We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self catering at it's best!”
Review of Demetris Hotels

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Demetris Hotels
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kolios
Reviewed August 8, 2009

This place is just far enough from the busy main road and a gentle up hill stroll from the beautiful sandy beaches of Kolios and Agia Paraskevi. Approximately 10-12 mins walk.
The complex is set at the end of a road on a hill side amidst olive and fig trees and is surrounded by a beautiful pine forest to one side and overlooks the aegean sea to the south.
There is a small and well maintained garden that seemed to attract butterflies in the morning. The pool is small, clean well maintained and very quiet. There is a small shaded seating area with a basket of books.

Accommodation:
There are five studios on the ground floor with own small terrace (south facing inland view) and access to the garden. There are another five studios above these with sea view and balconies. There are a few more studios further up the hill with own terraces.
Bathrooms and kitchens are newly fitted to an adequate standard. All areas are clean, tidy and well maintained. Some rooms have air conditioning which carries an extra charge and those that do not can hire a fan for a nominal fee.

The landlady, Varvara, and her daughter, Filitsa (who is fluent in English), are very welcoming, excellent hosts and always willing to help. Being a hidden gem, it seemed to attract like minded visitors looking for a quiet, peaceful and relaxing holiday.

Olympic Holidays customers have access to the nearby Xanthi pool bar with beautiful hill views owned by the very welcoming Matina and Bill.

There are lots of tavernas and restaurants in kolios . However, Green Park (great atmosphere, good service, value for money) and Infinity Blue (great sea view) were our favourites and are all within walking distance from Demetris.
There is a very nice restaurant in Kanapitsa by the sea (very good food) but you would need transport as it’s off the main bus route. Taxi from Kolios costs 8 euros.
Lots of others tavernas and bars can be found in Skiathos town (Plakes taverna in the old town has a nice sea view) a 20 minute bus ride away and costs 1,40 euros each way. Buses are very frequent and run until 1:30 am but can be very crowded at certain times and might not stop at Kolios. (bus stop 15).
Taxis to Skiathos town can cost anything between 10-12 euros.

Most beaches are clean and quiet. Koukounaries is crowded but beautiful sandy beach backed by a pine forest. Sunbeds & Umbrellas for 8 euros a day all around the island. Expect to pay tourist prices for snacks and drinks on the beach. A sandwich and a drink can cost up to 8 euros.

We met a family that was on their fifth visit to Demetris studios and we too are thinking of returning there later this year. Would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants a tranquil self catering holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagofspanners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Demetris Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 79 of 79 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2009

Just got back from a wonderful two weeks at Demetris studios. If your looking for self catering apartments which are basic, clean in a quiet location but with in easy reach of the rest of the island then I would definitely recommend this.

The demtris consists of about 12 or 14 rooms located up a easy track about 5 to 10 mins walk from the main road. (not suitable for those with walking difficulties)

This was our first trip to Skiathos and we're really taken by the place, the bus services is superb to get you to most beaches and skiathos town. There are enough tavernas within walking distance of the apartments and also the bus into Skiathos town is only 1.40 euros and runs every 15 mins.

The beaches are wonderful.

If you want a quiet relaxing holiday this is the place to go, if you have children or need to be entertained whilst on holiday it's not for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neilpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We booked a 'last minute' holiday to Skiathos, having stayed in Troulos previously. The Demetris at Kolios was a leap of faith...but it paid off! A small, quiet, superbly looked after complex, tucked out of the way up a (concreted) track near the Infinity Blue restaurant. We enjoyed sea views, peace and quiet but all within a five/ten minute walk of bars and Taverna's. . Green Park is FAB for meals...don't order a starter as well as a main meal or else you won't be able to MOVE!! (Jimmys is also very good.).If you have teenagers or children in prams, it may be too quiet or inaccessable, but if you want a get away from it all base to go walking , to the beach or even to stay around the pool...you won't go far wrong with this place...well recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heatseekers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

My boyfriend & I spent two weeks in August at the Demetris Studios in Kolios. It was our first visit to Skiathos, we loved it so much we are already planning our return trip for next summer.

According to the travel agent information, the Demetris Studios are located a "ten minute" walk from bus stop 15, in the resort of Kolios. I wouldn't say it was a ten minute walk, but it is definitely far enough from the bus stop & road to drown out any traffic noise. On your way up to the studios you will pass a restaurant called the Infinity Blue - it has a really nice view & the food there is superb. Behind the restaurant is the Xanthi Studios which has a nice pool bar & is good for lunch. Futher up again there is a small "supermarket" which sells fresh bread & some fruit & veg. There are a few other studios on the walk - some of which have pool bars but we didn't really use them.

The owner of the Demetris Studios is a Greek lady who doesn't speak English - but her daughter is fluent & very helpful. If you need anything & the daughter is not at the studios you can ask the owners of the Xanthi Studios - Bill & Martina who are also lovely.

15 studios make up the Demetris. 10 of the studios have a sea view, the remaining 5 are inland view. We had an inland view - Olive trees, but you would see a bit of the sea from our apartment.

All the rooms have a kitchenette (Sink, cooking rings, kettle, sandwich toaster, pots, pans etc.) which is adequate but a microwave would have been handy. The bathrooms in the studios are of a good standard - toliet, sink, shower. Each room has twin single beds - but we pushed them together to make a double as most other people staying there seemed to have done.

The studios were immaculately clean & the maids clean the rooms 3 times a week which was plently. They also change the bedding & your towels.

The swiming pool at the Demetris is lovely, it was so peaceful & quiet. There is a small shelter to shade under which has a basket of books you can borrow. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves as most people hired cars & went exploring during the day time.

Skiathos itself is a beautiful island, we visited in August & some parts of it were busy - Koukinaries Beach & Skiathos Town, but Kolios was not busy. We had no trouble getting the buses, they were completely packed, the longest we waited for one was 15minutes.

The beach at Kolios - directly oposite the bus stop, was quite nice, it was fairly quiet & seemed to be mainly occupied by Greek & Italian families rather than Brits. Also if you are prepared to scramble across some rocks & through some sea you will find some lovely quiet little coves to yourself.

Skiathos Town is fantastic. The Old Harbour is beautiful & if you have some time to wonder I recommend exploring the little streets.

We will definitely be returning to Skiathos & quite likely to the Demetris studios. I would definitely recomment the studios to anyone who is looking for a quiet relaxed accomodation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Little_laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolios
0.0 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#1 of 5 in Kolios
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#1 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Margi House Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
784 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#4 of 12 in Koukounaries
382 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetris Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetris Hotels

Address: Kolios, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kolios
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Demetris Hotels Skiathos/Kolios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing