We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Basic”
Review of Veronica Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Veronica Studios
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kolios
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Veronica Studios in Kolios. These studios are in a good location at bus stop 15 and are very basic. One really annoying omission from the cutlery drawer was a bread knife, they don't go in for sliced bread much on Skiathos! The downstairs verandah was partly below ground level and dominated by an overgrown orange tree which made it very gloomy.
As mentioned by other reviewers the towels were only changed once a week and hot water was available some of the time. We did have to mention to our tour rep that the rubbish was not being collected regularly which seemed to solve the problem.
In room safe cost 1 Euro per day which wasn't too bad, air conditioning (which we didn't need) was 5 Euros per day.
The saving grace of this property was the pool and surrounding area which was very clean and inviting with no broken sunbeds!
On a general note Skiathos, and probably Greece in general, has become an expensive place to holiday, prices are a lot higher than they were 2 years ago when we were last here and the cost of basic items such as bread, milk etc. can be double the UK price.

Room Tip: High floor would be preferable as ground floor verandah was partly below ground level and overgrown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeithoCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 48 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Veronika - we love Skiathos, and the Kolios area is probably the best place to stay as it is halfway between the town and Koukounaries, with easy walking acess to a few really good beaches close by. The apartments are set back 5 minutes walk away from the main road, up an incline which was not a difficult walk, with a small supermarket selling all you will need right on the doorstep.
Nicely tended gardens with a small but nice pool and loungers, good bar area serving basic snacks and good drinks - friendly owners and the rooms themselves are typical Greek studios, basic but comfortable.
One gripe - how can you go a full week on holiday in Greek summertime without a change of towels or sheets? Not good enough.

Room Tip: Ask the family for fresh towels/linen - wish we had because I feel sure they would have obliged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manchestertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

set in the countryside a way off the main road, not a difficult walk though my parents (mid 60's) found it a climb. Appartments are basic and lack sufficient storage though there is aircon and a safe. The kitchen is very limited and food prep area is very limited even for cutting up fruit. The bathroom is tiny in that you have to shuffle past the toilet to get into the shower. Having said that they were clean and everything was in working order. The ground floor appartments have gardens which were a little overgrown and we have trouble with mosquitos. also they offer little privacy from your neighbours. The jewel in the crown is Magda and Hara who are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The garden are is lovely as is the bar. The pool is a plunge pool only

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have views over a carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186334Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in the Veronica Studios for two weeks in July. The studios were very basic Greek - 2 knifes, 2 folks, 2 spoons etc. but they were spotlessly clean and quite spacious. They did have a kettle!!! You have to have a shower in the evening because there is no hot water in the mornings! Our bed was changed once a week as were the towels. We had a T.V. in our studio and could get the news in English. (That`s if you want to hear the news on holiday!!) The pool and bar area were very peaceful overlooking some beautiful countryside. These areas were very well kept as was the well attended garden. The Greek family that run the studios are always on hand and are very helpful. If you walk 5 minuites to the end of the road and turn left you get to Kolios Beach and if you turn right and walk 10 minutes then you get to Agia Paraskevi beach. We enjoyed the barbie night - lovely food - and plenty of it for 10 euros. A short walk will get you to the various tavernas and restaurants but beware of the main road - no pavements! The traffic is horrendous! We found some fantastic walks from our studio - very green and lush! But like all the Island - very hilly! A must is to go into Skiathos Town - the bus service is fantastic - every 15 minutes and costing no more than 2 euros! We ate at the Infinity Blue Restaurant just a stroll from our Studio - was very disappointed with the food and it was very expensive! The Taverna on Kolios beach is typical Greek - be prepared to wait - we ordered fish and had to wait for the boat to come in!!! But the wait was worth it - the fish was cooked to perfection and it was very reasonably priced. The views from this Taverna are magnificent! We also ate a couple of times at the Diamond - very nice too! Would recommend these Studios and would certainly be returning!

Room Tip: A room on the second floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 366marianne65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had an enjoyable holiday in Skiathos but experienced various problems with our studio. Main problem being the electrics - had to wiggle incoming power cable to get one light. Also TV did not work - sometimes power but mostly not and strangely it would come on itself. Faults reported at start of holiday but no action taken by Thomas Cook rep or owners. Quite worrying. Also bins not emptied daily. 3 days for toilet bin to be emptied. Also lack of hot water on morning. We also jD leak under sink in toilet which we were told by owner that it was only coming from cold tap so should use the hot! Whilst we
love skiathos we wouldn't recommend Veronika Studios.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazlehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having just returned from a weeks stay here I would like to say what a lovely place it is. Other reviews mention the lack of hot water but having been to Greece on several previous occasions is standard, and there was always plenty in an evening. The apartments are quite well equipped too...but cups tend to be on small side and you need to be tall enough to reach their location! They were very clean and kept that way. You couldn't be nearer to the supermarket, which is a bonus as the location was up a hill. Pool area is small, but very nicely kept. The owners were lovely and it felt like you were leaving friends. The location is ideal half way between Skiathos town and Koukanaries. There are plenty of restaurants within an easy walk and Infinity Blue (fantastic views, food and service) 5 mins away.(Recommend booking ask for table at front, have starter as plenty of bread with dips before meal).
Wouldn't really recommend this for people with walking difficulties or young children, but ideal for couples or friends. It is a quiet location so ideal if you want peace and quiet within easy reach of livelier spots.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room if you are prone to mosquito bites as the ground floor ones surrounded by g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jollyholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here for one weeks holiday in June. The studios are located no more than a 5-10 minute walk up a small road opposite bus stop no 15. There is a small but well stocked supermarket directly opposite it. The studios are the basic Greek type apartments with the minimum but ample amount of utensils, who wants to cook when you'e on holiday anyway? No hairdryer in studio so remember to pack your own, can't remember the last studio that I stayed in that didn't have one.
We had a downstairs apartment with a small terrace outside. It had lovely flowers planted along it and a lemon tree which was nice but over whelmed the small terrace making it feel a bit claustrophobic and covered most of the washing line that was there. The family that run the studios are very nice and very friendly. There is a nice bar area serving snacks. The small pool is in a small but very well maintained garden. We never used the pool, preferring the beach which is only about a 10 minute walk away. There are several sunbeds but because the area is small seemed to be quite close to one another.
The room was clean on arrival apart from the shower head which instead of complaining about I cleaned myself as it was thick with black mildew/dirt on it......wonder when they were all last cleaned properly? We had a linen change during the week which was good but unfortunately our bins ( including the one in the loo ) was only emptied three times during our stay.....not nice when the weather is hot. My main gripe would have to be the lack of hot water which I just don't understand. While I appreciate that the hot water relies on solar heating so does every other hotel/ apartment in the area. We have holidayed in Greece for years and Skiathos several times and never before has there not been any even warm water in the morning. The water would be scalding at 8pm but stone cold at 7am apart from one morning when it was very hot. Does scalding water cool down this quickly, why would it still be hot on one of the days, is there a valve that stops the supply of hot water to the studios?? Regardless we had to boil kettles to get hot water to wash not much fun unless you enjoy camping !!
Overall the studios are sufficient and a great place to use as a base, we actually spent very little time here as were out and about all of the time and went to the beach rather than pool. The family is lovely, the rural location great as not far to get to lovely beaches, bus stop and nearby tavernas. Would I stay here again, no probably not mainly due to the hot water or rather lack of it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolios
0.0 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#1 of 5 in Kolios
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Blu Hotel
Skiathos Blu Hotel
#2 of 13 in Skiathos Town
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Margi House Apartments
0.0 mi away
Hermes Apartments
Hermes Apartments
#4 of 5 in Kolios
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veronica Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veronica Studios

Address: Kolios, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kolios
Hotel Class:3 star — Veronica Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Veronica Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veronica Studios Skiathos/Kolios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing