We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant one of the best in Skiathos”
Review of Hermes Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermes Apartments
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kolios
Certificate of Excellence
leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Restaurant one of the best in Skiathos”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We did not stay at the Hermes but walked to their restaurant 3 times during our holiday
Very welcoming and well run by the 2 guys who looked after us
Great menu with Pizza oven on site and very reasonably priced
Compared to most of the other eateries around I reckon this is right up- there

Room Tip: Did not stay just ate at the restaurant 3 times
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briandurham6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    100
    27
    20
    13
See reviews for
83
164
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I really am surprised that no one had mentioned the music that booms from the bar until the early hours in the morning(4am) which meant very little sleep. We didn't expect fantastic accommodation as this was relatively inexpensive. The furnishings reflected this. We had the largest apartment with 3 bedrooms, the double bed was barely 4ft wide but the single beds were ok. As others have mentioned we did not have hot water and the shower was hand held, which is not unusual in Greece.

Because of the noise we checked out after the second night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I can't believe 3 people have marked this place as terrible. Maybe they need to take a good look at themselves.
We've had 5 years at the Hermes, and we've just booked to go back next year, that's a full 340 days before we return. Surely this must say something.

We have to bear in mind that it's a holiday villa, sometimes, greedy tourists might use all the hot water before you. This cannot be helped.
Occasionally things break, (probably caused by disrespectful holiday makers), in the unlikely event that something should be a miss, the team at the Hermes are usually on hand to put things right. Typical Greek style of course.

Self catering has always been sparse on Greek holidays, I should know, iv'e been going to the Greek islands for almost 30 years, but then we don't go there to spend two weeks cooking, we go to relax and let others do it for us.
The kitchenette facilities in Hermes are adequate enough to knock up something simple and quick, be realistic though and don't expect to prepare a 3 course Sunday lunch.
2 rings, a few pans, kettle, toaster, sink and small oven should you so desire.

Talking of cooking, there are some nice places to eat in Skiathos. The Hermes being one of them. The food is really top notch, we usually eat there at least 4 times during our stay, which is more than any other restaurant/taverna.

I think Chrissa and her team do a marvelous job in entertaining and looking after their guests. Next year will be our 6th year, and we'll probably go back in 2015.

Skiathos is an expensive Island.
In my opinion, you'd be hard pushed to find anything better than the Hermes for all round satisfaction and on the same budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keat63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at the Hermes for 10 nights in August 2013. Booked it as a package through Thomson after reading good reviews on here. We enjoyed our stay and the Hermes matched our expectations. The apartments are fine with fridge, cooker, enough space for storage and a patio. We had a ground floor room so our view was into some trees so if you want a view ask for a top floor room. Towels were changed every three days but bathroom floor mats a bit tatty. Safe and air con were free but air con is centrally controlled and not that good. It emits a vinegar like smell for the first few hours it is on. Pool area was clean with lounges and bar/restaurant area. Pool more for kids fun than actual swimming. We did not eat in the restaurant as we like to get out and about but best food we had was at Taverna Stathis just across the road. The Hermes is about a 15 to 20 minute walk into Platanias were we liked Jimmys, green park and plantains taverna. Johnnys is only a 10 minute walk the other way was nice also. The buses are excellent so we went into skiathos town a bit at night although it is difficult to get on a bus at 8pm ish as they are fully transporting Greeks back to town from the beaches. Go earlier or later is my advice as Hermes is at bus stop 13 out of 26. Two good beaches are within 10 minutes walk (vromolimnos and kolios) and plenty of other beaches accessible by bus our favs being Elias, Mandraki and trolos. Did the island hopping boat trip through the rep but wished we had booked it ourselves as the boat was massive and crowded with three hundred people or so. Some great bars in town such as Kentavros and very easy to get late bus or taxi back. Overall the Hermes offer a good service for the price you pay. Don't go with unrealistic expectations and you shouldn't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimCo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We've returned to Hermes for the second time, having never done a repeat visit to any other holiday destination. The apartments are basic but very clean and welcoming despite hard beds which we understand is common in Greece! The location is fantastic - half way between the town and the last bus stop and very accessible to local beaches. Having a supermarket at the bottom of the driveway is very handy! The pool is large and great fun for families and gets the late afternoon sun. Would definitely recommend to anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreamclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Late review, we went to Hermes in 2012 but loved it, loads of easily accessible beaches, great bus services, everyone adored kids (my 4 yr old went free on buses, water taxis and was given free ice cream in many places). Lovely restaurant food all over the Island, esp at Hermes, great cosmopolitan vibe in town (since mamma mia I think) and great boat trips. Loved it all, only complaint was main swimming pool too deep for me. Will return x

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I wasn't going to write a review on the Hermes Apartments, but seeing one or two of the reviews I thought I would. Our room was on the ground floor of the first block, it was basic, as I am sure all the rooms were, but clean. We had no issues with the quality of the towels or bed linen, again they were basic in quality but changed on a regular basis. The kitchen plug sockets were in wierd places, must be Greek thing as we had the same in Kefalonia, still you adapt. The toaster went on top of the fridge/freezer and the kettle on the side of the sink. I never did work out how the little cooker worked, but then I didn't ask and had no need to. The bathroom is a wet room, so no real need of a shower curtain, it just meant the floor towel got a bit wet. Yes the hot water is a bit iffy, however we were warned by the Thomson rep that was the case, and only had one day of of 11 when it was actually cold, to be fair though it does need looking at. Free aircon and safe is pretty unique, but if people keep on taking the key fob off so they can run the aircon while they are not in their apartment. its likely not to be next year. Whats the point of cooling a room if you are not in it? Couldn't fault the pool bar/restaurant and the 2 guys that run it, they were always pleasant and could not do enough for you. We also ate at Johnnys and the Kanapista Tavern on a couple of occasions. As with almost all of the Greek Islands, Skiathos is only really "open" for 5 months of the year, and like anywhere you get what you pay for, if you want 4 star, pay and stay in a 4 star. If you want good value for money in a nice location with nice people then the Hermes does just that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolios
2.4 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#1 of 5 in Kolios
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arco Hotel
Arco Hotel
#6 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
84 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belvedere Hotel
Belvedere Hotel
#77 of 83 in Skiathos
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Kanapitsa Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Apartments

Property: Hermes Apartments
Address: Kolios 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kolios
Hotel Class:1 star — Hermes Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hermes Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Apartments Kolios
Hermes Apartments Hotel Kolios
Hermes Apartments Skiathos/Kolios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing