the old port and keep walking. Our favorite in Skaithos town was Koziakas Grill House just in the back streets of the Old Port area. Lovely tender grilled meat prepared and cooked in front of you, we paid at the most 30 euros for drinks, starters, maincourse, brilliant atmosphere! Dinos on the main street was good value fo money. Try Johnny's - Bus stop 12, Jimmy's and Green Park -bus stop 15, Paragosi - Bus stop 18.To be honest you won't fnd much better value for food and service than the Hermes!

Our favorite beach was Nostos - bus stop 12 (where the water taxi comes in), we found it very clean with a lovely Taverna and good toilet facilities. Two sunbeds and parasol would cost 8 euros per day. Other beaches nearby where Verrimilos & Kolios. Kolios was probably the better, but Taverna put us off as they over charged for our meal and drinks and didn't even apologise when we picked it up.

Don't bother with the Thomson trips, you can pick up better deals in th Skiathos Town for half the price. Thomson by the way way were absolutelty shocking. Our flight outbound was delayed by 3 hours because the computers had failed ( how did we manage before). I am 6'1" and the leg room was shocking on the plane, my knees were by my ears! i asked for a seat with extra leg room on the return journey and was told that it would cost me an extra 30 euros each!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XamSelwol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

Hermes Apartments are ideal and well located for a quiet holiday. The owners and staff are very accomadating and the place is spotless. Local transport is close to hand from buses, taxi's or water taxi which incedently prooved to be the cheapest and most enjoyable form of transport. We walked into Skiathos Town and Troulos which took around 45mins, lovely views en route. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pooleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolios
2.4 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#6 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#2 of 6 in Kolios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#54 of 88 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#3 of 14 in Skiathos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Apartments

Property: Hermes Apartments
Address: Kolios 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kolios
Hotel Class:1 star — Hermes Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermes Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Apartments Kolios
Hermes Apartments Hotel Kolios
Hermes Apartments Skiathos/Kolios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing