We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Paradise”
Review of Demetris Hotels

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kolios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Demetris Hotels
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kolios
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I have just returned from my 5th stay at Demetris. Many guests return again and again to this delightful family owned and run little gem tucked away and set in beautiful surroundings but near enough to all that you might need. The beautiful garden is lovingly tended by Barbara the owner who with her 2 daughters keep this place so clean and well presented and nothing is too much trouble. The luxury villa being built on a plot to the rear is now completed (building work was running late by a couple of weeks) and having just spent 3 weeks there I did not find it at all intrusive so no worries there. Being half way between Skiathos Town and Koukanares it is ideally situated for getting out and about. Buses are regular and cheap and taxis are plentiful with reasonable negotiable fares. Go and enjoy!!

Room Tip: Upper rooms, 6 to 10 have a great sea-view whilst other guests prefer to step out on to the lawn and...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Demetris Hotels
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just returned from a pleasant week. It was the first week of the season- noticeable as the peace and quiet was spoiled by strimming and opening preparations for Demetris and surrounding businesses, most noticeably the 7am-7pm building work for the villa construction next door. The location is lovely and just a short ( 10 min) walk to nearby restaurants, beach and bus stop. Our next door neighbours are even looking to buy on the island.Other downsides were the cripplingly hard mattresses ( and we like a firm bed), the intermittent hot water and room cleaning/bin emptying on only two days. The positives are the beach, ease of transport for Skiathos Town and the airport ( 15 min transfer time). For eating out ( breakfast or evening meal) we would thoroughly recommend the Diamond Restaurant ( part of a spotless studio complex) located between Demetris/Theodora and Xanthi. You will receive a very warm Greek welcome from Christos and Soula Makaratzis. The variety of the food, hospitality and value for money was second to none- as well as being within a stone's throw of our apartment- an added bonus after copious food and wine, including complimentary coffee and cakes. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The older rooms have a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed for 1 week in September,typical greek basic studio but with a kettle!

Had room 3 on the ground floor so had a limited sea view,but still a great view,pool is small but great on a hot day (it is a saltwater pool,so is green in appearance)

Cannot really fault anything about the studio,Manos is only 1 min round the corner for bread,drinks water etc.If you want a pool bar there is the Theodora,Veronica and Xanthi all within a few mins walk.Best place to eat is the Diamond taverna,Infinity Blue is at the end of the lane but is expensive and food is average at best.

Would definately return to Demetris!

Room Tip: For a sea view ask Olympic Holidays when you book,rooms 1 to 5 are on the ground floor,6 to 10 on th...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazzyboy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Out of the way, 10 min walk from the road to the studios. We were allocated on the ground floor, facing the sea veiw. Room was basic and clean, had everything we needed for our stay. Never saw the staff, but were a round. Night time was great no noise at all, had a great sleep every night, bed comfortable no compliants. Had a fantastic stay filled our dreams for a romatic stay.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Another happy family who have just returned from a wonderful relaxing holiday based at the Demetris Studios. Our first visit to Skiathos but not our first to Greece, hence no suprises at basic accomodation, however exceptionally clean and with fresh decor. Barbara and her daughters could not be anymore obliging to us and we were sorry to leave.
We stayed in apartment 15 with 2 singles and a camp bed - ok not ideal with a slightly older child but soon fixed with assistance from our rep. Beautiful, peaceful location, fig and olive tree's surrounding apartments, with pleasant and private outlook. Lovely pool which was also exceptionally clean (I am Pool Plant Qualified so speak from experience).
10 minutes walk down to main road and bus stop everything you need within easy reach - if you want quiet and relaxing but with opportunity to socialise close by this is the place for you. Xanthi Studios and pool bar owned by Bill and Martina just down the road will offer a warm welcome. Also recommend Infinity Blue Restaurant for excellent food, atmosphere, service and view.
Hope to return to Skiathos soon

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachieRach_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

we have recently returned from 2 wonderful weeks at the demitris and we cannot say enough to praise the accomadation. we stayed in apartment 10 and we loved it. the room was comfy,clean,well equipped and the views were beautiful. negative reviews that i have read are nonsense. the room was cleaned every other day and the bins were emptied every day. barbara the owner was really sweet and very helpful even though she spoke little english,but her daughters were there every day and also very pleasant. the pool was lovely and very very clean and very quiet,if you feel you need a busier pool the xanthi bar is 2 minutes walk and billy and martina the owners are so welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frances P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just got back from 2 weeks in Demetris Studio in Kolios after getting a superb deal and we thought it was excellent.

Accommodation - The room was large enough for 2 single beds side by side with plenty of room round the edges, there was a galley kitchen and a good sized wet room with shower (showerhead a bit iffy but okay). It was basic but it was far better than other Greek accommodation we have had in the past. The old block nearest the pool ground floor had sea view obscured but it did have access to the front lawn. The kitchen was equipped with kettle pots and pans and a sandwich toaster that could do very nice toast, the rings heated things up v quickly.

Owners – The old lady and her daughter were more than helpful, and we got a smile and a ‘good morning’ nearly everyday we replied with ‘kali mera’.

Cleaning – in the two weeks we were deep cleaned (beds changed) twice (mopped etc) and towels changed 4 times, we also had our bins changed daily not Sundays though, both toilet and kitchen. There were brushes and mops available for everyone to use outside at the back.

Ants – there were ants! Wow big deal! If you brushed all the crumbs up, and wiped all surfaces and kept them clean then they went away (I must add ants not in the apartment itself only on the terrace).

The Hill – The hill was not much of a problem, from the main gate we managed 12 bottles of water and 2 bags of shopping up it, if you are staying next door at Margi House now that IS A HILL!. From the main road to the apartment there is a slight hill and would be best avoided for people with walking difficulties or who are unfit.

The Pool – as mentioned before by other reviewers it was pebble dashed and salt water and so was not the bright blue that everyone expects, it was very clean and well maintained as was proved on our last full day when the filter didn’t work at about 5pm and the repair man was there next day at 7:30am to sort it.

Peace and Quiet – Like many reviewers have said all you can hear is the crickets, cockerels and mother nature, although a lot of the tranquility will depend on the other guests staying at the same time, as we found our first week most of the people had booked it for the reasons we had (peace and quiet). A sun lounger could be found every day as most people were out and about and it was whisper quiet, our second week an entirely different crowd filled the place that were more suited to a place with a pool bar & music, a few of the guests were rather loud and talked at full volume even late at night.

To summarise if you are looking for a cheap package holiday that is well maintained, exceptionally clean and very quiet (depending on your fellow holidaymakers), I would thoroughly recommend Demetris Studios Kolios

Room Tip: Ask for the old block away from the pool from Olympic before you go as no one walks by and you get a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank bd000580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolios
0.0 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#1 of 5 in Kolios
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#2 of 12 in Koukounaries
1,116 reviews
0.0 mi away
Margi House Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
788 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
Mandraki Village Boutique Hotel
#4 of 12 in Koukounaries
384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Costas & Chrysoula
Costas & Chrysoula
#3 of 24 in Plakias
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Demetris Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demetris Hotels

Address: Kolios, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kolios
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Demetris Hotels Skiathos/Kolios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing