We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Accommodation We've Ever Stayed at... Ticked All the boxes!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skiathos Diamond Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Skiathos Diamond Apartments
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kolios
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Accommodation We've Ever Stayed at... Ticked All the boxes!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Where do we start?

ARRIVAL:

On our arrival we were given a very friendly greeting by the owners, Christos and Suola, who quickly sat us down by the pool and brought us a glass of wine and a beer which we drank while absorbing the views that we would wake up to for the next 2 weeks! Now we were on holiday & already feeling very relaxed! 2 large Mythos, 1 large carton of juice & water were in our fridge too to get us started. We stayed in room 19, top floor and the views were fabulous. Waking up to this & having breakfast on a generous sized balcony was a great start to the day. All rooms look out to the mountains & olive groves.

TAVERNA:

Breakfast: We never had breakfast here as it's too heavy a start to my day! But they do it all! From a good English breakfast to cereal, fruit & yoghurt or continental etc

Evening Dinner - On our first night we decided to eat at our hotel taverna. The food was good homemade Greek style cooking which grandma whips up and it's delicious. The Lamb Kleftiko is the best I've ever had in the 12 years we've visited Greece! Our first meal and drinks were on the house! A tradition, as we were the first occupants of the season! It's a real relaxed family feel when eating there and Christos & Suola come and chat to all guests and ask how your days been etc, they show a real personal interest. After every meal they bring you complimentary filter coffees and generous measures of brandy & liquors.

ROOMS:

The rooms are generous in size, immaculate and cleaned every day by the maid; fresh towels, toilet rolls, bins emptied, balcony, floors & steps cleaned, everything! We never came back from a day feeling disappointed. The kitchens have cooking facilities, inc. fridge with small freezer section, toaster, kettle and all cutlery & dishes. If we had forgotten to clean our dishes, the maid would do so & dry & put them away!! Bed linen was changed every other day. Air conditioning is included which isn't always the case in Greek accommodation, normally there can be an extra charge.

POOL:

Pool as you can see from the pics I uploaded is fab with the mountain back drop and as with everything at this accommodation it is immaculate and regularly cleaned & filtered out.

AMENITIES:

Shops:
What gave this accommodation another big plus was that it was a stones throw from a little shop over the way, literally 30 seconds walk! It has all the basics you could need and very cheap alcohol, which was always of offer!

Bus stop:
Bus stop no 15 is about 2 minutes walk down the road. Walking to it was a breeze! As you got to the main road which runs all along the south of the island from end to end, there was the bus stop right there! So perfect for those who don't want to hire a car or for those who have walking difficulties. Buses (Air conditioned coaches) are so reliable, a lot better than Blighty! Cleaner too! They run every half hour up until around 11.30pm. Bus is 1.60 euro per trip.

Restaurants:
If you fancy some fine dining, then there is a popular restaurant called the Infinity Blue. It is en route to the main road from the accommodation. It has a pretty view and overlooks the sea. Foods fab, service is professional but is is a little pricey, but nice for an indulgent night out if you don't want to travel far as it's a minutes walk away! There are also some other little eating places you can walk to but we didn't bother as if we were going to stay local we would eat at our accommodation which was just fab and on the door step!!

Beaches:
Off the main road where bus stop 15 is are various beaches on the door step, just 10 - 15 mins from the accommodation on foot, walking at Greek pace!

HOSTS:
Christos & Suola:
Lovely couple who are so helpful with anything you need as if nothings too much trouble. They create such a relaxed family environment and are so hard working. Any local information you need they will help you with. If you need a taxi for your return home they are efficient and will arrange it for you.

SUMMERY:
So all in all, after 3 times visiting Skiathos, this is the accommodation we would run back to without hesitation if ever we were to return to Skiathos again. Accommodation was perfectly situated for everything we could need. Tastefully built and presented, with a breathtaking back drop and even some sheep in the olive groves! We just loved it :-)

Room Tip: All rooms to be honest would seem to have fantastic views as they all face the mountain side. But to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoylakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
58
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a wonderful place. Family owned and run, so friendly, impeccably clean. We had the most lovely two weeks here. The apartments are less than five minutes walk from the main road and bus stop. Kolios beach (my favourite on the island) is very close by. There is a small supermarket opposite for essentials and a taverna on site in the evenings, delicious home-cooked food. Cannot wait to go back, with the experience we had and reading the other reviews hope we'll be able to get an apartment again and they won't be fully-booked. Lovely accommodation on a lovely island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor030313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

First holiday in Skiathos and the Diamond Apartments were recommended and I have no hesitation in recommending the apartments. A well-run family establishment it has a good, quiet location. Our routine was a leisurely continental breakfast and then a walk down to the beach until early afternoon and after a bite to eat and a drink back to the apartments to spend time by the pool which was always quiet.
Everywhere clean and tidy and lots of establishments nearby to eat and drink.
Good to spend some time in Skiathos Town and it maybe sad but you have to go down to the edge of the runway and experience a plane landing very close to where you are standing!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just got back from two weeks in Skiathos Diamond apartments.Everything was just perfect.
Only 10 min from the airport (18 euro) and 5-8 min walk from the fantastic Kolios beach.
Rooms are very generous and kept very clean. Bathroom is cleaned everyday, plenty of fresh towels etc.Room has a very good aircon. Soula and Christos are very friendly, caring and helpful owners. Pool area is very clean and never too busy. Small supermarket just crossed the road. Bus stop 15 is just 2 min walk and it will take you to Skiathos town ( 1.60 euro adult, 0.80 euro child) where you can shop and eat. Can definitely recommend fantastic little restaurant called MEATing point in small side street or one on the high street called Ergon. All in all we had a fantastic stay and WILL most definitely like to return next year some time some place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 17 overlooking the mountings. Away from the restaurant and swimming pool. Beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamila1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've been in 3 at skiathos diamond for 15 days between 1 and 15 august 2013.
The hotel is nice, it has a good position, far away from the noise and traffic of the main road of skiatos, but still at walking distance from the bus stop and from the beach, surrounded by shops and restaurants (walking distance). It is in a middle position between skiathos city and the nice beaches of kukunari and banana. You need a car to visit the island, but that's true anyway regardless of the hotel position you choose.
The hotel is perfectly clean, has very large totally independent rooms, big bathroom with nice shower. the hotel is only 5 years old. The swimming pool is not big but is adeguate for the last swim of the day, after the beach, at sunset.
The owners, Christos and Sula, are a very nice couple, always available, correct and friendly.
The island is a very nice place, good clima, green, nice people, clean; but our holiday was perfect also because of this hotel !
Recommended !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Viaggiare

Helpful?
1 Thank maxita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Writing a review of the Paradiso Taverna as didn't stay in the apartments but a villa a little way up the valley. My family of three ate here on five nights over a period of two weeks and I have to say it was by far the best place we sat down to dinner to during our stay on the island. The location might not be as prodigious or spectacularly located as some of the joints on Skiathos, the furniture and decor is functional rather than flouncy, but the family are just great, the service pleasant, efficient, and yet totally understated. The cooking is robust, traditional and superb by the standards of the competition. A blow out meal for three with deserts of baclava etc accompanied by beer and wine never came to more than fifty euro with tip: and being judicious I think you could probably get away with circa 10 euro a head if you made the right choices. Highly recommended by me.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous two weeks in Skiathos staying for the first time at the excellent Skiathos Diamond apartments in Kolios. We expected it to be nice having read previous tripadvisor reviews but it was so much better than we had imagined.

They are set a short walk away from the main road (5 minutes) so idyllic and peaceful (no traffic noise), with picturesque views over the olive and pine tree clad mountains. With these stunning views its ideal for just lazing and day dreaming around the pool. A large modern pool, spotlessly clean and well maintained with plenty of sunbeds for everyone, although often just us and another couple there while everyone else was at the beach. The nearest beach (Kolios) is a 10 minutewalk away. Its a shingle beach which softly shelves into the sea (beautiful clean water) and has a taverna serving drinks and nice food. You can find sandy beaches a further 5-10 mins walk away ...or get a bus.

Skiathos beaches and resorts are grouped along a main road that is serviced by a bus that runs every 15-20 minutes. The bus stops are numbered 1-26 along the route... the apartments are at number 15 (nice half way point?). Skiathos town is at bus stop number 4, only 6 kilometres away and costs 1.6 euros by bus (the maximum bus fare is 3 euros)

The complex is only about 20 apartments, mainly studios. The studios are huge with twin beds that you can form a large double by pushing together, dressing table and wardrobe... the middle section of the studio has a coffee table and two 2-seater sofas which can convert to beds... and finally a very well equipped kitchen area (2 cooker rings, kettle, fridge with freezer compartment and all the pans, plates, glasses, cups, utensils etc). The bathroom is a reasonable size with loo, wash hand basin and wall/hand held shower with a wrap around curtain (Greek style) and bathroom cabinet for all your bits and pieces. Air con is included in the price of the room, as is breakfast and daily emptying of bins, clean sheets and towels every 3rd day ... they even made sure we had 3 loo rolls at all times (usually have to buy our own!).

The on-site Taverna was only open in the evenings but served some of the most delicious home-cooked food we had anywhere in Skiathos.. and at a fraction of the price. Beef Stiffado or a mixed souvlaki served with chips and salad for example was about 7 or 8 euros... half a litre of house wine 3 or 4 euros.

Christos and Soula (husband and wife) are fabulous hosts and really made you feel welcome and part of the family, and their children are a delight. Grandad grows and supplies all the veg for the taverna and maintains the lovely gardens, while Grandma does most of the cooking (she shared one of her secret recipes with me).

I would recommend these apartments to anyone wanting to holiday in Skiathos and we will definitely be going back. Most of the people we spoke to there had also returned many times to these apartments. A perfect place to relax and unwind with lots of tavernas within a 10-15 min stroll, and only a short bus ride from a very vibrant and cosmopolitan town/port if you want something more lively. I used a booking agent this time but would have no hesitation in booking direct in future, and getting a better price.

Room Tip: The apartments are over 2 floors and in 2 blocks of 10. The upper floors give the best views as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurntwoodBorty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolios
2.0 mi away
Skiathos Palace Hotel
Skiathos Palace Hotel
#7 of 88 in Skiathos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atrium Hotel
Atrium Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Theodora Studios
Theodora Studios
#2 of 6 in Kolios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Skiathos Princess Hotel
Skiathos Princess Hotel
#2 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magic Hotel
Magic Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Paraskevi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Margi House Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiathos Diamond Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiathos Diamond Apartments

Property: Skiathos Diamond Apartments
Address: Kolios 37002, Greece
Location: Greece > Sporades > Skiathos > Kolios
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kolios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Skiathos Diamond Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Skiathos Diamond Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skiathos Diamond Apartments Hotel Kolios
Skiathos Diamond Apartments Kolios

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing