We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SO GOOD ,WE ARE GOING BACK THIS YEAR.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hermes Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hermes Apartments
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kolios
Certificate of Excellence
walsll
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SO GOOD ,WE ARE GOING BACK THIS YEAR.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am confused about all the negative comments that i have been reading about the Hermes,my son and myself stayed here August 2012,we had such a great time and recived such help and advice that we are due to return again this year.[ this time hubby is coming too ] We found all the staff to be helpful and they went out of their way to answer any of our questions .we stayed in room 403 and although not a huge room,it was clean and cosy with a fantastic view,it is certainly not the worst place i have ever stayed in and that is not saying that im not fussy or would not complain .... because belive me if i have a problem i let the world know about it .. we only slept in our room we didnt ever intend to go all the way to Greece and stay in the apt half the day,so it fulfilled our needs. We travel to Greece every year so maybe we are used to the layed back easy going way they do things , what a lovely way to live, bring on our 2013 holiday at the Hermes . Skiathos is a beautiful island full of magic .

Room Tip: room 403 has brilliant views and is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dawnep_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    98
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
77
142
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just spent a week in a studio apartment. I had looked at reviews before we booked and decided to make our own judgement once we had been. As with other comments the accommodation is very basic for self-catering but we decided to eat out in the evenings so only needed to organise breakfasts (would have had no probem sorting salads etc). Granted due to the end of the season the nearby supermarket was limited with stock but we could have gone to others in the town if we had wanted to.
Yes the shower curtain did not reach the floor so it got wet but we coped. We also experienced lack of hot water, thought the first time this may have been due to us arriving back late and everyone having showers etc but when none the following morning my husband found George who went and pressed the right button. Happened again following day and reported again, no problems after this. The beds are firm but again found them quite comfortable and slept well - this is always a personal preference and woud be difficult to suit everyone. We agree not the most luxurious but have stayed in worse, but acceptable and didn't distract from a very good week.
The food in the restaurant was fabulous - again good comments from other reviews, we ate there every night in the end. George, Denise & the chefs were brilliant.
The pool & sunbeds area kept clean and tidy.
Skiathos is a lovely island and we shall definitely return and to the Hermes - good central position.

Room Tip: Believe upper rooms have a better view, lower ones have the undergrowth as an outlook but ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walks4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEISTON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked this holiday just 2 weeks before leaving & only booked it because of the price, we were hoping for a 4 star half board but ended up with a 3 star self catering. The apartment was clean but basic, it had a digital safe & air conditioning at no extra cost which is unusual on the island we were told. The beds were 2 singles the wardrobes & chest of drawers were a bit dated but it wasn't really a problem. The bathroom on the other hand was a bit of a disaster with a very low shower tray with a curtain that was about 1 foot off the ground & kept getting the floor very wet, we lowered it down but the maids raised it up again. The water wasn't always hot but as the weather was so good it wasn't to bad. Beware they tell you to not flush your loo paper but to put it in the bin. We were in room 301 which is on the 1st floor & near to the pool & restaurant it was ok but i'm glad we weren't on the floor below which would have had no view at all from the balcony, at least we could see the sea & mountains in the distance.

The pool bar restaurant is very reasonable with many main courses between 7 & 10 euros, we found the quality of the food excellent but the service a bit patchy. We also ate at johnny's bar just down the road which we found ok but preferred the pool bar. The bus stop (13) is across the road is only 1.60euros in to Skiathos town which has lots of places to eat & drink.The supermarket is very near but is quite expensive & not that well stocked.

You can walk quite easily to 4 local beaches which we did, our favourite was vromonolis where the water was the clearest I have ever seen with lots of small fish swimming around your feet. The sea was a pleasant temperature to swim in, just beware the apartments are up a steep hill & there are other hills to negotiate to get to the beach.

On arrival & departure your cases are taken on a luggage truck which seems bizarre but somehow works. The airport is very small & the runway one of the shortest in Europe, we had an overnight stay in Athens as our plane had a braking issue & couldn't land due to length of the runway.
We went on boat trip to Skopolos & Allonosos via Thomson which was good but a long day, people who have been before seem to go on one of the many boats from Skiathos Harbour which are much cheaper.
In summary the island has lovely beaches, glorious weather(while we were there) but is very laid back with not that much to do, the Hermes is a value for money accomodation but if your looking for something luxurious this is not for you, we enjoyed our late sunshine break.

Room Tip: The highest floor rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SONOF62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am shocked at the amount of good reviews these apartments have received. We have just returned from a week there and do not feel the reviews are giving an accurate reflection on the standard of accommodation. Perhaps the "good" reviewers must have lower standards than us if they think this accommodation is very good, because it certainly is not good at all (when compared to other Thomson 3* apartments and 3 star, A rating accommodation in general). The only good part was the Hermes Restaurant (George and Denise and the super food made by the resident chef). The reviews about the great food and service are absolutely right!

The Bad points:
When we arrived (4 of us) there were only 3 sets of towels and cutlery (took 2 days to give us the 4th set), 3 lights were out in the already very dingy, drab and tatty apartments. One of the faulty lights was over internal steps and as two of our group were older people, this was a health and safety concern. There was also no rail to hold onto next to the steps. One of the bedside lights would not switch off, so each night we had to unscrew the hot bulb to turn it off until they got an electrician in to try to fix the faulty switch (2 days later).

There was black mold around the one of the showers and all week we had only cold water (no hot water all week! The rep admitted they had the same problem a few weeks before too!). The shower curtain didn’t go to the floor so all water splashes into the small shower rooms making it dangerously slippy. There are no rails (health and safety issue) for people to hold onto while in the shower or for getting out.

There was a sewage smell coming from the upstairs "wet room". That room was a joke too, we were told the apartment had two shower rooms. The one at the top contained a tiny sink, the toilet and a shower head attached to the wall very close to the toilet. It was unusable even if there had been hot water for showers because the water would go all over the toilet and it would have been very slippy too.

The mosquito nets in one of the bedrooms was loose and damaged so we couldn’t have the window open. This was never fixed. The so called "double" bed is NOT a double. It is a 3/4 bed and it was shoved against a wall with a wardrobe at the end of it so there is no room for one of the occupants to get out without crawling over the other person or asking them to get out. That particular bedroom was very small but speaking to other guests (who were also unhappy with the Hermes), they said they had the same situation in their apartments too.

The "activities" appeared to be a pool table which looked like it was very old and had a ripped cloth so was unplayable. The superb views are not quite as was described either but admittedly, we could just about see a small section of sea. It’s really just trees you look at unless you walk near the pool and you can just see some hills in the distance.

We found the owner (a lady) to be uninterested, lacking in customer care and unhelpful, so we spoke to the rep who organised the repairs to the lights and for extra towels and cutlery. He said that as it was the end of the season, maybe she had "just had enough now" but when you are in the hospitality industry, you always have to do the right thing for customers, whether it’s the end of season or not!

Car Hire- we pre booked via Thomson before we went to Skiathos and were told the Herts car was fully insured. However, when we collected the car we were taken to the Hertz office where we had to pay a further 48 euro for "full insurance". We are taking this up with Thomson in addition to the other matters which we are very unhappy with regarding the accommodation.

When we raised the issues of the accommodation and car hire with the rep, on the morning after we arrived, he did offer to move us to a hotel but only if we paid up to between £138-£350 more each! As money is tight, we had no option but to stay. We had to boil kettles of water to wash up pots and have a wash. It was very poor indeed considering we had paid £600 each for 1 week.

Thomson’s online brochure states this:-
"The apartments themselves have been recently renovated, so everything’s bright, spacious and well-equipped. White walls, tiled floors and rustic wooden furniture offer a taste of authentic Greece. They vary in size, too, with the largest ones sleeping up to seven. Plus, they’ve all got fully-fitted kitchens and private balconies, so rustling up a meal and dining al fresco go hand in hand"

Recently renovated? I think not! They look tired, outdated and we had mold growing on the so called "white washed" walls which were dirty grey with the mold. Spacious? No way. Ours was a two bedroomed apartment and we were told it was one of the biggest. The double bedroom was so small you couldn’t easily fit two people in when wanting to get dressed as it was very narrow (see photos). Fully Fitted Kitchens? Yes there are fitted cupboards but I wouldn’t say it was fully fitted as there was no microwave and the old kettle's lid would close fully. Also the kettle and toaster were both next to a sink so was dangerous! One fellow guest said he couldn’t boil the kettle at the same time as using the toaster as the fuse would trip!

Inside the apartment there was just one small sofa which looked dirty and smelled. There was not enough seating for 4. There is no microwave and only 2 of the 4 rings on the cooker worked so we eat out each night instead. The lounge area is very small. We were in apartment number 2.

Please note that the steep hill is also very uneven ground and one of the guests we spoke to had twisted her ankle walking up the hill.

The good points:
The food and service at the Hermes Restaurant was faultless. Prices were very fair and the house wine was very good value indeed. It is sad that Denise is leaving though as she really was brilliant and customer focussed. Without her, maybe it wouldn’t be the same.

The location was good as we had a car and could drive into town (about 15 minutes) or go to watch the sunsets towards Banana Beach. There are nice beaches close by though as other reviewers have said.
I believe this is an honest and factual summary of our experience at the Hermes. We would not recommend it if you are looking for 3 star, A Class standard. It’s tired, in need of renovation and just a simple thing like having a welcome pack would have been a nice. We won’t be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sadmuppit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester- england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We have been to skiathos 2 times before and had been to another apartment complex before , this time we booked the hermes, and loved it, right on the bus stop, 5 minutes walk from both vroliminos beach , a bit of a climb over the hill, this beach is busy, Kolios beach, beautiful, turn left at the stathis restaurant then immediatly right, walk for about 3 minutes down a stoney path and you are there ,STUNNING,,,, And peaceful,
The managment and staff at the HERMES are great, friendly, Chrysia and the team seem to work forever, nothing is too much trouble, we had no issues with the apartment, apart from the one thing, there is a pull out single in the lower part of the room, it may be better as a bed/ settee , as apart from the beds there is nowhere to sit, apart from the outside table,
The landscaping at the complex is wonderful to see and smell, and i read on a review before we left about wasps, we where never troubled and hardly saw any, we saw a few hornets , but again no problem,

The buses are an issue , but they always have been, i love the place and cant wait to go back,,,,,, see you all at the hermes next year,,,,,

The hermes have a restaurant and some nights you need to book a table, the food is beautiful , the 2 chefs really turn out good food, nicely presented and resonable prices,,,,

Whilst in skiathos one night we found just off papandantis street, a lovely restaurant called the 'o pararoxus' a little hidden gem, try it, stunning

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank deeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed at Hermes apartments early to mid August 2012. Absolutely brilliant. great atmosphere, wonderful restaurant, superb staff. Rooms, basic but clealn and well serviced. The whole island is amazing, beaches, tavernas scenery all great. Whatever you want Skiathos has got it. Go on th Argo III sail boat trip it is brilliant, recommended in Lonely Planet book. Hermes was great value and worth every penny. PS Enjoy the landing and take off.......

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our fifth visit to the island, usually staying in the Troulos area, but enjoyed the change of location and the local beaches, Kolios beach being our favorite, as it was calm and clean, sunbeds and a brolly 8 euros and a basic but acceptable taverna, serving a small selection of hot food and sandwiches.
Hermes would have got the five stars had it not been for the slight problem when we arrived, we were shown to a room which hadn't been cleaned and still had shoes and toiletries belonging to the previous guests. I had e-mailed and requested a view, which this room (304) did have, but we then had to move to a ground floor room which they were very apologetic for, saying it was a mistake by the cleaners not preparing the original room. They offered to change us the following day, so it just meant a bit of inconvenience not being able to unpack and get settled straight away.We are pretty layed back so just accepted it was a genuine mistake and didn't let it spoil the start to our holiday and it was worth changing for the view of the sea and the hills and the sun going down.
Hermes provides a good location with an excellent restaurant, good value for money and staff were attentive and service good. The hairdryer never worked as the socket was hanging off the wall, but I had taken my own and just plugged it in to another socket and we gave up on the safe and just locked things in our case.Air conditioning good and free.
Hired a Jeep whilst we were there and visited the dog shelter many times to walk the dogs and burn off some calories! Loved Elani Beach and Big Banana and visited Kastro again which is very interesting, if a little rugged (take decent walking shoes, not flip flops).
Favorite place to eat is Lynhari which is behind the school, you do need to book as it is so popular. Also liked Stathis Lia which is a five minute walk down the road on the left from the Hermes, fish was fabulous and at 13 euros a bargain, service was very chilled but we were not in a rush and enjoyed the break in-between courses. Infinity Blue as good as ever and Harry from Troulos Hotel is now working there to our surprise, as he has been at the Troulos Bay Hotel forever!
Word of warning - Rock and Roll Bar in town charge 10 e for a small bottle of Mythos, justifying by saying you get one free! Cocktails start at 14 e and shorts 12 e. Lots of other nice places to drink without paying over the odds. Albatross on the main street worth a visit and Portabello still good value.
If you decide to hire a Jeep before you go, just be aware that George Rent a Car (behind the school) says on the website 'insurance included' so what seems like a cheap deal isn't, if you decide like us to upgrade to fully comp insurance at an extra 8 e a day, there was also a 650e excess which made for nervous driving. With hindsight I should have checked when I e-mailed him for the details if it was fully comp and what the excess was, lesson learned. Another couple at the Hermes got one through the Thompson rep and had no excess and fully comp and actually got a better price. George rent a car took our credit card swipe and signature, saying it was for the insurance but they didn't give us any paperwork saying we had paid for fully comp insurance, so am a bit dubious as to how they processed this.
Will be returning again next year, as this is a beautiful island with lovely people and although we have traveled to other European destinations, we always get drawn back to Skiathos. Would go back to the Hermes to eat, but found the beds very hard on the back. Room cleanliness was great though and we had three changes of bedding and towels in our 10 day trip, so no problem with that. Good value for money and good location earned it four stars.

Room Tip: 304 has a view of the sea and is on the second floor, so not too many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WiganHolidayBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolios
0.4 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#2 of 6 in Kolios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
Plaza Skiathos Hotel
#54 of 88 in Skiathos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Margi House Apartments
1.2 mi away
Kassandra Bay Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Apartments

Property: Hermes Apartments
Address: Kolios 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kolios
Hotel Class:1 star — Hermes Apartments 1*
Number of rooms: 126
Also Known As:
Hermes Apartments Kolios
Hermes Apartments Hotel Kolios
Hermes Apartments Skiathos/Kolios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing